Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK, 3-5 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
My son is an active, bright student who was discouraged when he started at this school. After just a few weeks, he became interested and motivated and remains excited about school. He even loves his homework assignments. Love Hillside.

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a community member
hillside is now doing the dance school ncome see fun from a student that goes thie alexcia williamson


Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2013
- a community member
this was the best school that i have ever gone to in my entire life. I loved how they taught. My parents were not however

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2012
- a community member
As a former student of Hillside, I have to say that it was one of the best things my parents could have chosen for me. It is a wonderful balance of structure and freedom; core classes give students the necessary education while electives allow them to be in charge of their own curiosity. The students are given a huge sense of independence, whether it be from being able to choose from several aesthetic classes, or simply from having the ability to walk to class alone. I am now going into my second year of college, and I have found myself closely comparing the choices that university offers to 20-year-olds to those that I had as a 10-year-old. Something like emphasizing the geometry behind origami folds, or having a guest speak about epilepsy to a group of 5th graders, many would see no point in it, but Hillside saw potential. The teachers and the administration take full advantage of a child's retentive mind and put an incredible amount of effort and creativity into a program that makes students eager to learn and explore.

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
Hi, this is my daughter's first half year and we're loving it. The teachers and office staff has helped her in several ways. She's caught on well to the system of Hillside School, continuing to be organized and self-motivated and last but not least has made many friends! I wish everyone the best success and we love your great work! Best Regards, The Robinson Family


Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
Hillside has enlightened my daughter to the point where she actually WANTS to go to school. They have amazing programs that the other Montclair Schools do not offer. The academics are rigorous and can be explored even further through the CI program. The CI program offers classes in every category, from math to tap dance to writing and visual arts. This school has a unique approach that looks at the whole child, incorporating an enriching program that actually strengthens my daughters academic performance.

Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
Hillside School is an amazing experience for almost any child. Whether the child excels in academics, performing arts or athletics, there is an advanced or in-depth class offering. The children can try new classes each cycle (3 each year) and are exposed to things most elementary school aged children don't experience. Examples are, chemistry (3rd graders!) - a truly fun class that introduces the children to chemistry using a hands on approach. This introduction has gotten my daughter excited and interested in chemistry. She has also enjoyed taking dance as her gym class (you can choose from many, such as, gymnastics, rock climbing, phys ed, etc.) Each of the aesthic classes work this way...music, choose chorus, drums, keyboards, and many others. The kids also love the movement of going from class to class. It gives them a fresh start 8 times daily. No more doldrums!

Hillside Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
all of the amazing electives! From drama to volcanoes, to photography to playwriting, kids can learn about anything!


Hillside Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2008
- a parent
I relocated to Montclair from Atlanta and was quite worried about which school to place my daughter but I chose Hillside because of its Arts concentration. I am so pleased with the administration and staff at Hillside.They're caring, attentive, friendly and really want to address each child's needs. My daughter loves it and doesn't even think about her old school in Atlanta anymore.

Hillside Elementary School 3

Posted January 17, 2007
- a parent
Have had several kids at Hillside. The arts and music are terrific, as are the special programming for advanced language arts and math. Basic academic were OK - too much focus on bringing up the bottom third to manage test scores. Overall a good experience but stay engaged!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hillside Elementary School
54 Orange Rd, Montclair, NJ  07042
(973) 509-4200
Last modified Hillside Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hillside Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top