Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Middletown, NJ
Students enrolled: 1,432

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Middletown - South High School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a student
This school is great. There is a great sense of community and many of the students are accepting of everyone. It isn't your typical clique-y high school atmosphere. Having gone to other high schools as well where the administration focused on controlling the students with fear, South worked differently where everyone worked off of respect. There is great school spirit and it makes for a great high school experience. They offer a great range of classes, enabling the students to excel to their full potential and go on to great colleges. I could not be more thrilled that I graduated from Middletown South.

Middletown - South High School 1

Posted October 25, 2011
- a community member
According to others, Middletown High School South isn't a good school at all. The discipline is said to be very poor. During 'Respect' Week, students got into fights all week long in the hallways. The principal had to grab one of the students and one got injured very badly. This school isn't going to change, and I would personally chose a different high school instead of this excuse for a school


Middletown - South High School 2

Posted October 01, 2009
- a student
Everything is football, football, football. Sorts =/= academics, stop putting sports first. All of the money is funneled into sports and little is left for other things like academic clubs and tools for learning.

Middletown - South High School 2

Posted May 31, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Middletown - South High School 1

Posted March 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Middletown - South High School 4

Posted February 26, 2008
- a parent
As a former student student, I was very disappointed with the Math Curriculum. Compared to other students in college, I felt at a disadvantage. Otherwise Middletown South prepared me for college and the business world.

Middletown - South High School 2

Posted February 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Middletown - South High School 4

Posted December 30, 2007
- a student
When I entered this school thinking I would coast through, like I did in Middle school. The teachers are reall y great, and I've learned so much without even knowing it. I wish my lunch was a little longer, and I wish I could go to the bathroom between periods. Overall I think this school is realy great.


Middletown - South High School 4

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
There is too much focus on the football but certainly it does not dictate how 'all' the students are treated. Two of my children have graduated from South and gone on to good colleges and well prepared. Every school has its problems. If you want drugs you can get them anywhere, hopefully the child is strong enough to not get involved. There is a drug testing program in place to try to deter students from getting involved but you can't test students whose parents refuse to agree to have them tested. All students participating in school activities or parking there must sign off and be in the random testing program, so efforts are being made by the district. There are indeed many 'non-hard working' students there but just look at where many others are attending colleges and you'll see hard working numbers!

Middletown - South High School 3

Posted July 16, 2007
- a student
The school is full of non-hard working student. There is a large drug problem. School is very cliquish. Everything is based around football which takes away from every other aspect of the school. If you don't play football, you aren't important.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Middletown - South High School
900 Nut Swamp Road, Middletown, NJ  07748
(732) 706-6111
Last modified Middletown - South High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Middletown - South High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top