Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Lawnside, NJ
Students enrolled: 255
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lawnside Public Elementary School 3

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
If Lawnside Public School's performance could be placed on a graph its curve would show a definite upswing. Under the leadership of Dr. Ronn Johnson, the school has made a number of physical improvements, including smart boards in the classrooms and after school programs which will serve its students well going forward. Discipline has been an issue, but not an overwhelming one. There are certain benefits with having such a small student body and the faculty and administration at this school give each of its students the individual attention they need. If they don't let up this school can achieve a great deal for its students and the community.

Lawnside Public Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2010
- a parent
Excellent Parents! Excellent Students! Excellent Staff! Wonderful Community! I really believe that this school is one of the best kept secrets in South Jersey. My child receives a high quality education.


Lawnside Public Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a community member
For all you naysayers of LPS, read on: Accomplishments of the Lawnside School District 2008 - 2009 Academic: 75% of Grade 3 students met state proficiencies in mathematics, exceeding the state benchmark by 6%. 73% of Grade 4 students met state proficiencies in mathematics, exceeding the state benchmark by 4%. Significantly improved test scores on the state assessments in science for grades 4 and 8. Lawnside School District made AYP through Safe Harbor in 2008. The district implemented FOSS, a new hands-on, inquiry-based science program approved by the National Science Foundation. The district completed the Arts in Education grant program with a state-of-the-art showcase of student work. After-school care services provided by REAL and Stay-on-Top vendors.

Lawnside Public Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
There are many negative issues about the school but to be fair I will list + and -. Lawnside is a one-school district. Many of the staff are friends, relatives or in some way affiliated with the Borough/political officials; There is no after school program although we fought to get one initiated (with no support from the school administration); The Principal & Superintendent are one in the same. The school has failed the state testing for 6 years straight.if they failed this year that will be year 7! Taxes rise each year and there is no music nor sports programs to facilitate the Pre K through 8th grade students. There are excuses made for every issue with the kids foster kids, lack of parent participation, special ed students, etc. but none are founded to meet the bottom line. There was parent particip til no results/changes Federal Gov't should take over asap!

Lawnside Public Elementary School 2

Posted March 09, 2007
- a parent
Lawnside elementary school has potential but seems to be having difficulties. The teachers are nice but are often over-consumed with discipline issues. Expectations are low for student achievement and behavior. Parent involment is low. Bickering is evident. Excuses are often made for why students are not at the same level as other schools in the state. The role of principle and superintendent is filled by one person. This makes it difficult to achieve resolution of issues. Extra curriculum activities are almost non-existent and school participation in local enrichment competitions is not encouraged. More focus on quality should be given in this district.


Lawnside Public Elementary School 4

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
Lawnside Public is a great school. My children have been attending this school for the past 6 months. The teachers are very enthusiastic and the principle is very supportive. The only thing that concerns me is the amount of extracurricular activities available. I also wish that they had more advanced classes available for students in the 5th grade or lower.

Lawnside Public Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2005
- a student
The school is very well organized from the leadership on down the line. I commend the school for incorporating the uniforms.

Lawnside Public Elementary School 1

Posted August 23, 2004
- a parent
I am a resident of Lawnside and refuse to send my child to the school - With the taxes that are paid within this small community one would think that the educational level would be high - however that is not so - It is my understanding that Lawnside teachers are in the highest salary group - there is no reflection of this whatsoever by the turnout of uneducated children- there is no afterschool care - and we really need to look into safety features for the children - I think we should seriously take a look at the leadership, the borough, the council and the Board of Education for Lawnside public school - The community may be growing but the education of our children at this school is falling way behind.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lawnside Public Elementary School
426 East Charleston Ave, Lawnside, NJ  08045
(856) 546-4850
Last modified Lawnside Public Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lawnside Public Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top