Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
220 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
I have a daughter at St. Cassian and could not be more pleased with the academic offerings and the committed principal and teachers. The approach to teaching is to identify the learning strengths of each child that help tailor his or her assignments accordingly. The school also offers electives that allow students to learn according to their strengths and interests. For instance, kids are learning parts of 20th century history by learning to tap dance! Budding architects build things together and avid readers act out plays together. The school also specializes in infusing art and technology into the Common Core curriculum. Chrome books and iPads as well as Smart boards bring more interesting perspective and content to lessons and build student curiosity and interests. The after school clubs, sports and dance are a lot of fun for our kids too. In all, it is a very special school committed to Christian values in how we treat one another. The upper classes of students nurture the younger ones and bullying is simply not tolerated. We are so fortunate to have this school! --- happy parent

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Our sons have been attending St. Cassian School since kindergarten and we are extremely pleased with the school. The teachers and staff are all very kind and attentive. We have had great teachers who have all been exceptional and dedicated to the success of our boys. We are very pleased with the principal and pastor of the school and we are excited to watch our sons grow up in this warm and nurturing environment that Saint Cassian provides.


St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
St.Cassian School is an amazing faith based school with a very strong sense of family and community. I have 2 children in the school and couldn't be happier. The new principal, Mrs. Llanes has brought so much to the school, including musical theater, dance, handbell choir,and Mini Model Congress to name a few. Academics are taught using multiple intelligences ,so teachers are able to connect with all types of learners. My oldest child recently graduated and will be attending a highly competitive high school on an academic scholarship. - Parent

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2015
- a parent
I have seen over the course of the last 2 years how much this school has improved. Fr Marc has done a fantastic job bringing in such a qualified principal in Mrs. Llanes. From the Smart Boards, to the Model Congress programs...she has truly positioned the students for a success. It is clear to us, that Mr. Llanes sets the bar for the teachers, as well as the students, high. We are happy that the Lord brought such a gifted visionary in Mrs. Llanes to our community!

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2015
- a teacher
St. Cassian School has always been a great place to work and learn. The faith filled community that is St. Cassian School allows the students to integrate their love of learning with the teachers’ love of teaching. In my time teaching here I have seen students achieve beyond their potential and set goals for themselves that allow them to aspire for greatness. The Principal and Pastor keep the school moving in a positive direction, incorporating faith based learning, new methods of technology, differentiation, and cognitive thinking skills that allow the students to be successful in their future endeavors. -St. Cassian Teacher


St. Cassian Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2015
- a teacher
St Cassian School has the most nurturing and pleasant environment a parent can ask of any school for their children. The principal and the pastor demonstrate outstanding leadership and personal guidance for each student. The faculty treats each student like they were their own. In a time where a lot of Catholic schools enrollments are dwindling , St Cassian School continues to grow. St Cassian is truly a LOVING community. Mike Sammon ( 38 years at St Cassian School). .

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a teacher
St cassian has the most nurturing and loving environment a parent could want for their child.the pincipal and the pastor are outstanding leaders and administrators. In a world where catholic schools numbers are dwindling st.cassian is growing and growing because of the great faculty and parents.st.cassian is a truly loving community.

St. Cassian Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 12, 2015
- a teacher
The teachers are superb and highly qualified. The principal and pastor lead by example. I love and I am proud of the school.


St. Cassian Elementary School 1

Posted June 01, 2015
- a teacher
With a new principal and pastor the school would greatly improve. If not the school will be the next to close due to the fact that they can not keep the teachers because of low pay and high demands.

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
The entire package that St Cassian offers is unmatched in terms of education and just as important, the environment. These kids are given a very clear and consistent message that success begins with education and I love the fact that God cannot be taken out of their lives in this setting. Another unique quality that you can see in the upper grades is that it is cool to be smart. It seems like all the kids support and encourage one other to achieve to the best of their ability. This type of attitude can only happen when it is taught from the ground floor up with excellent teachers and a phenomenal principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Cassian Elementary School
190 Lorraine Avenue, Montclair, NJ  07043
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (973) 746-1636
Last modified St. Cassian Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top