Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12 & Ungraded
Public
Keyport, NJ

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Keyport High School 1

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Keyport teachers go out of there way previous math teacher continues to work with my son even though he is not his teacher this semester there are other teachers doing the same.

Keyport High School 4

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
The school has come a long way. The teachers are great the problem is the lack of participation by many parents. That's not the school's fault. School's are not babysitters and there are quite a bit of families in Keyport and Union Beach who just don't care about education. With that being said the school is not a bad place, it's small and allows parents to really know what is going on if they invest the time.


Keyport High School 2

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
Keyport High School is improving but there is still a long way to go. Administrators and teachers need to stay in place, there is just too much turn over. Additionally students need to be helped in the college selection process. These kids should just be prepped during their senior year, more thought needs to be bought in to the process early on in their education. We cannot accept Brookdale as the next step -- there are plenty of opportunities for low income students and those who are not in the top of their class. Guidance counselors need to work for their money and get these kids placed!!

Keyport High School 1

Posted October 24, 2010
- a community member
I happen to be one of the students who go to Keyport High School and i must say this happens to be one of the worst schools in New Jersey. Teachers do not care enough to help students bring their grades up, teachers do not make the class interestign for the students to the point where the kids tend to fall asleep in class (i happen to be one of those students who fell asleep in class), their are students who smoke on school grounds and the staff does nothing about it, and just the other day there was a bunch of kids in my classes talking about getting drunk and throwing beer bottles over fences. My teacher was just sitting there listening to the conversation and not saying a thing about it. Parents i would not suggest this school for your kids. Transferring to new school soon.

Keyport High School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Best school in the Bayshore area. My son was accepted to a top level technology school in Massachusetts and I couldn't be more proud of him. Students get out of this school what they put into it. Sports are weighed too heavily but academics are there if the students seek them out. The teachers work hard but the parents need to put in greater effort to support them.


Keyport High School 5

Posted June 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Keyport High School 1

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Keyport High School 2

Posted December 08, 2007
- a student
I'm a student there. My friends are getting suspended for fighting every week. Teachers are not helping us learn. Grades are declining. I have free periods all the time. Kids are smoking in the bathrooms and everyone says Keyport High School needs improvements but not many people are helping and for such a small town and not many students its a pretty bad school.


Keyport High School 1

Posted December 08, 2007
- a parent
Im a student at this school. Every student wants to be popular and the teachers are doing a poor job. There is atleast 2 or 3 good te teachers or atleast desent teachers there. Sports is very large here though. but this school n needs improving.

Keyport High School 4

Posted September 07, 2007
- a parent
Our child spent his entire public school career in Keyport and was accepted to a top tier college this year. Sure KHS could do better, teachers are well paid and sports is the big deal in this bayshore community but education and excellence come down to investing in your child no matter where you live. Sure, there is always room for improvement but if parents don't rally together, don't attend Board meetings and don't change perception they have to bear some of the blame. Keyport schools have potential-get out there and demand more for your children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Keyport High School
351 Broad Street, Keyport, NJ  07735
(732) 264-0902
Last modified Keyport High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Keyport High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top