Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Hill Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lincroft

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $500,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

I graduated from Oak Hill in 2012. After 10 great years at Oak Hill, I can tell you that many of the negative reviews you will find below are absurd. If you work hard and meet the school's high expectations, you will have the opportunity to attend nationally recognized prep schools such as Lawrenceville and Philips Exeter as well as prominent local high schools such as CBA, High Tech and Biotech. My teachers were all very passionate about their work and took a personal interest in each student's success. They were always there to help. Additionally, through its more advanced curriculum and new facilities such as the Soler Science and Environmental Center and a Harkness room, Oak Hill continues to strengthen its program so it can better prepare their students for high school and college. I was better prepared for high school than almost all of my freshman classmates. Finally, Oak Hill students not only get an in-depth educational and moral foundation, but we also learn how to work hard so each of us can succeed in life.


Posted Saturday, August 23, 2014

How ironic that all of the 5 star reviews occur consecutively after negative reviews. I live in a great public school district and my children attended public school. I was MISLEAD into believing that Oak Hill Academy would offer a nurturing and academically challenging and rewarding environment. I pulled all of my children out of public school only to find out that "the grass wasn't greener" at Oak Hill Academy. After 2 years at Oak Hill my children went back to public school to find out that they were not academically advanced and in some instances behind (I had to hire a public school teacher to tutor one of my children to place into an advance placement class because they did not teach up to the standards of the public school district.) I was so optimistic but throughly disappoint with Oak Hill. What a waste of money. It is better to hire a tutor to supplement the academics that the public school may lack, but better to let your students have a normal social interaction with their true peers in the public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2014

As part of Oak Hill Academy beginning in Pre-K, our experience has been nothing short of amazing. In addition to the challenging academics, the socialization and sense of community taught is priceless. Always looking to improve upon the program, the administration is willing to listen to new ideas and invites open communication between home and school. Having OHA as the first school involvement for our child has made the love of learning the most enjoyable experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2014

We have been a part of the Oak Hill (OHA) family for 13 years. I have a son, who graduated from OHA, after starting there in Pre-K, and is now a junior at The Lawrenceville School (Lv). I have two others still at OHA. Before our oldest started at OHA, I spoke with the admissions offices at CBA, Peddie and Lv to find out what they thought of OHA. Each of them gave OHA a GLOWING evaluation. As a result, we became part of the OHA family. I am amused by the negative comments of others, as OHA is one of a select few NJ schools that prestigious prep schools such as Lv and Phillips Exeter actually come to every year to recruit OHA graduates. Further, in its 33 year history, OHA has NEVER had one of its graduates rejected by CBA. OHA founder and headmaster, Mr. Pacelli, is a forward looking educator constantly seeking to enhance the educational environment, whether he is increasing the rigor of the math program, introducing the Harkness Table methodology, as employed by Lv and Exeter for over 75 years, or putting the latest tech in each classroom. I could also write about the dedicated teachers, but the high quality of OHA's matriculation list speaks for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2014

I couldn't be happier with Oak Hill Academy. The teaching staff and administrators are lovely people who care about the children almost as if they were their own, and who are open minded and progressive as far as educational philosophies. Always ready to meet to discuss parental concerns or student needs, the Headmaster and teachers are also available to discuss new ideas and possibilities. Oak Hill Academy supplies their students with a disciplined, academic education, yet has a warm, solid, extended family feel. As an artist, and someone from a small family, I appreciate both of these things deeply. Oak Hill Academy offers a certain kind of support, both tangible and intangible, that s very helpful to parents in the wonderful and complicated process of raising a child. The code of respect that Oak Hill Academy runs on and which emphasizes kindness ensures that the children will understand the importance of being sensitive to others, while the beautiful campus which includes a stunning science center and gorgeous performing arts space provides an unparalleled aesthetic backdrop that encourages children to be creative people who are sensitive to their surroundings as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2014

The school trains a child's organizational skills from early on, in addition to the quality of education provided. The students you meet here are most confident, independent, caring and happiest group for their age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

OHA provides my son with a fun,safe and advanced learning experience. He looks forward to going to school,as a parent that makes me VERY happy. I am so happy we found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

Oak Hill Academy gives children a strong foundation. The teachers, curriculum and positive energy allows the student to engage in an educational environment that allows each child to feel good about themselves...Wonderful experience!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Horrible school, the school does not care about the student but only money, been there three years, leaving !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

I can not stress enough how bad of an experience I had at Oak Hill. The teachers teach in a 'cookie- cutter ' fashion and give the students busy work and simply don't care. I advise (for students like myself) that look to be challenged and taught by caring and well educated teachers to not attend Oak Hill Academy.


Posted December 29, 2013

Great school if you are looking for a biased staff and principal who will do anything for a dollar. Money first, education second
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

Oak Hill Academy My son has been a student at Oak Hill Academy for several years and we could not be happier with the quality of the education and the overall experience at Oak Hill. My son is a bright child and the teachers have done a great job at keeping him interested and continually challenged. Furthermore, in addition to great core academics, the science, music and language programs are strong. They have a great after school club program where your child can engage in many activities such as chess, computers, Spanish, French, Chinese and many others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Love Oak Hill Academy!!! One of it's kind!!! All the Teachers are amazing!!!! The best out there!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

I enrolled my children into Oak Hill Academy looking for an academic opportunity in a small environment that would be socially, emotionally,and educationally supportive. As well intentioned as the teachers and administrators are, they are more concerned with creating an image of a "great school" then actually instituting one. Many of the teachers are past their "prime" and lack the innovation and enthusiasm to fire the passion of learning in the children. Most of the teaching methods are mundane and are just rote learning. Also, many of the teachers lack the patience and understanding of a child that may not conform to the "normal" learner. The administration is closed minded and unwilling to listen to constructive suggestions from well educated, well intentioned parents that offer a wealth of ideas. I think the administration needs to focus more on the needs of its existing students and parents then exerting energy on recruiting new families. Current parents and students are the best advertisement for the school and any family investing so much financially and emotionally should not feel the burden of being dissatisfied with what should be the best educational opportunity!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

I am writing here to communicate our experience of the 8th grade at Oak Hill. First, I have say that the focus is academic. However, it is taught in an old-fashioned manner of memorzation. On a positive note, the students are given many writing assigments. Some are way drawn out over the course of months! The teachers and administrators get the students to perform out of FEAR! It is a punitive environtment where the students as well as their parents are not given respect or a voice. There is no room for analytical thought or negotiation. Their moto is "the teacher is always right" but they are very narrow minded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

I am a parent of an Upper School Student . The upper school is a demanding and well rounded corriculum. This school is for motivated students. If you have the " right stuff " and a curious mind, this learning facility will take the student to the next level and will definitely allow one to shine in all future academic endeavors. However, like all schools it has some weak points. The administration must learn to listen to parents closely. The faculty should be rotated periodically in order to create the best niche for the educator as well as the student body. Student clubs, teacher support and peer tutoring are all part of a beautiful, first rate educational facility that make up Oak Hill Academy. If you are thinking about a private school for your child(ren), this school should be First on your "Must Visit" list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

I am an 8th grader and OHA i have been going since the first grade. I think it's the best learning environment possible. people from this school get into the top high schools of our nation. Defiantly worth it! Yes there is a lot of work but in the end it's worth it! I couldn't ask for a better building block for life!


Posted September 7, 2009

In our experience with this school is that the teaching staff is past retirement age. In order to succeed in the upper school you will need to know how to memorize information. The exams that are given to the students are actually the same as the study sheets-it's kind of hard not to succeed here with a high average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

Our experience is that this school is not worth the tuition. We feel as though the teachers (atleast in the lower school) teach in a 'cookie cutter' fashion. Each child is expected to behave, answer, and question the same. The teachers have not been creative in thier approach nor do treat each student as an individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 52%
Asian 3% 8%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 20%
Black 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

347 Middletown Lincroft Road
Lincroft, NJ 07738
Phone: (732) 530-1343

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

A Child S Place School
Middletown, NJ





Thompson Middle School
Middletown, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT