Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Middletown - South High School 4

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
This school has a strong academic program if you get into the honors program. If you do not, the experience will be less enlightening.

Middletown - South High School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a student
This school is great. There is a great sense of community and many of the students are accepting of everyone. It isn't your typical clique-y high school atmosphere. Having gone to other high schools as well where the administration focused on controlling the students with fear, South worked differently where everyone worked off of respect. There is great school spirit and it makes for a great high school experience. They offer a great range of classes, enabling the students to excel to their full potential and go on to great colleges. I could not be more thrilled that I graduated from Middletown South.


Middletown - South High School 1

Posted October 25, 2011
- a community member
According to others, Middletown High School South isn't a good school at all. The discipline is said to be very poor. During 'Respect' Week, students got into fights all week long in the hallways. The principal had to grab one of the students and one got injured very badly. This school isn't going to change, and I would personally chose a different high school instead of this excuse for a school

Middletown - South High School 2

Posted October 01, 2009
- a student
Everything is football, football, football. Sorts =/= academics, stop putting sports first. All of the money is funneled into sports and little is left for other things like academic clubs and tools for learning.

Middletown - South High School 4

Posted February 26, 2008
- a parent
As a former student student, I was very disappointed with the Math Curriculum. Compared to other students in college, I felt at a disadvantage. Otherwise Middletown South prepared me for college and the business world.


Middletown - South High School 4

Posted December 30, 2007
- a student
When I entered this school thinking I would coast through, like I did in Middle school. The teachers are reall y great, and I've learned so much without even knowing it. I wish my lunch was a little longer, and I wish I could go to the bathroom between periods. Overall I think this school is realy great.

Middletown - South High School 4

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
There is too much focus on the football but certainly it does not dictate how 'all' the students are treated. Two of my children have graduated from South and gone on to good colleges and well prepared. Every school has its problems. If you want drugs you can get them anywhere, hopefully the child is strong enough to not get involved. There is a drug testing program in place to try to deter students from getting involved but you can't test students whose parents refuse to agree to have them tested. All students participating in school activities or parking there must sign off and be in the random testing program, so efforts are being made by the district. There are indeed many 'non-hard working' students there but just look at where many others are attending colleges and you'll see hard working numbers!

Middletown - South High School 3

Posted July 16, 2007
- a student
The school is full of non-hard working student. There is a large drug problem. School is very cliquish. Everything is based around football which takes away from every other aspect of the school. If you don't play football, you aren't important.


Middletown - South High School 4

Posted May 19, 2006
- a student
The school itself is rather excellent. However, there is a bit of a drug problem, with the help of the parents. The school gets everything, though, so itis in excellent condition.

Middletown - South High School 5

Posted February 24, 2006
- a student
This is a wonderful school with many programs for the students. Teachers are warm and truly interested in their students - they go above and beyond to help their students succeed! I loved this school!

Nearby schools

Middletown - South High School
900 Nut Swamp Rd, Middletown, NJ  07748
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (732) 706-6111
Last modified Middletown - South High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top