Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lindenwold High School 5

Posted December 30, 2013
- a parent
This school gets better every year. It is just sad that the principal is the only one who knows the what he is doing over there. The principal is professional and caring with the community and parents. He treats people with respect and gets the most out of the kids. They need to fire the football coach and AD since they are the same person. Maybe the principal should be the football coach too.

Lindenwold High School 1

Posted July 11, 2013
- a parent
One of the biggest mistakes I made was not taking my child out of LHS when I had the chance. The guidance department is horrible they did nothing to prep their seniors for college. They were more worried about making a name for themselves through their athletes by sweeping grades under the rug when students weren't eligible to play. Instead of getting the students the proper tutoring or extra help they needed They pushed grades along and set them up to fail in the real world. The dropout rate is the highest area and just,as often as they randomly drug test the students they need to test the staff as well I have two other children to get through high school and LHS isn't even an option.


Lindenwold High School 5

Posted March 28, 2013
- a parent
I admit I was very unsure of sending my child here. It is located in a debilitating neighborhood, & it is difficult to not judge a book by its cover. I can't express my disappointment with myself for being so judgmental. This school is FILLED with incredibly caring & highly educated teachers, whom make it clear by their actions, that they are not there for their paycheck. My child is new this year. He has been stopped in the halls by coaches, after school activity leaders, all personally inviting him to their organizations. The Principal interacts with students and he & Guidance have made it clear to my child that they are there to help him succeed! While extremely diverse, I have yet to hear a nasty word to each other; but have seen "high fives", 'knuckle bumps' etc. nonstop! Highly motivated teachers, a caring Principal, motivated Guidance Counselors, a zero tolerance to disrespect or bad behavior has made this school a huge success in my book! My child is happy to go to school & is filled with great stories from his small classes everyday. I am so thrilled to be wrong & so excited for my child. He is surrounded by a truly caring staff, making all the difference for success.

Lindenwold High School 1

Posted March 10, 2012
- a student
Lindenwold High School has been the worst experience of my young life. The kids here do not know proper human skills and often talk like they belong on another planet entirely. The few kids here who excel in many things are lucky when they finally escape this place. There are some teachers who help, but more who don't care. It's a horrible place to bring children. I would no sooner die before I enrolled my kin here. I can't wait to leave. I'm counting down the years.

Lindenwold High School 5

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
Lindenwold High School has gotten progressively better each year since Mr. Brandt became the principal. The high school does not tolerate poor behavior or poor academic performance. The principal goes to all the events to support the kids and he is always willing to help the students and the parents. It is great to see the way he motivates those students. The teachers are also very caring and demand the most out of their students. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants their child to get a great opportunity for a great education with wonderful people.


Lindenwold High School 1

Posted October 01, 2011
- a student
Being a small school isn't always a good thing. With roughly 600 students, If you have problem with only a few students(who doesn't?), you are bound to run in to them all over the place; making one want to avoid even the few extra-curriculars LHS has. LHS has a lot of caring teachers, but also just as many who don't give a d*mn. But the teachers aren't the main problem, it's the terrible guidance department. They are more concerned with rushing through appointments to get kids back to class and pressing about upcoming tests, they don't acknowledge students' problems, creating a helplessness and depression seen throughout the school. LHS has one of the highest drop-out rates I've heard of in this area, and most students don't go on to even complete 2 yrs at a community college. The school is very out of touch with reality. If they addressed more than test scores, I feel the school would do dramatically better.

Lindenwold High School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a student
i think that lindenwold high is better than lindenwold middle because the school has better things

Lindenwold High School 3

Posted April 17, 2007
- a parent
I believe that parent/teacher communication is a must in any grade level. If the teachers don't call on to the parents, how else are the parents suppose to know about their child's learning ability's, depend on the child to inform the parent of leters, reports teachers concerns/comments. Even if the child is a high school student, not all teens are responsible to do so nor are they willing. The teachers must contact the parent with each individual student concerns that they have. Especially failing students


Lindenwold High School 4

Posted July 09, 2005
- a parent
This school is the highlight of this troubled town. I've never come across a more caring staff. Calls for help are answered within minutes, not days or weeks. I don't always get the answer I want, but I always get respect. The needs to beef up its efforts to support the schools because while they try, they cannot do it alone. My daughter just graduated after 4 wonderful years - and it was thanks to the committment of the people who work in and with the schools. Everyone is given the chance to excel - they just need to take advantage.

Lindenwold High School 3

Posted March 22, 2005
- a parent
Positives: The high school is progressing nicely since its opening in 2001. The AP and Honors courses are challenging and the class sizes are small. The teachers and administration are involved in the students' lives in all areas of extracurricular activities. All students are encouraged to be on sports teams, to play in the band, to act in the school's excellent drama productions. Negatives: The neighborhood is deteriorating and the student population is more transient than most high schools. The majority of the students do not go on to 4-year colleges and the lack of guidance from the guidance department reflects their inexperience with the students who do excel academically and who do want to go on to further their education. Usually, it's always the same parents that you see at school functions or meetings and those are the parents of the students in honors/college prep classes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lindenwold High School
801 Egg Harbor Rd, Lindenwold, NJ  08021
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (856) 741-0320
Last modified Lindenwold High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top