Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Academy

Private | PK-12 | 300 students

Our school is know for rigorous academic instruction and solid Christian values.

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Lakewood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $203,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2013

I went to this school from 5th to 8th grade and did not like it whatsoever. the kids were very cliquey, the teachers were overly strict and there was a lot of gossip. I feel like they dont show you the real world and when i left i was oblivious of reality.


Posted February 12, 2013

My son entered Calvary Academy in 7th grade and graduated last year. He recieved an excellent education in a caring Christian environment. The teachers were outstanding and very well educated. Recently they fullfilled the requirements for accreditation by both ASCI and Middle states which is the same accrediting body used for all Accredited schools in New Jersey. My son is now in College studying engineering and is doing exceptionally well. Calvary Academy definetly provides the student with the tools they need to succeed in a competitive academic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

I grew up going to public schools and I saw first hand how kids were shuffled through the grades regardless of grades. There was no communication between parents and teachers. I decided to send my son to a private school for a better. The school has a great family environment. We know the administration due to their kindness not because my son misbehaved. The education he receives at Calvary is priceless. He is doing a lot of subjects which are done in later grades in public schools. He has been gradually introduced into advanced work over the years. The teachers are very friendly and are always in contact with me regarding my son's education. Most parents don't realize that in order for their kids to succeed in school they have to be a part of the kids education, in and out of school. This school is excellent and I recommend it to anyone who wants to give their kids a great education. As long as a parent realizes the teacher is not a babysitter,, the teacher is their to help the kids succeed and reenforce the importance of a good an education at home, the kid will succeed in any school. Keep this theory in mind and your child will excel with Calvary Academy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

Excellent in the academic sense, but quite lacking in the leadership, the discipline, and the courtesy of the students. Going there made me feel like I was nothing, like I was a mistake. I was bullied, yelled at by teachers, punished if my handwriting wasn't perfect or if I didn't write my name, given lunch detentions if I didn't do two questions on my math homework etc. The students had their cliques and unfortunately my best friends had moved away. So I was left alone. All this happened when I was in elementary school! On the upside, I recieved an outstanding education that has allowed me to continue on to excell adacemically far greater than most other students do. But in the end, don't waste your time or money.


Posted April 6, 2011

I love it there. There is sime gossip and cliques but what school doesn't. The teahers are extreamelly nice and helpful. Very Christian and i love it. I would definatly recomened it for a school.


Posted May 29, 2008

I went to this school for four years, and I learned a lot there. The curriculum was excellent, but I always felt pressured, and some of the children there were unkind. They were cliquey, and I would always feel left out. THerefore, I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2008

My child was in the Pre-K program for 2 years, and didn't continue to Calvary Academy for some disapointments I had in the pre-K, I considered that my daughter didn't receive a good education for the money we were paying. She is in a public school now but unfortunately she is not doing well, the teacher in the public school thought that my daughter didn't receive any kind of Pre-K preparation since she was not even ready to recognize letters or numbers; we had to work very hard everynight to make her get the basics in reading and writing. The Kndrgten Teacher in the Public School thinks that my child is bright, smart and very inteligent but she was not prepared well for Kndrgten, since now the public schools' standards are higher than previous years. She is in disadvantage comparing her to other children that were in public Pre-K programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

Calvary Academy was a great school for my sons who are now attending college. My children made many lifelong friends while attending Calvary and they were also very involved in sports. The teachers and staff at Calvary are the best - they did a great job in preparing my children for college. The administration is caring and knows each child on a one-to-one basis. Calvary Academy has been a blessing to my entire family. I would HIGHLY recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

Schools are only as good as the parents who involve themselves with teachers and administration. My child attended Calvary K through 3 (we moved out of state) and I felt that he received a superb education. Even at the young level, they took really great field trips that were attached to their lessons...more than 4 times a year. The Principal is outstanding. She is warm, caring and very understanding. The environment is firm but caring and each child is treated with respect. I received progress reports and updates throughout the year and was never disappointed in the quality of education Calvary offered. The children are very close to each other as many of them continue on from K - 12 year after year. I'm sorry we couldn't take the school with us. I would recommend Calvary over any elementary school in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

While Calvary is a member of Chrisitan associations, they are accredited by none and have not made any formal request to become accredited. Many teachers need to be trained on computers and lack the high standard of degrees needed at other schools. For the money.....poor choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

My child attended in the 2nd grade and I thought the curriculum was great; however, the staff there was not as patience as they should be. They were more concerned with having the children be military students than giving the opportunity to express their creative and actually be children. Their expectations were very unreasonable in regards to the child and their behavior. The staff exhibited no emotional support which is not a positive attribution. Therefore, all in all, my child was challenged educationally, however he was not provided with social and emotional support he needed and we as parents did not receive their moral support. Overall, I would not give a recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

This is the best option for a Christian education in the Monmouth/Ocean county area. My son just graduated from Calvary this year (he attended 1st thru 12th grades) and was accepted to Lafayette College in Easton, Pennsylvania, which was named to one of Barron's Guide to the Most Competetive Colleges in the US. SAT scores at Calvary, on average, are higher than all of the surrounding public school systems. The school is definitely Christ-centered and faculty and administration are committed to providing the best possible education and spiritual environment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2005

I had 2 children that attended this school briefly. I had to take them out because academically and emotionally their were suffering. The administration and teachers were not accommodating to the parents or children. The teachers had too much authority. They are also not what I would call a good christian either. I had referred 5 other families to send their children to Calvary and they all were dissatified and eventually them all took their children out of the school. The end up placing them in public schools because of the bad experiences with Calvary a suppose to be christan school. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

My daughter is in the 9th grade and she has more friends than the previous Christian school she had attended. There are better teachers and education and also godlier administration with a clear conscience that I trust my child with. I support this school and will recommend them to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son is in the 2nd grade and has been at Calvary since K. Great admin. and teachers alike. This is a terrific school with all learning drenched in Jesus. I highly recommend this school to any parents that want their child to learn high quality academics and have everything based on the Lord.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 9%
Black 12% 16%
Hispanic 12% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Any online foreign language
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Melissa S. Payne
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of God
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (732) 363-7337

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Any online foreign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1133 E County Line Rd
Lakewood, NJ 08701
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 363-3633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family School
Lakewood, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT