Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christian Brothers Academy

Private | 9-12 | 955 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Middletown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $500,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2013

Chirstian Brothers Academy is more than just a place for freshly minted middle school grads to continue the next four years of education. It is an institution which provides the impetus for young men to truly grow into hardworking and upstanding individuals. CBA exscels above the rest, because it provides a challenging enviroment full of dedicated teachers and admits only motivated students who have proven they have what it takes. It is a unique school with a strong commitment to academic achievement, athletic ability and personal growth. The success of its' alumni, dating back over 50 years is a testament to what sets it apart from public schools and private schools alike. Make no mistake, four years at CBA is no walk in the park. As an incoming Freshman you are tested on summer reading, and you will take part in the Freshman run, a class wide tradition truly unique to the school. You will be challenged with honors & AP courses, and motivated to work harder than you have before. It would be wrong to forget the wonderful campus that CBA is based on. With nearly 153 acres, the school provides ample space for all extracurriculur activites and athletic events.


Posted June 19, 2013

I attended CBA for four years while living in Eatontown and graduated in 1984. The current principal, Mr. Santanello, was 1 of 2 Vice-Principals at that time. My freshman year was quite an adjustment from my 8th Grade at a Catholic School due to the significant increase in homework. My sophomore and junior years were also quite academically challenging. My senior year was noticeably easier but this is probably the case with most high schools. I highly recommend CBA. My only concern in retrospect was I thought the school could have done more to help me develop social skills. When I began my freshman year, I had lived in three different towns the three previous years. My parents for some reason sought help from our local public school system after school hours to address this issue. I am not sure help was available at that time from CBA. If your child is well set socially given this is an all-boys school, I can't think of a better place in central NJ than CBA. One Santanello story: I once was removed by him from homeroom after running into the classroom to beat the bell. Only one foot beat the bell and he held me accountable. I have rarely been late for anything since.


Posted November 21, 2012

I attended this school in 1967. I was beaten and slapped around by Brother Paul in Latin class almost daily as were other students. If I was called on in class and didn't know the answer I was slapped punched or pushed. Other Brothers also did this but not like Brother Paul. I had to transfer to Asbury Park H.S. but it affected me. When I was called upon to read in class I would get so nervous that I couldn't speak. That followed through college at Monmouth and even into Highway Patrol school in Fla. No one should go through what I went through.


Posted September 20, 2012

If you have a son....you MUST send him to CBA! It is the best school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

I graduated from Christina Brothers Academy in 2005. In my opinion, this high school prepared me for college in a way I could not have imagined. There is no doubt that the education I received while attending CBA was crucial to my success at Loyola College in addition to my professional career. I would strongly recommend this school to anyone looking at high schools in the Central New Jersey area.


Posted June 6, 2012

Best school academically and athletically in New Jersey. Teachers are very passionate about what they do and care about each and every student. A great 4 years at this college prep school. It significantly helped me prepare for life and to get into the college I attended.


Posted February 11, 2010

Absolutely the bst high school in the area. The values that are instilled here are unmatched.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

This school, being my first choice, is a huge difference from a co-ed and public grammar school. However, I feel that it will, inevitably, help me get into any college, more so than any public school I could have gone to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2008

I graduated from this school in 2002, and when I got to college, I felt completely prepared for the coursework, and excelled in my work. I consider my education at CBA to have been extremely valuable in my personal development.


Posted October 26, 2006

This is easily the best school in the area. Many, many students get into great colleges. It has a reputation for being one of the toughest high schools in the country.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2006

Great School. Provides an excellent education with great Christian approach.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2005

Had 1 graduate and went to Johns Hopkins. 2 in school now. Superb academic, prep excellent for college, teachers cover more academically than public schools. All involved in 1 of the top sports programs, numerous clubs, beautiful theatre, top education for the $. Safe, no discipline problems to deal with, highly motivated students, parents do alot to fund raise, get involved. Teachers are outstanding and motivate their students. We travel 30 miles to attend. Sons made long lasting freindships and say they LOVE the school, don't mind no girls, actually prefer since the classroom atmosphere is better without. We're not Catholic, but appreciate and respect the moral and ethical teachings the teachers and brothers have to offer. College selection/application support/process by guidance is outstanding, couldn't do without them. Graduation ceremony most beautiful I ever attended, very emotional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2004

Coming from a public school background I was unaware at how much better a private, all boys, parochial school could be. It is extra-ordinary. It is a College Prep school. By the time you are a Junior you are writing college papers and doing college level research. As a parent I could not have asked fro more for my son. Plus the tuition is significantly lower than other 'Big' name schools like Peddie and DelBarton. But I defy them to give a better education. CBA is the gold standard for education. It should be used as a model for improving the public education system
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

You will not find a better school than CBA. Great staff, students, and environment. Incredible sports and extracurricular programs. Could not have been more prepared for college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

Best college prep school in Monmouth county. Great teachers and administration. Athletic programs are superlative. Great value for the $. Makes outstanding young men out of boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The best academic and athletic school in the county by far.


Posted August 22, 2003

i love this school. The best investment we have ever made. The courses prepare the students for college. Emphasis on homework and being prepared for class. In addition the is a strict code of conduct. The extracurricular activities are excellent and the sports program is top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 9%
Hispanic 3% 22%
Black 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Trenton
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

850 Newman Springs Road
Middletown, NJ 07738
Phone: (732) 747-1959

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oakwood School
Tinton Falls, NJ


The Atlantic School
Tinton Falls, NJ



Monmouth Reg High School
Tinton Falls, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT