Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Lourdes School

Private | PK-8 | 173 students

 
 

Living in Milltown

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $302,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2013

This school is closing at the end of the '13 school year and it makes me so sad to have to send my children to a different school next year. We will miss everyone at OLOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

My daughter attends pre-k 3 at OLOL. I could not be happier with the teacher or curriculum. I know my daughter is safe, well cared for and being taught things I wouldn't expect a three year old to know. This is all done through fun! I am very pleased with OLOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The staff truly CARE about the kids, the Sisters offered to stay with my child after school if I'm late (though after-care is available); the parents develop friendships with other parents, we all volunteer to raise funds and donate our time to give the children the best possible environment to learn and blossom in!! They offer many programs to help the children discover and develop their God-given talents and offer ways to help the parents make the activities affordable! This school is a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

Great School. Great Staff. Wonderful Principal. Teachers stimulate academic curiosity. This school is an equal opportunity school. Any one can attend, regardless of race or creed. It fosters gentle and knowledgeable young adults upon completion of eighth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

Within the last year and half, there has been a revitalized vision of the School led by dedicated parents, parishioners, teachers and pastor. The school has maintained its family atmosphere, but also sought to improve the School's facility, curriculum and opportunities. Our Lady of Lourdes is striving to meet the changing needs of its students and their families, including the purchase of a new wireless computer system. My wife and I have no questions about sending our children to Our Lady of Lourdes. We truly believe that the 'what's old is new' vision of the School, Shaping Our Future One Child at a Time, makes Our Lady of Lourdes special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

My child attended Our Lady of Lourdes school for many years. Over the years the level of education continued to slide downward. The school was in danger of closing last year. The parents have made great strides to keep it open.. it's really family atmosphere. My child needed to be tutored through out the first year at the new school as he was behind the other students in his grade. My child was on high honor roll continuously at Our Lady of Lourdes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

There is a family environment at this school. Teachers are extremely dedicated to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

I am very happy with the education provided for my son. He is in kindergarden and is learning the basics as well as discipline, self control and sharing with others. He is also learning more about God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

The school is moving toward the tecnological future by adding the latest computers and software. OLOL School realizes the importance of computer skills for our children and is making every effort to prepare their students for the future. They are also developing a 'first class' website which will include in depth information on Admissions, Faculty, Activities, and much more. To involve the OLOL School Community the website includes a Message Board, Chat Room, and email addresses for all faculty, students, and parents. I couldn't be happier with the direction the school is heading. The school's web address is www.olols.org
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 52%
Hispanic 21% 20%
Asian 14% 8%
Black 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Metuchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

44 Cleveland Ave
Milltown, NJ 08850
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 828-1951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Linwood Middle School
North Brunswick, NJ



Parsons Elementary School
North Brunswick, NJ


New Brunswick Middle School
New Brunswick, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT