Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Academy I Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 33 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

my school is very hard and many students don't get any honors. Last year only three people in my class got first honors and 5 people got 2nd. the other 23 students got no honors. Many of the students use bad language and talk really dirty, they sometimes even bully you. The teachers are fun and boring...depends on who u have. So good luck If you are going to academy 1!


Posted July 31, 2014

As a parent of a former AEP student (graduate June 26, 2014), this is the best school you can send your son/daughter to in Jersey City. The teachers are great, the guidance counselors are fantastic and the Principal Awesome!! The work load is challenging, and there is some pressure to succeed, but it pays off in the end. Parents need to be supportive of their son/daughter while attending this school. Give them reassuring words of encouragement and tell them how proud you are of them for making it as far as they have. Become involve in PTA activities. Students must have other activities besides academics to balance all the hard work they put in; it is essential to them becoming well rounded. After all of the hard work my daughter put in for the last 3 years, she was accepted to 2 of the 4 top high schools in Jersey City. My husband and I could not be more proud of her. CWJ parent of HCJ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2014

The Worst School ive ever been to. Do not go here. I was a former student here and i transferred in March. I can not believe the neibourhood. Every morning i was scared walking here. It was horrific, all the people i would see. The kids here would rat you out in seconds. The teachers would curse often. And the things the kids would put in my head... Making me believe i was something that i was not. Please dont go here. The kids are gossip crazy, even though some were so nice!!!! This is why i gave it 3 stars. And also, the work isnt bad either.


Posted May 24, 2014

I am going into this school for the 2014-2015 school year and since most of these(not all though) were good reviews I'm really happy to be going here. I almost can't wait. Although my school is a great school I am well above what they are asking for in the curriculum. If anyone could tell me whether or not there are uniforms( because in my old school there was) I hope not! Anyway I am giving A1 5 stars because of all the amazing reviews!


Posted February 12, 2014

I'm Going Into 6th grade and i'm really scared! should i go or not? after reading these reviews i felt better like another person who wrote a review and i know there were some bad reveiws but most of them were good! and now i'm trying to choose which school is better for me? its either my school or A1? And i am really confused


Posted October 21, 2013

I'm a student at Academy I in the Advanced Enrichment Program. At first I was scared that I would not be advanced enough, but now things are a blast.


Posted September 4, 2013

This school is absolutely the best! No other school can replace Academy I. It was such a honor for me to be taught in that school.


Posted August 26, 2013

Academy 1 is the best school in the jersey city school district. The three years I sent in Academy 1 were the best of my life. It might be a little challenging in the being of sixth grade to adjust but it becomes easier, trust me. It just needs a little time, effort and hard work to do well. I am extremely thankful that I was able to learn from amazing teachers like Mrs. Spitaletta, Mr. Monigle, Mr. Osenenko, Mr. Marto and Mr. Cestaro just to name a few. It might not be in a big extravagant building with the best technology in the world but the sense of family that is created is more important. Personally I felt like I grew up so much in those 3 years of my life than I have every done before. For all of those new comers and their parents, just make sure you do the work, put some effort into it , keep your parents involved because they help you on your journey and most of all enjoy it while it lasts because it goes in a second. Once I graduated and left for high school at McNair, it made me realize how much I loved Academy 1.


Posted August 23, 2013

I am a student going into Academy 1, and i am VERY scared. But after reading te reviews i felt a lot better, so i guess it will be a nice school... Im going into 6th grade so... Yea


Posted June 11, 2013

Well, where do i start? As a second year Academy 1 student, i am sure that i speak for everyone when i say that this school is just exceptional. From the teacher, to councilors, to fellow peers, everyone there is ready to help you. Sure the amount of work may be tedious at times, but so is life. When never get busy work, everything that the teachers give you to do is for one purpose only, and that is to improve your academic career. Academy 1, in my personal, and humble opinion, has some of the best teachers in the entire City. They will help you step by step, and well bulling is almost non-existent due to the staff, and how they help you. Some of my best memories come from this school, and i would recommend this to any student who wishes to apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

Our child was accepted into the AEP program, after coming from the HOPE (gifted) class at his previous school, and has had great success at Academy I (honors, even better grades than before!). However, success here comes at the expense of endeavors that contribute to development as a well-rounded individual. Taking courses one grade level ahead is all well and good, but the amount of homework seems gratuitous (quantity masquerading as quality). I don't recall ever having this volume of work as a graduate student. It's great to learn time management skills, but not at the expense of all else. The Principal, counselors and some of the teachers are great, but we're uncertain as to whether our child will return next year. This experience has made us certain that we will not enroll him in a purely academic high school after this. If you believe in academic excellence, but also value life skills, community involvement, leadership, sports, etc., I would advise against this school. Also, contrary to popular belief, going to the AEP program will NOT afford you an advantage in being accepted to the area's elite "academic" high schools. This from the program director herself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

I am currently a student at Academy 1 in 6th grade, and so far, it's awesome! Even though there is a lot of work, I'm learning a lot more than a typical 6th grader. The teachers are funny and treat you as a friend, not a student. They try to help you as best as they could individually. i find it to be loads of fun there.


Posted March 5, 2009

OMG!!! I am a graduate of A1 in the class of 2008. I am currently in McNair Academic High School. The phrase 'high school is the golden years of your life that shape you to who you are' simply doesnt apply. McNair High School was the #1 high school in NJ for a long time, and lets just say to me it seems so dry. I feel completely emotionless there because I miss all the good qualities of A1. My fellow classmates in high school are envious of every A1 student because we are all taking sophmore classes in freshmen year. As freshmen, we get to take AP courses... that give college credit.. something only a few high schools offer.. and only in senior year... we are taking it as freshmen due to our preparation in A1
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2009

This school is great. It has 3 different programs AEP Bridges and Special needs
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2008

I just started my first year at AEP. This school makes you feel right at home. The homework is no where near as overwhelming as I thought. I know that my time here will be the best of my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

Although Academy1's academic program is considered 'top notch' this school has zero tolerance! If you are accepted into this middleschool, you'll learn it is much different to all the other middle schools in the area. It's curriculum is based on getting the young and talented of today into a good school so they can be of importance in the future. however, it they expect too much of these students. If you have been to any other schools in the district you'll notice how different they are compared to Academy. Making a student 'skip a year' is just inept, children must learn slowly, rushing them into things they aren't prepared for isn't the best idea. I have to say though, it really does prepare them for top schools such as Mcnair. When deciding whether to go to this school, remember, three strikes, and your out :P
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

I am currently a student at Academy 1. To tell u the truth, this school is very strict with discipline. There is lots of parental involvement but I feel that the teachers squeeze us with alot of homework and we never have freetime to do other things at home. This summer, we had projects for all of our subjects and each teacher never thinks about homework the other teachers give us. So, this summer was probly the worst ever being that we had a lot of homework. During the school year, we still get a lot of homework and tests and I feel that the school is in horrible condition. In my experience at Academy 1, I am warning you to either face the consequences and come to this school, or go to another school. If you want ur child to hate school and feel deppressed,this is the school for u!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2008

Without a doubt, the best school in the entire universe. I am a graduating student of Academy I in the class of 2008, and I can tell you that this school has taught me more about life and personal achievements than any other programs I have ever attended. A1 provides a carefully monitered environment in which students can reach their fullest potential through rigorous challenges. The golden quality of this school is that no matter what your personality is, we are all connected by invisible strings that link us to a common goal--academic acheivement. Every student in A1 has earned the right to go to ANY high school of their choosing because after graduating 8th grade, they have already taken HONORS courses of Freshman year of High School. Every teacher at A1 believes that any high school rejecting A1 students has just lost a valuable prodigy, and is their own loss.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2008

I am a graduate of Academy I Middle School, and am heading off to college next fall. Academy I is such an amazing, well rounded institution. The amount of work given to the students is extremely beneficial. I saved many of my projects from Academy I, and used them continuously through out high school. The teachers are phenomenal, they are caring, and each and everyone passionate about their subject. The benefits of attending Academy I do not stop, they have continued with me through all four years of high school, and I don't doubt it will end there. The work load is intense, once you survive it, high school is a piece of cake.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2007

I currently attend this school as an eight grader and I love it. The teachers in each grade help you everyday and they know what is best for you. They always show that they care about their students and they as well love their students a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students83%
Female89%
Male77%
Black57%
Asian95%
Hispanic87%
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant83%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students82%
Female86%
Male78%
Black55%
Asian98%
Hispanic78%
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students87%
Female91%
Male81%
Black52%
Asian98%
Hispanic81%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education87%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
Black48%
Asian96%
Hispanic67%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Black62%
Asian96%
Hispanic76%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
General education87%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 37% 9%
Black 27% 16%
Hispanic 17% 22%
White 16% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Grace Moriarty

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

209 Bergen Avenue
Jersey City, NJ 07305
Phone: (201) 915-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

ABC Elementary School
Jersey City, NJ


Sacred Heart School
Jersey City, NJ



Tet Christian Academy
Jersey City, NJ



Center For The Arts
Jersey City, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT