Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lindenwold Number 5 Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 586 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2013

I went to this school four years ago i loved it . the teachers are amazing! I have`nt had I teacher there that I did`nt like this school is FAR more better than the middle school my advise to you is to go here but do`nt go to Lindenwold middle . The middle school has very few good teachers and your chances are that you wont get a good education.


Posted November 15, 2011

This school is a diamond in the rough! We have had nothing but positive experiences and support here. Our child is now in the 3rd grade performing very well. There are a wealth of resources and activities within the classrooms to stimulate learning and best of all our child loves going to school ! There always seems to be 100% family participation at afterschool activities. It is multicultural which helps promote the tolerance children need to coexist in real society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

Since this is my daughter's first yr in school, I don't have any preconceived notions. So far, so good my daughter is excelling in most areas, learning to adapt in others. The fact that their regular teacher Mrs. Bog went out on maternity leave left my kid a little overwhelmed. But the sub (Mrs. Feller) seems competent and can handle the students well. It also takes a concerted effort on the parents as well, to check in on your child, ask questions and get feedback when needed as to what areas that need to be worked on at home as well as at school . It really does take a village.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My child has mrs bog.Her name is much longer now my daughter-tor loves her class she starts to cry and i ask her why she says that i have the best teacher&will she be my teacher again every year sorry honey i wish i could do that, but you have to exceed and move on and you will still see her, now my personal thoughts on this nice teacher .She is usually by herself i have no idea how she does it.I was a teacher and she does so much for the children and its no where near june and my daughter is doing great she is the best teacher at number 5 thank you for being the best teacher and really showing them how to learn,tori & i say your the best teacher in the world and i love to sit in and watch you teach, you are great, thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

The teachers really do care. There are some teachers who children attend the school. I however, believe that teacher morale is low.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2006

Both of my daughters have gone to School 5 since the developmental stages of their part time Pre-K programs. The supplimental programs such as basis skills, speech therapy, and extended day programs have provided for the individual needs of my children. The atmosphere each year has made my children each September look forward to a new school year with reunited friendships and a positive outlook for their new teachers. They have been rewarded with wonderful and caring teachers through out their years there. Making school more than a chore. It was with some regret that I had to transfer them to a new school district related to a move. Because of their stepping stone years at Lindenwold School Five, I can only hope they continue to have a positive experience in the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students44%
Female49%
Male41%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Special education13%
General education55%
English language learners14%
Non-migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former33%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students59%
Female54%
Male63%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Special education25%
General education70%
English language learners21%
Non-migrant59%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former42%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students45%
Female47%
Male44%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White53%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Special educationn/a
General education56%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant45%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former47%

Math

All Students67%
Female61%
Male72%
Black56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Special education29%
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former72%
Limited English Proficient Former84%

Science

All Students77%
Female80%
Male75%
Black81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
White87%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Special education59%
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former61%
Limited English Proficient Former79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 22%
Black 36% 16%
White 22% 52%
Asian 2% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 Chews Landing Road
Lindenwold, NJ 08021
Website: Click here
Phone: (856) 784-4063

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Goddard School
Laurel Springs, NJ




Clementon KinderCare
Clementon, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT