Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Montclair, NJ
Students enrolled: 1,946
 

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montclair High School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
Great school system ,has everything you need that can be offered that other public schools don't offer.....

Montclair High School 4

Posted February 23, 2014
- a community member
i am really sorry for the bad review, that review was for Montclair High school CA. i apologize.


Montclair High School 2

Posted February 06, 2014
- a community member
Counselors/ Staffs are great. Very accomodating and they would really help you out. I also like the teachers.. but... STUDENTS ARE MEAN!!! Some students are nice but MOST students are rude, They always talk back to their teachers, get mad for having their phone taken. They need to be disciplined. And you would always see couples kissing... Everywhere, in every corner, every seat during lunch. Well not only during lunch. Every morning, during breaks. all the time.

Montclair High School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are awesome! They're very great, they would help you out with your concerns. Students here are very studious with their kissing not with their lessons. Very poor with accomodating new students,

Montclair High School 3

Posted January 18, 2014
- a teacher
Shout out to dem MonaVally Bopssss! Shout out to dem MonaVally Thotzzz! Shout to dem Monavaly bops dtf and taking dem backshots!


Montclair High School 2

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are poor, overall and the administration stuck in the past or powerless to move forward. The school teaching approach hasn't changed since the 70's...and they compensate for modern teaching by throwing hours and hours of homework at the high honors kids, often on holidays and definitely over school break. It's a travesty to see how they set kids up to fail....no modern technology, outdated teaching, no guidance counseling to speak of, mounds of homework, inappropriate scheduling. And did I mention 0 period? So that after your kid has to stay up till 1:00 a.m. Just to get homework done, they have to be in at 7:00 a.m. Because the school can't figure out how to schedule. Oh yes....and because there are no standards between classes, classes that should be consistently taught (like HH English) are taught completely differently, depending on the teacher. It's an embarrassment. I can't wait for the core standards to kick in, but until they do...I would NOT send your kid here unless they are traditional learners, who are completely focused and organized, and who can compensate for poor teaching by having the ability to teach themselves. And even then, it's a risk.

Montclair High School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a student
Poeple are always talking badly about my school, but the truth is, it isn't the schoo, it is the students. It doesn't matter what school you go to, if you do not try, then you will not succeed. If you try and do well at Montclair High, and you go for help after school, and you attempt to understand what is going on around you, you will shine your brightest. But it all depends on who you are, and how badly you want to do well.

Montclair High School 5

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
The students that are academically ambitious are very fortunate, as the environment is intellectually challenging and the quality of the AP teaching and resulting score performance exceptional. I can't speak to how well the school addresses the needs of students that are less interested in competitive colleges, but they do seem generally pretty strict about daily homework assignments and the like.


Montclair High School 1

Posted October 22, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Montclair High School 0
no rating

Posted October 19, 2009
- a student
I love my school because of the support. Yes, I am sure not everyone does well, but so far all the teacher's I have or had have given me everything I needed, allowing me to feel proud of my work

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montclair High School
100 Chestnut St, Montclair, NJ  07042
(973) 509-4100
Last modified Montclair High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Montclair High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top