Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glenfield Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 17 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

This school is terrific. THe teachers are reliable. And one stand out teacher is Mr.Pruksarnukul. The gym teachers Mrs. Penn Cowan and Mrs Shannon are great in a very very very very very very good way. You should go here. I would marry this school if i was allowed to.


Posted May 13, 2010

The atmosphere of my school is very nice and the grades of the school are above average.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

Glenfield is a great school for kids who are into arts and all that jazz. (lol) But Glenfield is also good for smarties because they have lots of great programs that anyone can apply to. The teachers are 100% great but some are 100% EVIL. thanx to me you will know if you want to go to this school. yes i am a student there but i think that glenfield is the best school in town even though it is in a bad neighborhood. Dr. Anemone is a cool principal and handles everything chill. if he didnt we would have the police in and out all the time! yes there are kids that are mean but you have to be strong to survive in this school. i hope you got what you asked for in this review!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2010

Glenfield is not as great a school as everyone thinks. It's in a bad neighborhood and the kids are really mean. If you aren't immediately accepted into a clique then your considered a 'loser' for the rest of your time there and long afterwards. The teachers are usually nice. In every 'house' there are one or two weird teachers. Don't be fooled by the town, Glenfield is not a school I would recommend to smarter students like myself/
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2009

Glenfield is a pretty good school... if you end up in a good house. Some may want an open house, with their basics all connected, or some may want a closed house, with rooms seperated. But that doesn't matter because you get what you get and you probably won't be able to switch houses. Glenfield lists plenty of interesting classes on their course catalog sheets, but when the signup sheets over a lot less. On the slim chance that they offer a cool class from their catalog, like CI History of Rock, there's a slim chance that you'll get into that class. Especially if your principal made you wait until the end of the summer to know if you could skip a grade or not, so he could see your NJ ask scores and all the good classes were full before you could sign up for them. I know from experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2009

I go to this school and I believe it's the best!!!! If your kid enjoys drawing, ceramics, and anything arts, this is the best place. If your child enjoys acting, come here. If your child sings or dance, come here!!!! There are computer classes too! You can make movies and design clothes and cook at Glendfield Middle School. It is very diversed and cultural. I do everything! Come here! We also offer after-school care, after-school activities, and sports. We have our own mascot, the Cougar, we have our own track, football, and basketball team. Our colors are red and white. We have a cheerleading team too!!!! So make the right decision! Let's go Cougars!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

Glenfield is a very good school! I have two children in school here and have been very satisfied. The instrument teacher is excellent as are the choir and acting teacher. The house system allows teachers to really know the strengths and weaknesses of the students, as the teachers remain with the students all three years. I have been pleased with the academic standard. The principal is very responsive and has held the students to excellent standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

point blank. this is an arts school. if you want to be a modern dancer or soul singer, come to my school, glenfield. but the academics are weak. students spend more time in dance class than in math class. this is good for me, considering i am a dance major here, but it might be bad news for parents who want their kids to be academically chellenged.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2007

It's a VERY, VERY, VERY good school. The principal is great, and the vice principal too..I LOVE IT THERE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

I have just started at Glenfield and I have already realized what a wonderful place it is. The open houses which many say are distracting sometimes can be helpful to help realize what will go on in the other classes for that day. Most of the times the open houses are quiet even though we are in open space. Although we have the same teachers for three years in a row, I love all my teachers and I'd rather stay with them for three years than have to get used to new teachers next year. I LOVE Glenfield and I would reccomend it to anybody
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2006

This is a pretty well-rounded school in their curriculum and the programs offered. The only problem I have is that students are put into a 'house' which consists of the same teachers for the 3 years. So if your child has difficulties with any one of them, they have no choice but to suffer with that same teacher for 3 years. They also have some houses that are open areas, not a room. So it makes it tough to concentrate hearing the other lessons going on in the other classrooms. My child gets easily distracted and despite knowing this from the beginning, they refuse to change to a closed house.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

It's a decent school. They could be more organized, considering there are so many hands in the pot. They currently have an interim principal who is clueless. The new principal will start in July. He is coming from Hillside Elementary in Montclair. Hopefully, help them to run more efficiently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

As a parent of a Glenfield Middle School student I must say that the quality of the academic programs is wonderful. They offer the students an array of art, dance, music and acting programs, along with the core curriculum, which enhances each student's academic profile. They also have a very strong PTA with excellent parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

A good experience at Glenfield, although not difficult to find, requires somewhat of a search. Students are grouped into 'house', a group of 4 teachers--2 in the case of the 'half house' program--with whom they stay with for all three years. It is obvious to me that the teachers in the houses are spread evenly based on their ability and reputation. However, like a cake, sometimes icing is spread extra thick in places and barely gets to the cake at all in others. In other words, if you get great teachers, then you have them for good all three years. However, if you are stuck with anyone who is not a great instructor, once again, your with them all three years. One of the best aspect of the school is the arts. Music, drama, dance and fine arts are taught and represented very well. In conclusion, I'd recomend Glenfield to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students79%
Female79%
Male79%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Special education34%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education46%
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black58%
Asian93%
Hispanic88%
White97%
Other ethnicity100%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special education48%
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students79%
Female77%
Male82%
Black52%
Asian93%
Hispanic53%
White94%
Other ethnicity92%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Special education39%
General education85%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant79%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students91%
Female96%
Male86%
Black82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Other ethnicity82%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education65%
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students81%
Female85%
Male75%
Black63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Other ethnicity82%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Special education35%
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students94%
Female97%
Male90%
Black85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Other ethnicity91%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special education71%
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 51%
Black 30% 16%
Hispanic 7% 22%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Maple Ave
Montclair, NJ 07042
Phone: (973) 509-4172

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Glen Ridge High School
Glen Ridge, NJ


Deron School Ii
Montclair, NJ


Essex Jr Academy
Bloomfield, NJ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT