Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Linden High School

Public | 9-12 | 1759 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2013

LHS is the best. my daughter has the best help she plays lacrosse and vollyball and being look at many colleges. im so proud of the high school. there is alot of discipline. i love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love Linden High School because my daughter can feel safe. They have their issues there like any other school but for the most part the teacher's are involved and the principal cares. I also like all of the extra curricular programs that are available to the kids. My daughter is in 10th grade and she takes them up on something extra since she been there. Linden High is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

High academic standards (IB program -- there are only 4 high schools in NJ with this program so far!), Exchange student programs: Germany, Italy, CHINA (!), etc,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

LHS is a GREAT school -- IB program (only 4 high-schools in NJ are approved to have this program! That alone testifies about the high standards!), numerous of extracurricular activities, abroad study programs to China(!), Germany, etc. With Dr. Tomazic as the superintendent now, this school and Linden district will shine in NJ as one of the top schools. The kids are inspired to do their best with great teachers on board. If a student doesn't do his/her part in studing, it is obvious that the student cannot do well. Parents must cooperate and be INTERESTED in their chid's education in order for them to succeed. Grades are not given for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

good school! awesome teachers and incredible people come from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

The standards at this school are very low. They have a weak honors/IB/AP program. I would NOT recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

Linden High is one of the best school I've ever went to in my life! I was about to go to a catholic school nearby, but instead I went to this one. I love it. The teachers are nice, even though some are kind of strict. They discipline very well. They have something called 'Honors' or an IB program, and it's one out of I think 6 schools in NJ who includes it in its curriculum. They also have an ROTC program that is wonderful. The only bad thing about this school might be some of the kids, but if you hang out in the right crowd, then you'll make it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

I'm a student going into my junior year, where I will be involved in the IB program at Linden High. LHS is really not as bad as most people say, although it could use some improvement. I think that, like any other high school you attend, it is what you make of it. It could be 4 of the best years of your life if you take full advantage of all the great extracurricular activities, or it could be terrible if you sit back and do nothing. LHS has potential. It's the students that don't care that take away from the school, overall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2006

I have two children in LHS. Both in honor class. They offered good programs that challenges students. Both my children are happy in highly motivated to go to school everyday. I think that says much as to how they feel about this sch. I have to agree to one parent's comment posted when it comes to dealing with some staff, it can be a bit frustrating. But once you learned to navigate around them, they are willing to accommodate a parent's concerned. NJROTC is one of the great program in LHS together with the IB program and Project Lead the Way that teaches children about engineering. There are otherprograms offered to interest and challenge students. Overall, this is not a bad school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2006

I have been let down by Linden High. I come from an educated family that admires respect and maturity. The administration, however, is far from that. The academic programs are very weak and my son complains about teachers passing students who openly lack proper grade-level skills. When I tried to approach the school staff they were terribly rude and immature. I am very critical of the principal, who happens to believe that yelling at every student is an effective median for helping children. I am moving my son to a private school this upcoming year. The level of violence also worries, as learning seems to be discouraged by a large part of the student body. I also find the teachers bothered when I try to ask for help. The do have a good ROTC program, but it isn't worth sending a child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Academicly students are way ahead of what they should be. There is plenty musical, and arts classes ranging from basic art, and music to advanced art and music technology. Also there are plenty of sports teams Football, Soccer, swiming,track,and golf. Parents tend to be involved in lots of school activites. They have a strong PTA.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 12, 2006

My granddaughter is doing extremely well in Linden High School, Linden, New Jersey. Mr. Black is an excellent principal and the instructors are very dedicated. Liden High is part of the prestigious IB program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2004

I am a freshman at LHS and I like it here.The teachers are great they get along with the students and everything,Especially the special ed teachers they will always be there for you.There are a lot of activities here to offer.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students84%
Female89%
Male80%
Black80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Special education54%
General education93%
English language learners15%
Non-migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former48%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students61%
Female61%
Male60%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
General education71%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant61%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

821 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students22%
Female20%
Male23%
Black15%
Asian20%
Hispanic23%
Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Non-economically disadvantaged24%
Special educationn/a
General education26%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant22%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former25%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 16%
Hispanic 35% 22%
White 25% 52%
Asian 2% 9%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 W St George Ave
Linden, NJ 07036
Phone: (908) 486-5432

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Roselle Park High School
Roselle Park, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT