Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbia Sr High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
It has to! The academic standards are extremely high, the work is difficult. Most kids, even the brightest, fall down at some point and have had to learn to get up and keep going. This is encouraged.

Columbia Sr High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
This is a school where kids are taught to proceed with integrity and to work together. It is in the fiber of the community itself, so the school reflects that.


Columbia Sr High School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
My three kids graduated from CHS. Not only is it academically rigorous (my husband and I have ivy degrees, so we feel we can assess this pretty well) but it is also a place where all sorts of kids thrive: artists, filmmakers, robotics teams, journalists, math geeks, dancers, jazz musicians, athletes and on and on: all are the cool kids here. There is socioeconomic and racial diversity, and so these kids learn how to work with everyone. It has been instrumental in the success of our kids and their friends. It is an extraordinary place.

Columbia Sr High School 2

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
While there are many positive aspects to my son's experience at this school (2010 graduate), we made the decision to move out prior to our daughter starting her freshman year. We were paying very high taxes and for that expected an excellent school. If you ask the teachers themselves, they will tell you there are too many admins doing little to earn their keep. My daughter now attends Ridge in Basking Ridge and there is no comparison. She has rocketed to honors and raves about the quality of teachers. Leveling students is in my opinion a very bad idea. It's one thing to have an honors class but another to be ranking kids early on. Many kids need to be around better students in order to improve. Middle school/high school kids don't need to be publicly labeled in that way...they've already got enough pressure. It's sad to see the Maplewood S. Orange schools going downhill. There are lots of good things about the community, but seeing the contrast in schools made us realize our tax dollars were not well used. Now we pay less than a quarter of what we paid in Maplewood with a public school system that is ranked nationally. Columbia isn't even ranked in the state. Sad!

Columbia Sr High School 4

Posted October 21, 2012
- a student
This is a good school with tons of A.P class options and extracurricular activities. Inside the classrooms, I feel very safe and in a good learning environment. The hallways, however can be overwhelming at first, and I sometimes expect to see fights breaking out. If you get involved and stick with the right people, it is a great school. There are so many activities to get involved with: tutoring younger kids, sports, community service clubs, marching band, yearbook, improv, photography, etc. This school lets you try out many different things to see what you want to do in college and the rest of your life.


Columbia Sr High School 4

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
I have two sons who have graduated from CHS and a third who is completing his second year. I am an active parent and have always been very pleased with the academic and extra-curricular programs. Both of my older sons got accepted to the colleges of their choice and are progressing well and ready to leave their mark on the world. I haven't always agreed with everything decision made by school personnel, but have always been made to feel that I had a forum with which i could express my concern and even appeal a decision. CHS, unlike private schools, takes all students who walk in the door and provides them with the tools to be successful.

Columbia Sr High School 4

Posted October 09, 2011
- a parent
My son graduated from this school, completed college and is now working in a wonderful job. In addition to academics he grew because of the diverse environment. He is proud to have know so many people with so many race and/or religious foundations. He also learned more the love of knowledge and the desire to explore. Columbia High School has a lot to offer

Columbia Sr High School 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a community member
In 1967,68 and 69 it was a fabulous school. I am not familiar with its qualities now.


Columbia Sr High School 5

Posted June 16, 2010
- a parent
Full of opportunity, Columbia High School can provide an incredibly positive environment and atmosphere that allows talented and determined kids to grow. Rich with AP courses and a diverse array of extra-curricular activities, the school can provide a structure that sets students up for future success, if they are motivated self-starters. Students who do not get admitted to Honors, Advanced or AP classes may find themselves in challenging learning environments, but the school is very open to mobility paths (especially after parental involvement.) Students that are not eager learners be warned, the school structure, teachers and students are not welcoming of those that do not put forth consistent, rigorous effort. These students do in fact fall through the cracks and receive very little support and encouragement to succeed. At the end of the day, Columbia provides limitless opportunity for those students willing to capture it.

Columbia Sr High School 5

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
Columbia is a great school for anyone who wants a diverse, intense education, with a supportive arts and sports program.

Nearby schools

Columbia Sr High School
17 Parker Ave, Maplewood, NJ  07040
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (973) 762-5600
Last modified Columbia Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top