Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Number 22 Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 67 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

My twin daughters got admission at the middle year and they were bussed from Ps 16 to Ps 22. I was worried about the school but the school was good with good teachers in pre k3. My daughters love to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

Ps 22 always had a bad review. When i first learned ( pre k) my daughter was routed to ps 22 from ps3 I cried .....the board of ed said no exceptions....as a working parent i hardly visited ps 22 i only did one day a week and as time pass by i realized the school is not bad is some parents and i learned is not the school you attented is what you get out of it. My daughter was in 22 from prek till 5 th grade. No regrets. An honor student. All her teachers were great. A lesson learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

My 4 year old son is being bussed to PS 22 from Ps 11, and my son loves being in PS 22. His teachers Mrs. Minervini and Mr. Lemise are the best teachers. They are so sof spoken and very approachable and they make the students very comfortable. My son enjoys every minute in this school and he adores Mrs. Minervini. This is the best thing that happened to him,though I was a little worried about sending him by bus as this is his very first time. But now he has a truly wonderful experience and his teachers are THE BEST. Thank you teachers for taking such good care of the kids and for teaching them all the good values.Truly a wonderful experience for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

Our daughter was bussed to PS22 from PS16 for her Pre-K3 year. Initially we were wary of the school due to the reviews online, but we found a few parents from previous PreK3 students and they were happy with the school so proceeded. Our daughter had a great year, she really liked her teachers & made some good friends. There were some interesting field trips too. All the staff we met were friendly and dedicated. We met most of the parents at a few events (and bus stop) but would have to say we didn't hear from the PTA at all. Most of the other children were very nice but there were some disruptive kids around. Originally we did hope to go to PS3 for the year with its new buildings, but we probably prefer ps22 now. There is a nice large park next to the school where the class went to play every nice day. PS3 also has portable rooms out the back which you dont see at first glance. So PS22 isn't the world's best school, but for Pre-K at least, dont write it off, we were very happy how our daughter enjoyed it..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

PS 22 is ran very poorly. There is no supervision for the staff as well as the children. A lot of the staff members should not be working with children. The children need adults to look up to, admire & learn from. That example is not given at 22. There are a few exceptions like Ms. Kirby. Most of the others are just getting by as they please including administrators. I don't understand why more parents are not complaining about this poor excuse of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

Very dissapointing year. The academic program is very unchallenging, The teacher seemed annoyed with the kids and seemed unmotivated. This was a wasted year for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I agree with another parent, my child too was in Miss Trovados class. I am amazed how much my son learned in just a few short months. My only issue now is that, he seems to be more advanced then others in his grade, and the teacher isnt quite sure how to handle that. The arrival and dismissal plan has a few glitches which need to be worked out, however i think that if us parents voice our opinion, we will be heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school really needs an administrative overhaul. The children have gym only once a week their nutrition meal plan is sub par. There isn't a strong PTA nor is their a push for parent involvement by administration. I wouldn't send my enemies child to this school/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Miss Trovado is the best Pre-K teacher in the world. My daughter had a wonderful time in her class. This year for Kindergarten, I'm planning on transferring my child to another school with higher test scores & a safer arrival/ dismissal plan. I don't think it's smart to let 5 yr olds line up alone outside in a courtyard with 2 entrances wide open to the street, nor do I think it's safe to walk a class out of the school to the sidewalk across the street & just leave them there. Anyone can walk off with anyone's kid as I have done for the past 2 days (parents of the students were aware). PS22, you have potential- Just work out the kinks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

this school is great with great teachers that is willing to help the kids achieve success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

pre k was actually really great for my son. There are some good teachers as well as not so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

The majority of the public schools in Jersey City fall far below the State of NJ performance averages. The worst of these schools is Public School #22. The school is so horrible and the test scores are so low that the BOE allows parents with students in this district to place their children in schools that are out of district. The main problem is the Jersey City Public School curriculum. Although the school boasts that it a part of the 'No Child Left Behind Act' it does in fact do just that, leave our children behind. In the more affluent district school in NJ, Pre-K prepares the children for reading. The curriculum in JC does not allow for our children to be taught how to read instead, the curriculum focuses on social skills. PS #22 is a disgrace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2003

i love ps.22 my i go there iam in 8th grade and that school did a pretty job getting my head on right.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students41%
Female46%
Male36%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged33%
Special educationn/a
General education43%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant41%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students57%
Female51%
Male62%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
General education60%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant57%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students28%
Female39%
Male21%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education36%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant28%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students73%
Female75%
Male71%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education50%
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant73%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students69%
Female75%
Male65%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education39%
General education80%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant69%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students30%
Female35%
Male25%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education15%
General education34%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant30%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students58%
Female55%
Male60%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education20%
General education69%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant58%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 22%
Black 43% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
White 5% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Ismael Aponte

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

264 Van Horne Street
Jersey City, NJ 07304
Phone: (201) 915-6481

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

N J Reg Day Jersey City
Jersey City, NJ



Al Ghazaly School
Jersey City, NJ



Dr Lena Edwards Academic
Jersey City, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT