Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison High School

Public | 9-12 | 795 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

Living in Madison and being able to attend this high school has been one of the best things to ever happen to me. Now that I am in college I have a newfound respect and admiration for the Madisn educational system. What is taught and how the school is handled is geared to give the student body the best chance of success in the future. Simply put, Madison High School sets you up for success. I may not have known this while I went there, but now, in college, I can see it clearly.


Posted September 23, 2013

First of all, Madison is an incredible town with so much to offer. If Norman Rockwell were still alive, he would be painting scenes all over town, especially the high school! What a wonderful group of teachers, administrators and staff! Students graduating from this high school have all of the tools they need to continue their educations. There is an incredible athletic program and great club activities for students, who are involved in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

5 Stars isn't enough. Our daughter obtained a place at Villa Walsh, Oak Knoll and MHS and chose MHS. We are thrilled with the quality of her education, the extracurricular activies available and the overall experience. The teaching is very high quality, teachers are dedicated and school leadership is committed to excellence. As an example, teachers will stay after school, or come in early morning prior to beginning of classes, to work with students who want more. That's dedication. While the property taxes in Madison are high, when you see what results from an educational standpoint you feel it is worth it. I'm sure that Villa and OKS are very fine schools, but I am of the opinion that the education on offer at MHS competes successfully with that offered at those schools - at a much lower cost! Keep up the search for excellence MHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

I go to madison now and i just moved here from a different state. if i may say the teachers and administration is really good and caring but the students are awful. If u are new they do not except you. They are rude and unwelcoming. i would not reccomend this school to anyone. I am switching schools now because i get really bullyed. Everyone is clicky and judgemental and all the kids dont like eachother and talk about everyone. Please dont let ur child go through what i am.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2012

I am a Madison High School graduate. I moved to another part of the country and was completely shocked when I found out that people that had graduated from the local high school could not read or write. I am thankful that I received the outstanding education that I received. I am and always will be proud to be a Dodger.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2009

This is our 1st year at the high school and I am pleasantly surprised. The teacher seem to take a real interest in their students and the guidance dept., administration and teachers communicate which is not always the case. The school is a good size nto too big but not too small. I hope the next 3 years are as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

A far cry from the Jr School, who completely ignored my daughters IEP. So far so good at MHS. My child requires special services and so far I am extremely pleased. The In class support teacher for LA already called to let me know how well things are going and to let me know she is available if needed. I also found my daughters IEP written on an index card in her planner for easy access and it also let me know that someone is paying attention. The Madison jr school could take some pointers form the Madison High School in the area of special services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

inflexible and incompetent administration. Generally unhelpfull at best. Spare the student spoil the Principal montra. Most teachers are quite good though
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

Many good teachers, and intensive academics...on the AP track, anyway. School does have a very 'townie' feel to it, though, especially at the lower levels of academics. I wouldn't recommend it to a transfer student, honestly.


Posted June 11, 2007

School has good academic program; has recently started offering 'Middle College' credits through Fairleigh Dickinson University. The music program is outstanding. Excellent music theater, jazz bands, band and orchestra, chorus, a'capella, guitar ensemble, show band, just to name a few. Sports: baseball, track, tennis, golf, basketball, football is what I can think of. Parent involvement is excellent. Some teachers are quite outstanding.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2005

Great school, people are really friendly discipline is greatly taken care of. Academics are great. Teacher are awasome and hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

Madison High School is one of the best if not the best public school in the state of NJ. Many parents prefer Madison over Delbarton, the private institution.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Special education89%
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special education78%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students52%
Femalen/a
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant52%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 52%
Hispanic 9% 22%
Asian 6% 9%
Black 3% 16%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Greg Robertson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

170 Ridgedale Avenue
Madison, NJ 07940
Phone: (973) 593-3117

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Newark Academy
Livingston, NJ



Hanover Park High School
East Hanover, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT