Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James J. Ferris High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 18 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2014

Went to ferris for 4 year, best school ever. I enjoyed this school however does have some problems with stuff and students but as of education very good.


Posted March 2, 2013

To the teacher that wrote this: "I am a teacher at this school and I can tell you for a fact it is a absolute dump. Ghetto kids who don't want to learn with a faculty that with a few exceptions can't teach. An absolute disgrace!" You are an absolute disgrace to our profession! You are probably one of those teachers you are talking about that can't teach...and you obviously don't care about our students. If you hate it so much, go find another job and leave the teaching to those of us who care!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 9, 2013

I'm a freshman in this school. I believe that the majority of the students are not interested in academics, and there are at least 1-2 fights a week. Most of them don't follow the rules, and some of them they barely have any respect for the teachers. Although I can't say everyone there is like that. (If that were to happen, it would be the worst school ever. Luckily it's not.) These students lack discipline. They think they can just do what they want and they are too relaxed. I'm surprised that recently most of the clubs no longer exist. Yes, they have some sports, but there should be more than that. I believe we need more school involvement. Some teachers need to actually teach us, and give us lessons thoroughly. There are at least some good teachers who actually care about our education and are eager to help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2012

please DONT send ur kids to this school im a current freshman in this school and i am an immigrant so the difficulties i face are hard but i cope with it but please be careful before sending ur kids to this pathetic school with no academic quality
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2012

Safety first! Please do not send your kids to this school. It is the worst school! Metal detectors, food fight, uninterested kids and teachers. The rate should be 1 out of 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

i am a student at James J Ferris High School. It is the worst school, teachers yell at the students and students mock at each other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2011

I graduated from this school n it was the best in town, now i came back to the USA with my kids n people tell me is the worst school in the area, Is this true? a lot of fights and stuff, I don't know what to believe?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2010

If you are a studentwith disabilities, be prepafred to be shamed and blamed for everything that goes wrong in your class. If you are a teacher with a disabilitylike I am, be prepared to be ridiculed and verbalkly abused before being let gop because you had the temerity to get sick. This school is a walking disaster area.


Posted September 25, 2008

Being a graduate of this school the staff are really their for the students. Thank you Mr Burgess


Posted May 1, 2008

what this school stands out with among others in its area, is its focus on leadership and teamwork. Although it may not be extraordinary with academics, its extracurricular activities and sports teams build a strong bond between coach/teacher and student, which is beneficial to the student's sense of trust among themselves. a as well as dickinson
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

My son is a student of Ferris. He is now a junior and absolutely loves it there. My other son will be attending Ferris in September in the Business and Finance program and cannot wait!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I am an alumni of FHS (Class of 2003). FHS is a school that is in dire need of both funding and policy reformation. Being a victim of the 'No Child Left Behind' which negates the environmental/ecological issues that pervade it's student's psyche and performance, FHS's administration and educators were more interested in Basic Test Scores than they were in the success - post high school - of their students.


Posted September 25, 2007

Hi,i was the student of ferris wow what a school ausum school with ausum dicipline everything was so organized proud to be a part of ferris.I was an A student and everybodies favorite woh what a school that is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2007

The quality of academic programs is very good. I was an A student and it was a good expericance. The music program was the best. I was in the marching band and concert band and it was so much fun. We did so many activities that I had a blast my years at Ferris High School. The best school ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2006

I am currently a Junior. Its a great school. Sure, its not perfect, but what is these days. Many profesional teachers and I think its the best in the city.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2006

I think Ferris is a great school I am a Freshman at Ferris and it has offered me a great experience so far Ferris is the best Public high schools in Jersey City.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2003

As a graduate and a college freshman I can say that Ferris prepared me. At the time I took for granted mnay of the opportunities given to me but now that I have left I appreciate what I had. The faculty and staff were always willing and able to help anyone, after school activities could be found and friends at all times. Ferris High School is not just a school it is a family filled of very intelligent members of society, from all backgrounds of the world who come together to share one common goal: To get an education. I recommend James J Ferris High School to those who wish to learn, grow and success as well as compete for what their passion maybe. The school has everything, all you must remember to bring is an open mind and eagerness to succeed.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students69%
Female66%
Male72%
Black70%
Asian82%
Hispanic61%
Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Special education29%
General education90%
English language learners31%
Non-migrant69%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former44%
Limited English Proficient Former87%

Math

All Students49%
Female45%
Male54%
Black37%
Asian67%
Hispanic46%
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Special education13%
General education66%
English language learners20%
Non-migrant49%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former28%
Limited English Proficient Former53%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students12%
Female11%
Male13%
Blackn/a
Asian22%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White11%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged14%
Special educationn/a
General education16%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant12%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

63%

SAT college ready

7%

Graduation rate

73%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 22%
Black 31% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 9%
White 6% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Jamie Morales

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35 Colgate St
Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone: (201) 915-6660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Career Academy
Jersey City, NJ


County Prep High School
Jersey City, NJ




St Anthony High School
Jersey City, NJ


Liberty High School
Jersey City, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT