Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Marlboro Township, NJ
Students enrolled: 94

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shalom Torah Academy 1

Posted November 26, 2012
- a parent
This school is nothing but a MAJOR disappointment. All they care about is a jewish education (which is given poorly) and no little attention is given to secular studies. Most of the teachers at this school are very young "kids" fresh out of high school with no teaching experience or degree. What I find the most unbelievable is the fact that in some subjects different grades are mixed together because of the lack of staff and classrooms.In addition, the school lunches given are beyond AWFUL. The "chefs" are inexperienced and have no knowledge on decent cooking. All in all, i would say that this is a terrible school with horrible teachers and education quality. Never send your child here.

Shalom Torah Academy 5

Posted March 20, 2012
- a parent
The school has improved ten fold. The new staff and administration is amazing. The children are happy and learning, not just about their Jewish heritage, not just about good morals and values, but Math, English, Science, Computers and an array of important subjects with unbelievable teachers who care about their students. It's a great alternative to Public school which is ok but does not provide anything in the way of jewish identity and learning and frankly does not share our values. The extra services the school provides and small class sizes are a great advantage,. Check it out!


Shalom Torah Academy 1

Posted July 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Shalom Torah Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
Shalom Torah is full of the most caring people I have ever met. From Rabbi Lappa to Risa Gold. They are there to help always. The school is excellent, the teachers are caring with a nice balance of Judaic studies and Secular studies. The school outreaches to so many and offers a wonderful new world to those who have never experienced their Jewish heritage. The perfect school!! We are always thankful to them.

Shalom Torah Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
Our family came to this school with very little background in Jewish life. All the staff and teachers welcomed us as part of thier family. I don't know where we would be now without this remarkable group of caring people. This school has a purpose and is fulfilling a very important roll in many of our lives. B'H


Shalom Torah Academy 1

Posted May 12, 2008
- a student
As a student at Shalom Torah Academy, I must say, the education is poor. In the Secular Studies, it seems pretty good, despite the unorganized scheduale. However, if you were going to send your child to a school with a far more advanced Judaic Studies program, this school isn't the one. The level of learning is very low compared to schools in lakewood, deal, etc. Especially if you were going to send them to a jewish highschool like Bruriah, Ilan, Beis Rina, etc. Every year, the class has a new teacher for a different subject. They keep rotating the teachers jobs as if it was a game. In 6th Grade, you could be a teacher for math. Next thing you know, you are teaching 1st Grade for the next year. An unorganized, unappreciative, disfunctional school is what I would call it. Not to mention some of the bad teachers.

Shalom Torah Academy 1

Posted May 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Shalom Torah Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Shalom Torah Academy 2

Posted March 07, 2008
- a student
Shalom Torah Academy has been my school for several years now. As honest as I can be, I don't think it is very fair when parents write up a review sounding as if they know what they are talking about. As a student, I have witnessed that when parents come to school i.e Parents Day, it is much different than a normal day. The school solely bases its education on Judaic studies as opposed to a secular studies. For example, if there is an assembly that takes place, it is almost always during a Secular Study period. Too many times have English classes been cancelled as opposed to Judaic classes. The lunches here at STA, are awful. We have found mold in cream cheese several times and occasionally our food smells like cigarettes. Teachers can be extremely lazy sometimes when it comes to giving HW and class work.

Shalom Torah Academy 4

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
I would like to respond to the parent who in their review wrote, 'All this school cares about is the Jewish education, which will not get them through life'. If you are not interested in a Jewish Education as a foundation for the future, then save your money and send your child to public school. Additionally, if you do not think that a Jewish education will help them in life then you obviously did not receive a Jewish education yourself. I received a Jewish education and feel that it helped me in life morally, educationally and as a caring human being. We are very happy with the school both as a Jewish school and as an academic institution.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shalom Torah Academy
70 Amboy Road, Marlboro Township, NJ  07751
(732) 536-0911
Last modified Shalom Torah Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Shalom Torah Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top