Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henry Snyder High School

Charter | 9-12 & ungraded | 64 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2013

I'm a Senior in Snyder and I've been her for 4 years now. Before i came into this school, my friends told me that this school was terrible but now that I've actually been here, I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2013

hi my name is janaya i am a junior at snyder my school is not a bad school its really what you make it and so far i have been taking advanage of the exstended day and extra help from teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2013

I have just viewed the Jersey City Board of Education special meeting held on March 5, 2013, The comments made at this meeting concerning Snyder School are very disturbing. I think that from these comments there should be a impartial investigation at once. I think Mr. Waterman is very concerned and will take appropriate action. I DO NOT KNOW WHY THIS SITUATION HAS BEEN PERMITTED TO GET THIS SERIOUS...VERY SERIOUS...WHERE IS THE COUNCIL AND THE MAYOR AND OTHERS WHO HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO RESPOND TO TEACHERS COMPLAINTS. IT APPEARS THAT THE SUPERINTENDENT AT THIS SCHOOL SHOULD BE PUT ON ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE OR GO TO ANOTHER AREA. I AM NOT A TEACHER OR A PARENT. I AM JUST A VERY, VERY CONCERNED CITIZEN AND TAX PAYER...


Posted December 6, 2011

Challenging academic programs and a great Parent Council Support! The Parent Council members work very closely with the Administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2011

I am currently attending snyder high school and it is not a bad school if you do what you are suppose to do , follow instructions, do your homework and listen to your teachers. Snyder is like any other school, there's no such thing as a perfect school . The teachers are really helpful and they challenge us so therefore as students , we have to make sure that we do our part which is coming to school everyday and be ready to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2009

Hi Im Tahazan And Im A Freshmen At Snyder And Comin InTo Snyder I Thought I was Gonna Hate It But Then As The Weeks And Months Went On I Realized That Snyder is A Great And Funn School.I Like To Sing & i Thought Goin To Snyder Im Not Gonna No Other Performing Arts Program Like This Soo Yea.Snyder Is A Really Great School
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2008

As a graduate of this school, I must admit that Snyder High School has prepared me for the future. The school has a history of violence, but it seems to be improving. A majority of the teachers are very nice and helpful and the administration tries its best to help the students. Distractions is common at this school, but if you ignore that, you can definitely do well in your academics. The extracurricular activities and magnet programs are not bad either. If you want to learn something and have fun at the same time, I would definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2008

can be okay if your child makes the best of it, there are far better schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

This school has great magnet programs, giving students experience in the fields of study they may be interested in after high school. The school environment is a lot safer than it used to be. The dress code is wonderful. What I like most about this school is that my children comes home on a daily basis and tells me about something new they have learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students63%
Female69%
Male56%
Black62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education18%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students41%
Female41%
Male41%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special education25%
General education50%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant41%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
12%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

77%

SAT college ready

4%

Graduation rate

53%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 72% 16%
Hispanic 18% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
White 3% 51%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Belinda Stokes

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

239 Bergen Ave
Jersey City, NJ 07305
Phone: (201) 915-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tet Christian Academy
Jersey City, NJ



Lincoln High School
Jersey City, NJ


Ycs May Academy
Jersey City, NJ


Infinity Institute
Jersey City, NJ


St Dominic Academy
Jersey City, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT