Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frances Demasi Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 21 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

Academically, I would say this school is slightly above average. They have a lot of extracurricular activities for the students, which is important. Unfortunately, due to the size of the school, they have lost control. Bratty rich kids rule the hallways with obnoxious attitudes. Having had two children and three nieces and nephews pass through this school, my assessment is well founded. The staff is completely oblivious to this problem and the administrators are more interested in defending the fact that they have all mandated prevention programs in place than dealing with the issue. So, be prepared to deal with the offending child's parents directly or watch your child suffer at the hands of the bratty elite with their $200 sneakers. It's unfortunate, but I would have to say that due to the size of the school and the growth of the town, I would not recommend this school. All of the kids in my family survived without major problems and got a decent education, but there is far too much elitism, social bullying and cliquishness tolerated by the schools administration for me to recommend this school today. I'm glad all the children in my family are finally out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2014

This school is excellent and I have been teaching here for about 20 years. It has really been a journey, seeing all these familiar faces growing up
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 24, 2012

My grandson will be starting 6th grade this year. He was assigned to Green House yet all of his friends are assigned to Red. He is a very sensitive boy, not into sports and was bullied last year. The bully is the ONLY person he knows in his class. It took him 4 years to bond with the 3 friends that he does have and florished this year because he finally felt like he belonged to the group. Now he was ripped away from them and thrown into a situation which I hope and pray will work out. No one that my daughter talked to about a switch, seems to care. There are too many reasons to list here of why this should not happen. He is going to a new school and structure which is hard enough, but to be alone only magnifies the stress. I will reserve my rating for now, but rest assured, I will be back,


Posted February 17, 2012

I attended DeMasi 6th, 7th, and 8th grade and was in green hall. I have had a problem with most of the teachers i've had. My 8th grade social studies teacher was the worst. He constantly embarassed me in front of the class and threatened me with detentions when i hadn't done anything to earn one. He made another student pick up trash off his floor on his hands and knees as punishment. His grading was uncalled for and wrong too, giving grades for something that was never included in the rubric or told to us. He was basically making up grades and requirements off of the top of his mind. His name calling and harassment continued until my father and I met with the principal to address the problem and she just defended him saying he can give me any grade he wants and that i was only after an "a", which was not true at all. Not to mention the snake advoided the meeting and never showed up. So my dad told her that i was to be moved out of his class immediately and the decision was made to have me go to red hall for social studies which i loved.


Posted January 11, 2012

My third child is currently enrolled in. Staff and Teachers are excellent. They prepare the kids for high school. Warm, friendly atmosphere. Offer many ways for kids to find a club to belong and teach the kids respect by doing community service projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

It's unfortunate that this school district stills employs some who do not deserve to teach. These few bad apples are neither motivated nor care about children's feelings. A teacher for 7th grade Red Reading and Writing is a classic example. She picks her handful number of students as favorites in the beginning of the year and if you're not on that list, she is just mean and cold. She is often found yelling, even giving out lower grades to the students she doesn't like. Even the kids on her favorite list admit she can be mean to the other kids. I've talked to many of the parents of current and former students who expressed their dissatisfaction with this teacher. Many have wrote complaints about her, but little was done - thanks to their union and tenure. As a taxpayer of this township, I am baffled as to why the school district fails to protect our children from mistreatment...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

the staff really helps the kids and they offer a lot of clubs so they interact with other ones. i am really happy with the school and what it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

I've never seen a better school. Everything from the layout to the teacher involvement with the kids. Just fantastic. The teachers are very into seeing the children succeed in a safe enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

The first time I went in for a consolation for my Grandaughter .I was greated with pleasent faces They were very helpful to me . Than I took cupcakes in for the other classes to celabreat my Grandaughters 13 birthday Treated as I wasen't there Asked my Grandaughter what she wanted to do with her cupcakes ? I tried to interduce myself But was treated like I wasent there extreamly cold ! Than as I left I said good morning to a teacher as I was leaving she just walked passed me With out a word Other than the cold reception .My Greandaughter is doing extreamly well in Demass School


Posted February 9, 2008

Great Teachers and learning atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students74%
Female80%
Male67%
Black55%
Asian89%
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education28%
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant74%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students81%
Female80%
Male83%
Black60%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
General education86%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students75%
Female82%
Male67%
Black71%
Asian79%
Hispanic67%
White74%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education31%
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant75%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students66%
Female68%
Male64%
Black71%
Asian77%
Hispanic53%
White65%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
General education74%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant66%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black78%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education82%
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students74%
Female72%
Male76%
Black33%
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education52%
General education79%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant74%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
Black78%
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education86%
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 9%
Black 5% 16%
Hispanic 4% 22%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

199 Evesboro Medford Rd
Marlton, NJ 08053
Phone: (856) 988-0777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Center For Education
Evesham Township, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT