Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Martinsville, NJ

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Pingry School 5

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
Coming from a public school background in Essex County, I can tell you first hand my daughter was not prepared for high level academics freshman year at Pingry. An "A" in public school is truly a "C+" at Pingry due to the quality of the content of each course. The school has a caring and experienced faculty. All the students at Pingry are all going in an upward direction. There are no real distractions from being the best student you can be. The student body environment underlying focus is about achieving and "doing well". Every student has a special quality which is fostered and developed. There is no class rank at Pingry primarily due to the fact that EVERY student is an "honor" student. Athletics are also fostered and there are MANY student athletes. I only wish I had sent my daughter to Pingry at the 6th grade middle school entry. It's tough to play "catch up" but still worth the journey. Your child will not "fall through the cracks" at Pingry. GREAT SCHOOL.

The Pingry School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
THis school reminds me of Hogwarts....so cool. But in a exciting sort of way. Love this school!!


The Pingry School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
At the high school level, Pingry provides an excellent combination of strong academics, a supportive environment, excellent faculty and varied extracurriculars. The students are motivated high achievers and expectations are set accordingly, but the school has put in place a strong support system, including daily conference periods during which students are encouraged to meet with teachers one-to-one. While most students participate in athletics and many achieve in their sport at a high level, a wide range of extracurriculars and talents are valued by the community; it's not a sports-above-everything environment. While many students come from extremely affluent families, the school deserves credit for its efforts to create a diverse student body.

The Pingry School 5

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
Overall a great school. Dedicated teachers and staff, and wonderful student body. As many other private schools, students tend to come from wealthy, upper-middle income families. Excellent liberal arts curriculum. The school's strength is primarily in humanities, in comparison, its math and science is not as strong, however.

The Pingry School 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a teacher
I am a faculty member at Pingry. I am amazed at the student motivation and desire to learn. I find it a wonderful environment in which to teach and I feel lucky to be part of this wonderful community of learners and people continuing to better themselves (students and faculty). I also want to add that the school is motivated to create a more diverse and understanding environment through workshops, assemblies, and important group discussion. Overall, from my end, a fantastic place!!


The Pingry School 5

Posted May 29, 2011
- a parent
My son went to school here after struggling at public school (because of the kids he was friends with, for the most part). He was very bright, but lacked motivation. There was no way for him not to be motivated at Pingry. The faculty are intelligent, dedicated, and, for the most part, entertaining in class. The class sizes are small, and the teachers get to know every one of their students. Because of the relatively small enrollment, nearly every student in the school is involved in sports and/or music. And the emphasis on honor and respect is unflagging. You could not find a better school--as with most schools, there will always be hurdles to overcome for every student and family, but there are very few here.

The Pingry School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

The Pingry School 5

Posted June 10, 2007
- a student
Great academic program. The teacher and student involvement are very good. You will work with kids your level (if you make the admission).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Pingry School
P.O. Box 366 Martinsville Rd, Martinsville, NJ  08836
(908) 647-5555
Last modified The Pingry School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Pingry School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top