Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Long Valley Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 24 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2013

This school is good for academics but definitely the worst when it comes to staff, the amount of homework and the enviornment. They cant even plant anything outside the school to make it look good. It looks like a jail and feels like it. Plus theres no air conditioning!


Posted September 20, 2011

I Long Valley Middle School!! It's the best school I've ever been to!! I am a 6th grader for the 2011-2012 school year. There's so many activities you can do!! Chorus, Orchestra, Cooking, Art Club, Drama Club, and so much more!! I've already made a whole bunch of friends and all the teachers/principals are excellent!! I can't wait for my other 2 years here!! :D


Posted September 26, 2010

My child is currently doing very well in LVMS School. For the most part, they are very self motivated. The issue I have is that I see nothing that is challenging for students to really excel. Also, how unhelpful the front office is. There seems to be apathy when you walk in for any type of assistance. No enthusiasm. I can't blame the school entirely. Certainly the economic condition and also the lack of parent events (even something as simple as potluck dinner for individual grades) could allow parents a casual forum to compare notes to inculcate change in the school and within their own family dynamics..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

As a current student, I can say Long Valley Middle school scores 1 star. The four secretaries we have do nothing for months to fix students schedules, they send you to the guidance counselor, who sends you back to the secretaries, and so on for weeks until you demand something from them. There are 'clicks' and if your not in them, forget about having a partner for a project, a lunch table, or friends to talk to in class. A person in my class actually said '(my name) is so not cool, (my name) get out of my seat' loud enough so everyone could hear, the teacher did nothing or said nothing, I wasn't in his seat. The 'V-Free Program' it's a joke to students, many students fake slips to get into a free luncheon. 'popular kids' go out of their way to bully eveyone. LVMS does nothing to help students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

One thing about LVMS- did not personally like a lot of the teachers. But parents are at home. Teachers are , well, TEACHERS. They are there to care about education, not provide a spa atmosphere and all the TLC in the world. I wouldn't want them to. A couple were atrocious for not respecting my daughter's religious beliefs, but she stood up for herself. I don't think anywhere is perfect, especially if you happen to belong to a minority and present the teachers with ideas they are unfamiliar with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I completely disagree and believe that Long Valley Middle School is an exceptionally superior middle school in its learning environment, extra-curricular activities, functions, and its anti-violence, vandalism, and bullying (V-Free) program. The only downside of LVMS is that there is a slightly overpowering amount of assigned homework. Also, I have to say that the majority of the teachers at Long Valley Middle School are incredibly caring, consistent, will do anything to catch their students up, and do their best (along with the administration) to prevent any bullying, violence, or vandalism. In conclusion, I would highly recommend Long Valley Middle School as a school to attend for any middle school student as it is one of the best schools in the region.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

My daughter attended Long Valley Middle school, and I am extremely disappointed with her experience. The staff doesn't seem to have any concern for the well-being of the students. The extra curricular activities are horrible. My daughter was given an impossible amount of homework, most of which was just given to them so they would have work to do. She had two horrible language arts teachers in a row, and I did not get to see a single piece of her writing over the two years. Out of all the schools I have seen in my lifetime, the kids at this one are the meanest. The 'popular' kids make an effort to bully anyone who they think is less cool than they are, including the special education kids. I am so disgusted with Long Valley Middle School that I now have to send my daugter to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

The students at this school are extremely mean to other students. There is nothing done about all of the bullying that goes on at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

My son attended Long Valley Middle School for 2 years and went to Long Valley Schools all of his life. Although the academics there were superior,the amount of work given to my son was excessive and extremely stressful. Even though my son was a star student, he couldn't enjoy his life or participate in extra- curricular activities due to his overload of work. This school was extremely insensitive and treated my son as if he was a number. The focus of the school was mostly on its sports and not on other extra-curricular activities. When the school had budget issues, they cut 'artsy' programs while not cutting a single sports team. This shows a lack of actives for non athletic children. The children there were also snotty and inconsiderate of others well being. Because of the poor experience we had at Long Valley Middle School, we relocated. Horrible School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

Long Valley Middle School is a fabulos school for anyone to attend. The staff, parents, and pta really provide a nice learning enviorment for the students. I'd recomend Long Valley Middle School and no other.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female83%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students85%
Female89%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
White87%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special education53%
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special education52%
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students92%
Female95%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education61%
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Hispanic82%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Special education45%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special education70%
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 9%
Hispanic 4% 22%
Black 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

51 West Mill Rd
Long Valley, NJ 07853
Phone: (908) 876-3434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Mary's School
Hackettstown, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT