Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
112 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Collier High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
To everyone at Collier, I miss having my son there but am fighting to get him back. You showed him that he could succeed and finally have friends and be accepted.

Collier High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Love the entire staff...saw how they treated all the students....with respect, kindness and an open forum to address their needs


Collier High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
He was hardly ever overwhelmed by homework...and on the very rare occasions, the staff took time out of their day to help

Collier High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
My child, once shown the help and respect of the staff stepped up to every challenge given

Collier High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely...the staff and students all help each other by showing respect...something they did not receive in their districts


Collier High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
They learned how different yet the same. My son received an award for showing compassion toward a fellow student

Collier High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
My son learned that he and the other students had their own "issues". Collier taught acceptance and fairness to all

Collier High School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
My son loved going to Collier Middle School. Thrived...made honor roll. The staff was always there to help him in every way possible. Unfortunately, our school district did not want to pay for this anymore and placed him in a sub standard school. Its a fight to get him back in...but he will. Love it there!


Collier High School 2

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Very strange environment. Staff is awful. Administration is worse. We pulled our son after they kept recommending more medication but they would not address academic issues and inherent staff issues at the school. Something is not right at this place.

Collier High School 1

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
My son was offered admission to Collier. He is an 8th grade high functioning autism student with an aide. Collier doesn't have students with aides, but after meeting with us and my son's case manager, they offered him admission. Both Bob Szafranski, Director of Social Services and Cynthia D'Arcy, Assistant Excutive Director of Education, and Barb Raffel assured us my son could attend with a personal aide. They had him pick out classes. My son was so very happy and excited to make the transition to Collier. With an autism spectrum child, transitions are HARD, so this was amazing. Three days later, after finding out Collier had to hire his aide, Mr. Szafranski, called to refuse his admission. My son didn't speak for two days. I don't know how a special ed facility can respond to at risk kids in such a manner and I remain appalled. My son asked me to call Mr. Szafranski to ask if he could attend without an aide, offering to take classes in the summer in typing so he could do his own notetaking. I called. My call was not returned. It's a beautiful place, Collier, but we were treated atrociously.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Collier High School
Po Box 300, Marlboro Township, NJ  07765
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (732) 946-4771
Last modified Collier High School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top