Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Maplewood, NJ

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seth Boyden Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
The Seth Boyden Demonstration School was established to meet the needs of a diverse student population reflecting the integrated communities of South Orange and Maplewood. Dedicated to a multiple intelligence approach to learning, (Howard Gardner's theory of different learning styles), the faculty strive to find learning modes that work best for each individual child and to build on their strengths. The school serves as a district-wide resource for staff development. The school attracts similarly-minded families who appreciate the diversity. Seth Boyden has an excellent art and music program. And the fifth graders put on a spring musical each year. The PTA is very strong and active.

Seth Boyden Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a community member
This school ranking is not reflective of the school. This school is exceptional and should be ranked 9.5 or 10. The leadership is awesome and it's shows in the staff as well.


Seth Boyden Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
Two of my three children already graduated from Seth Boyden. What a fantastic school. Very involved principal, great school community, very active PTA. My kids got a great start!

Seth Boyden Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Seth Boyden Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2007
- a parent
Seth Boyden is a terrific elementary school. My two children have thrived there. All of their teachers have been wonderful- both classroom and specials teachers. There is a very strong feeling of community at the school. Parents are welcome and really add to the environment. Parents run a fall and spring Garden Detectives program and winter recess clubs, with clubs, such as knitting, drawing, and legos. Teachers teach the curriculum through thematic units that get the children excited about learning. Class performances, which include acting, movement, and music are common. There is a wonderful school garden. Last year, my kindergartner did a unit on Peter Rabbit, where they planted and grew a Peter Rabbit Garden. During the monthlong activity, they studied language arts, science, and math. It ended with a wonderful Peter Rabbit Picnic on a beautiful June day.


Seth Boyden Elementary School 3

Posted May 02, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Seth Boyden Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2005
- a parent
My son completed the 1st grade at Seth Boyden under Mrs. Bates, and boy what an improvement! He really likes learning and he tries very hard at learning new things. He's always quoting Mrs. Bates on what she had told them in class. I wish she could be his teacher all the way to the 5th grade, but I know there are plenty of excellent teachers at Seth Boyden.

Seth Boyden Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2005
- a parent
The teachers are great and the principal is very involved with everyday life at school which was great to see. My daughter had mrs murphy's afternoon kindergarten class and what a blessing to us she was. She was so great with the kids and the all loved her so. They encourage family involvement with the school which makes it feel like a big family. I love this school! mrs brooks.


Seth Boyden Elementary School 4

Posted July 14, 2005
- a parent
Very good school evolving into excellent school. Multiple intelligence based learning. Very inclusive and supportive environment for students AND parents. Strong PTA. Receptive faculty. Great principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seth Boyden Elementary School
274 Boyden Ave, Maplewood, NJ  07040
(973) 378-5244
Last modified Seth Boyden Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Seth Boyden Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top