Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

21 reviews of this school


Kearny Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
Since the school is a family owned and run, they often employee family or friends. Some of the teachers have been there a very long time, and just don't seem to really care. Like I've previously stated, they breed an air of competitiveness (unhealthy) and can be very rude to the students and parents alike.

Kearny Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
It seems to be nothing at some points and then heave at other times. Not very consistent.


Kearny Christian Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
Since the school does not offer challenging academic programs, there really is nothing for the students to work hard at and learn what the pay-off hard work can bring.

Kearny Christian Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are disrespectful to the students. They talk down to them, and are very unprofessional.

Kearny Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
As previously stated, the staff builds unhealthy competition amongst the student population, instead of fostering a cooperative, non-bullying, togetherness.


Kearny Christian Academy 1

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Academics are poor, there is a lot of favoritism in the school. The facility is dirty and the principle is non present. (because he works another job in the city). The leadership lies and cuts corners at every possible turn. Kids that go back to public schools are behind and struggle to catch up. They need to repent to God for all the lies and he will guide the School to be a great Christian place.

Kearny Christian Academy 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
KCA is a great school. My kids are thrilled to be there. The teachers are very caring and willing to put in extra time for my child to learn the material. It's nice to be able to send my children in a christian environment where they are also learning. Very grateful to God, especially during these times, to be able to send my children to KCA.

Kearny Christian Academy 1

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
My wife and I were extremely disappointed in KCA. When we enrolled our child, we expected all that they boasted in their open house. We quickly found a lot of it to be exaggerated or simply, a lie. They do offer a good biblical program, but other than that, it was plain awful. The teachers can be down right rude, to both parents and kids. They always look misterable. And oh boy, the building could use a good scrubbing! Principal leadership, or really any kind of leadership, does NOT exist at KCA. To say they are unorganized, is an understatement. Don't waste your money.


Kearny Christian Academy 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a community member
Smaller sized classrooms. Really helps Kids learn and focus. Teachers have more opportunity for one on one focus on their students. You dont get lost in the crowds. The staff cares. It feels like a family. I was a student over 15 years ago. I attended grades 6-12. I have always been a step ahead of my peers in education. And I account that to KCA. Now i am successful in my line of work. I hold managment positions and lead a large team of people. Learned not only the "books" at KCA but a lot about character and leadership. I believe going to this school helped me get to where i am in life today. When i have kids, i will definitely send them here!

Kearny Christian Academy 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
I am a proud parent of a KCA student and have been for many years. My daughter has excelled in this college prep school and I couldn't be more proud! The small class size allows my child individual care and she has a name, not a number. The staff has grown to become family and I appreciate all they have done. My daughter, over the years, has learned Chapters of the Bible, not only memorization, but a deep study of it and an understanding on how to live a Godly life. Kearny Christian Academy is a faithful, dedicated school and staff and has been for over 30years. There is NO other place my daughter would rather be. When asked what school she wanted to attend, KCA has always been her answer. I am proud that my daughter comes home knowing who she is in Christ, what Promises He has for her and her family, memorized Scripture and not the latest Miley Cyrus lyrics. We have truely been blessed. Thank you KCA for all of your years with my daughter and for staying true to the vision God has place in you

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kearny Christian Academy
22 Wilson Ave, Kearny, NJ  07032
(201) 998-0788
Last modified Kearny Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Kearny Christian Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top