Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Montclair, NJ

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edgemont Elementary School 4

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
As with all schools in town, the class sizes are too big. However, most of the teachers have a lot of heart, energy, are committed, and work tirelessly to reach children at a multitude of levels. With the new principal, there's been a sea change, and this school is benefitting greatly. She's embracing Montessori, listening to parental input, and creating a mentorship program among faculty. Edgemont is teaching our kids to be global citizens and critical thinkers.

Edgemont Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2012
- a parent
Have sent two of my children to Edgemont, the only public Montessori School in the State, and have not been disappointed. All teachers are Montessori trained. The new principal, Cheryl Hopper, is responsive, energetic, positive, and interested in involving the local teacher's college in the mix and has the connections to do it. The parents run an excellent after school enrichment program that will introduce your child to topics that are fantastic: art of the medieval ages, dance, musical theatre, yoga, art, rocketry, fencing and the list goes on.... Beautiful Edgemont Park offers its grounds for regular use, including the brand new, all-children's playground. One known as the best kept secret in town, not so sure it'll stay that way, especially with Hopper at the helm.


Edgemont Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
My two young daughters attend Edgemont. The environment has been wonderful for them, and we've had some great teachers. All of the teachers have additional Montessori training and really believe in what they are doing. There is a lot of parental involvement too.

Edgemont Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
I have two children currently at Edgemont, and one older child who was enrolled at Edgemont and is now at Montclair High. I am very happy at Edgemont, the only PUBLIC MONTESSORI school in NJ!! It is a wonderful family-like environment, with great Montessori- trained teachers. I would recommend it highly to any family new to Montclair.

Edgemont Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2009
- a parent
We moved to Montclair to send our children to this very unique PUBLIC Montessori school. All three of my children have now graduated. Although many parents have problems with the principal, I feel that she is an excellent administrator and has served the school extremely well. My children had mostly excellent, well-trained Montessori teachers throughout their years there. There is an active PTA (I was president for a year) and, with the exception of typical political and personality problems, they do a fabulous job. There is a real sense of family at this school. I cannot recommend it highly enough.


Edgemont Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
We sent our daughter Chantal here. A very good school. I've helped bring up 10 children and grandchildren in the UK and US. No school was better than this, and some (very expensive ones) no nearly as good

Edgemont Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edgemont Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2007
- a parent
great school. experienced teachers, child-centered environment with great academic outcomes. small school but with excellent extracurricular programs and good parent involvement.


Edgemont Elementary School 3

Posted March 27, 2006
- a parent
Beautiful grounds. Nice small, nurturing environment. Montessori Lite. Well trained Montessori teachers, but Principal is not trained and does not really 'get' Montessori, so not nearly as much done as is possible. Very diverse and interesting family community. Amazing parent involvment providing lots of extra programs. Art, music, gym 2x per week. My kids have been happy there, but politics with principal are frustrating.

Edgemont Elementary School 1

Posted August 07, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edgemont Elementary School
20 Edgemont Rd, Montclair, NJ  07042
(201) 509-4162
Last modified Edgemont Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edgemont Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top