Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Benjamin Franklin Elementary School

Public | PK-3 & ungraded | 19 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Coming from other country, we found this school just excellent! Great teachers, a passionate staff and a very engaged principal. Parents cooperation is outstanding too. Is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

My 4-year-old son goes to special ed program at Ben Franklin. He loves to go to school and learns so much from the teachers. When he was going to day care centers he used to cry every day and stressed out a lot. But he gets such a good care from Ben Franklin special ed teachers that he is very happy to go to school in the morning and comes back home with a big smile in the afternoon. He has made so much improvements both developmentally and emotionally since he started going to Ben Franklin. I don't think we can find a better school than this for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Really great school. The best part is this school system despite being great does not go around announcing its greatness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

Excellent school with the best of teachers. A lot of extra curricular activities with a strong focus on academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2012

I am very impressed with this school. My child is in the first grade and I am very pleased with her first two years at Ben Franklin. As other parents have commented to me, it has the instructional quality and ingenuity of a private school. My daughter was reading in Kindergarten at 5 years old, something I wasn't expecting. Also, BF offers a full day kindergarten which you don't get in other nearby districts, great for working parents! The Principal Mr. Turnbull is a young energetic guy who is doing very wonderful things as are the dedicated teachers. The parents are very active in my daughters class with folks donating lots of food and money for special functions for the kids. Over all 5 star school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

My daughter is graduating from this school this year and this school is overall fantastic. Some of the teacher's are exceptional and work very hard to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

BF is a very good school. My daughter was lucky enough to be Mrs. Muzy's student . She enjoyed every moment of her 1st grade. learning process/teaching methods were innovative, academically challenging and most importantly stimulated development of creativity and individual strength. BF has an atmosphere of a family for kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

I attended Ben Franklin from Kindergarden to Third Grade and I LOVED it!!! I always enjoyed waking up and going to this school. I was never bullied, the teachers were always there to help me when I needed it! This school made me feel accepted. I was very very sad when I had to leave it. I believe that this is by far the BEST elementary school in the Lawrenceville area. I was origionaly suposed to go to Slackwood in Lawrenceville but this one was much closer so my parents wrote a letter for me to go there. I did not like slackwood that much when visited but I loved Ben Franklin. I have told my parents that if I could've I would stay in that school forever! If you live in Lawrenceville I would strongly recommend sending your child to this school!


Posted December 5, 2008

All around great school. Faculty and parents clearly care about the development of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

I was, and still am constantly surprised with the quality of this public school. This year, my daughter's 1st grade class has only 15 students! Wow! The classroom is new and clean and the overall atmosphere of the school is full of 'school spirit'. Parent involvement is amazing. During school events the parking lots and street overflow with cars of parents coming to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students71%
Female74%
Male69%
Black36%
Asian91%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special educationn/a
General education74%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female82%
Male89%
Black64%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 26% 9%
Black 15% 16%
Hispanic 9% 22%
Two or more races 8% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2939 Princeton Pike
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648
Phone: (609) 671-5540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Eldridge Park School
Lawrenceville, NJ


Slackwood Elementary School
Lawrenceville, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT