Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joseph C. Caruso Elementary School

Public | 3-4 | 225 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

I'm glad my family and I decided to leave Hudson county and move to Monmouth county. My son is in IEP and from the moment we took him out of the West New York district to this school he has improved so much. He has received all the help he's needed from his teachers. I couldn't be happier to see my son finally read a book with no hesitation. Thanks to all his teachers putting the effort to help. I should've moved years ago instead of waiting and wasting all this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

I am very disappointed in this school. My daughter received almost all straight A's last year... so how did she fail the language arts portion on th Ask? I am an involved parent.. not that the school gives many opportunities to help them .. oh other than helping out with events.. but honestly if the school has been deemed in need of improvement by the federal governments nclb... then I'd worry less about carnival night and alittle more about the teachers and their qualifications and what they are teaching? Other local schools have done twice... repeat twice as well on the ask... Something is very wrong and I will not stop till I get the opportunity to help resolve it... signed just another working mom fed up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

I am very disappointed that this is the second year running that this school has not performed up to standards set by the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

I have heard wonderful things about the education and faculty at this school. My child is looking forward to attending. But I am saddened that the need for before and afterchool care is not available for all that need it. As a single parent and someone that is new to the area, I am put in a very difficult situation having to 'wait a few weeks after school begins for the lottery to choose children to attend afterschool care.' And there is no accomodation for children before 8:15 AM. How do I work and have a safe place for my child too?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2004

I love this school! My daughter struggles with some things but works very hard. The teachers have helped her immensely with their positive attitude, encouragement and devotion to their students. The extra activites give parents the chance to get involved with their childrens education. So much is offered. What a great staff and school. Thanks JCCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2003

I think Joseph C Caruso School is great school, it has a very energetic principal, she is where in the school encouraging the students and the teachers to do thier best,i also like that the school always encouraging the parent to get involve in the school activites
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

The Pre-K program is excellent. The teachers are very competent and the children love them. My daughter had a wonderful experience here. She also progressed much more than I anticipated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Our teachers are wonderful! My daughter loves attending this schhol and lloks forward to 4th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students35%
Female49%
Male28%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged30%
Special educationn/a
General education44%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant35%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students57%
Female60%
Male55%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Special educationn/a
General education68%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant57%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students32%
Female37%
Male27%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White34%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Non-economically disadvantaged44%
Special education17%
General education39%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant32%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students66%
Female63%
Male68%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White73%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Special education42%
General education79%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant66%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students79%
Female74%
Male84%
Black68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Special education67%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 52%
Hispanic 19% 22%
Black 14% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian 2% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Elaine Feyereisen

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

285 Carr Avenue
Keansburg, NJ 07734
Phone: (732) 787-2007

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Ann School
Keansburg, NJ



Ocean Avenue Elementary School
North Middletown, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT