Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank R. Conwell No. 3 Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 652 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2014

PS#3 is our school and we LOVE it. Diversity and positive educational mindsets are exemplified by the entire school. The facility is new and has great things to offer. New equipment/playground is being implemented and the Jersey City area really doesn't have another campus like it, lots of outdoor space and a wonderful, bright, airy building. The families who attend here CARE and are involved. We have had only great teachers. It must be said that the middle school kids are a bit daunting on the same campus during the drop-off/pick-up but they are not with the elementary kids during the day....and as for test scores? We have no issues with that because our kids are truly learning, excelling and are happy here. Highly recommend this school to any parents. In fact...PS#3 is becoming TOO popular... :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

With the addition of new principal Mischel, this school is on the way to feeling more like a school with rating of +7! The leadership due to Mischel has completely turned the school around in a positive way. He is actively involved in all aspects relating to the students, and seems to know them all by name! Our children are in the dual language program. The combination of both dedicated teachers and families committed in this program from preK to elementary have made our experience at this school amazing. Despite the low rating for this school, the experience we have had match that of a 9 rating. I am almost positive the test scores will dramatically increase over the course of the next few years as the new wave of students in preK make their way through elementary. We love it here and would never think of leaving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

I hear lots of good things about ps 3 and im looking for a good school to start my son in, he goin to kindergarden, do they take only kids in the district? What is the district range for this school? Please let me kno
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

Worst school ever!!! I've been here since 1st grade,but since 3rd grade it got really low and my teacher is so serious about everything. We're doing work we're not supposed to doand losing our time. My class is the last to get dismissed out of school. And another teacher comes to our class to talk to my teacher and we waste a bunch of time.


Posted December 13, 2013

We have two children in PS #3. The new Principal is amazing, energetic and hands-on. Mr. Michelle is a great addition adding a high level of morale of both students and staff. The teachers are sincerely concerned and communication is primary. Their Security team is always on the floor, in the yard, and Mr. Freddy knows everyone by name. The atmosphere here is caring and nurturing. RESPECT IS EVIDENT! If you want to be involved and feel secure that your children are safe and learning, this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

P.S. 3 is wonderful. Our child is in the dual language program and we couldn't be happier. Ms. Thompson & Ms. Estrada take such great care of the Kindergartners. They are caring and smart professionals that really know how to teach. The PTA is amazing too, they have all these affordable after school programs that can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2013

No. 3 School in Jersey City was poor. My child attended 1st grade and was in Ms. Mendez''s class. This teacher, similar to other teachers at the school, lacked teaching skills. She also did not know any behavioral mangement techniques for first graders. No effort was made in the slightest way to engage students. An extremely poor educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

Beautiful facility, thats about it. My daughter's teacher was terrible. She let severa unruly students take over her classroom...she spent more time disciplining them than teaching. I feel as though it was a waste of a school year. When I met w. the principal to bring up these issues, my concerns were brushed to the side and never confronted even though I was assured something would be done. Needless to say, my child is no longer there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

Horrible school. The teachers allow bullying to the point that children come home crying and are afraid to go to school because of the threats. I agree with the MR Ramirez complain, he is abusive. THe principal can't even speak english correctly! I couldn't understand what she was saying half the time and she NEVER sticks out for the good kids, but tries to protect the teachers that do not help the victims of bullying. Poor leadership, and neglect is what I encountered in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

Horrible experience. Mr Ramirez lets the bad kids bully the good children because he is scared of the ghetto parents and their offspring. My kids will be going back to private school next year. WE have a case with the NJBOE because of the way my daughter was harassed by this man. Other parents have taken part of the case also because children should not be bullied in school and then on top of that verbally and mentally abused by teachers who only care about a paycheck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

My daughter went to PS.3 for pre-K at 3 year old. Ms Charona Carter was her teach. My daugher could speak only Chinese at that time. However she was able to pick up English and liked her school very soon, with Ms Carter's help. Occationally I spoke to other parents and evey student and parent loved Ms Carter. My daughter went to PS.37 (her home school) since last year. A few days ago Ms. Carter sent me an email to greet my daughter for the Chinese new year and ask me to hug and kiss my daughter for her. My daughter was so happy. Ms Carter is a great teacher with great love. I would recommand her to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I'm very unhappy with the new school staff. They are very disorganized and not helpful at all. My daugther was having trouble with some kid in her class, i try to set up and appointment with her teachers and the principal and i'm still waiting for the appointmnet. I used to love the school and the staff but not anymore. Not a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

terrible place to study !! the previous set of staff were great....but not anymore ! students not gvn importance not good enough, not a good choice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

As with any school (I think) the teachers are hit and miss. We've been there for two years. Our first teacher was possibly the best that our son will ever have in his life (hopefully not). The second is just OK. In any case, the facility is beautiful and the kids are very nice. The staff is all friendly, helpful and committed. The biggest hinderance is the Board of Ed and curriculum but that's the same in any district schools. Of the district schools downtown I think this is a good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

#3 was a great school. My oldest son graduated from there Ms. Wallace was a great principal, to bad I cant say the same now. It seems the people in charge are more interested in attracting the new people moving into the neighborhood and are afraid to attract bad attention by providing the right decipline when needed. It might be a new building but thats about it. I wouldnt recomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

this school is brand new but the teaching style is still poor. Teachers tell students they get paid whether they learn or not and this is reflected in the children's test scores. Too bad Ms. Wallace has retired the staff put in place are having a hard time keeping it together. Its sad the kids are the ones who will suffer the most
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

I think this is a wonderful school. The principal mrs. Wallace and the vice-principal, mrs. Vega are two great women. The teachers and staff are all wonderful people who care deeply about each child. My sons love their school. The teachers are dedicated to the students. Ps #3 you're #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

The Frank R. Conwell Middle School #4 is fun and exciting. Students meet and greet each other. Public Middle School #4 has the 6th, 7th, and 8th grades. The school is great for ALL students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2005

I am very happy with PS#3 and it's staff. My son's teacher Mrs. Savia, and Mrs. Wilson are excellent. Mrs Savia you go above you call of duty. My son has progress so much thank God to people like you who dedicate themselves to the children. The principal, Mrs. Walace is a great leader. Always has a listening ear for the parents. Thank you Ladies for taking interest in my son's education. Thank you security Guards for keeping the school safe. The team in the reading recovery and all those who take part in my son's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

I appreciate my son's teachers. They are very helpful and resourceful in their teaching methods. I would hope that after building the new school, they would open up extra-curricular activities. Children need an outlet of activities to keep them off the streets.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students69%
Female71%
Male67%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
General education76%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant69%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male86%
Black76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students52%
Female54%
Male50%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
General education59%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant52%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students84%
Female82%
Male86%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Black79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
General education89%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant88%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students55%
Female58%
Male52%
Black60%
Asian67%
Hispanic40%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
General education56%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students72%
Female63%
Male82%
Black64%
Asian77%
Hispanic73%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
General education72%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant72%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 22%
Black 30% 16%
White 16% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Mischel

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Bright Street
Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone: (201) 915-6610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hudson Montessori
Jersey City, NJ





Our Lady Of Czestochowa
Jersey City, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT