Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Montclair, NJ
Students enrolled: 220
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
Our children have been attending St. Cassian School for several years and we are very pleased with our school. The community is very welcoming. In our years at St Cassian our family has grown in this wonderful community and our children have made many great friends. The students are kind. We have never encountered bullying at St. Cassian. The older students look out for the younger students and are so wonderful with them. There are extra curicular activities such as mini model congress, science fair, school choir, and dance. There are many opportunities for parents to be involved in the school. There is a great lunch program that the children love and it has flexibile ordering options and parents are welcomed to come serve lunch. Our children have had the opportunity to participate in St. Cassian's sports program and we have experienced very encouraging coaches and the children exhibit great sportsmanship. St. Cassian offers several sports to the students. The teachers we have had have all been exceptional and dedicated to the success of their students. We are very pleased with St. Cassian School.

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
St. Cassian is a wonderful school. My son has attended since first grade and has had a great experience. It is an excellent school offering a warm, caring environment with small class size and top notch teachers. The middle school teachers are fantastic and the new principal, Mrs. Llanes, has implemented many new programs focused on technology such as Smart Boards in every classroom and this year the roll out of Chrome Books. The academics are challenging, the extra curriculum activities are diverse and the parents are very involved creating a strong family environment. I am grateful that my son has had such a wonderful experience.


St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
We are the proud parents of four girls, two of whom attended St. Cassian School and our last one is currently an 8th grader. It is an excellent private, elementary school located in Upper Montclair, New Jersey. It is a great academic environment with small class sizes and low teacher turnover. It also has a low student to teacher ratio which has driven my daughter s engagement in their respective subjects and ultimately school experience. The recent addition of our new principal has led to new technology such as smart boards in all classrooms and access to a computer for each student. The academics are challenging and are very effective in preparing the students for high school. The extracurricular activities are diverse: sports, forensics, ballet, and mini model congress. . It is a wonderful school community with lots of parent involvement, like Christmas Corners, carpooling to events, coaching, serving lunch, book fair, or chaperones class trips. We take pride in being involved in our school and it shows in our children s performance. Our faculty is very accommodating and our parish is welcoming. It is a true family affair. Come join our community.

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
Nurturing. The new principal, Mrs. Llannes, is amazing! She is creative and energetic, and completely approachable. All the Middle School teachers hold Master degrees, and their joy in sharing their knowledge while inspiring their students to learn knows no limits. They are respectful of parents and the students. There is complete joy during lunch in the gymnasium as children may either bring their own lunch or served healthy, tasty food from area restaurants. As a former Lacordaire parent I truly appreciate this. (No silent lunches eaten at their desk here!) The HSA at St. Cassian is completely transparent in their work, accomplishments and fundraising. A truly welcoming family. As an Episcopalian, my daughter is not forced to sit ostracized during communion at required Mass, as she was at Lacordaire. She is given a blessing, and we are blessed for this community at St. Cassian.

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
Saint Cassian School provides a unique learning environment that encompasses all a parent would want in a small, private, Catholic school environment. With the addition of the new principal this year the school has taken on an entirely new standard of excellence. This school went from a good school to a great school. Faculty and staff are dedicated and provide extra help on a regular basis. Parents are respected and "heard". Students are exposed to a wonderful array of special programs including model congress, annual science fairs, musical programs (band, chamber music through Lincoln Center, bell choir, musical theater, dance and the fabulous addition of the new organist from the church providing weekly music class). Technology is current and the plans for expansion of the technology program are fabulous. Office staff warmly welcome parents and students each day and help to set the tone of a close family environment. If you are looking for a school for your child, walk amidst the halls and witness the sense of real pride among the students of St. Cassian School. You will want your child to be a part of this "treasure" in the heart of Upper Montclair.


St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
I am very happy with the school! The new principal is making great improvements. Glad my children go here. The academic, arts, and sports programs are of superior quality. Love the family-centered atmosphere!

St. Cassian Elementary School 4

Posted June 09, 2013
- a parent
St. Cassian School is fantastic. They got a new middle school team this year--new Science, Math, Social Studies teachers--and it has really made a difference. Each one of them has a Master's Degree and is passionate about their field of study. They are enthusiastic and fresh, just what the school needed. They are all up-to-date with all the technology, and every classroom has a SmartBoard. The principal is very weak, I agree with other comments posted here. They are getting a new principal in the fall, so hopefully that will make the school even better. Glad I sent my children here. Look forward to next year.

St. Cassian Elementary School 4

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
This school is strong academically and has many extracurricular activities compared to other schools it's size. It would get 5 stars from me but the principal is very weak - not up on latest technologies and innovations. She is not open to any suggestions and her method of disciple is non-existent. Parents can be as involved as they want and most are - it is a friendly family environment. Every class has smart boards. I think with new leadership coming in it will be equivalent to the much higher priced private schools nearby.


St. Cassian Elementary School 4

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
Teachers are excellent. Parents are involved. Students are polite and respectful. Principal is very weak and does not bring out the best in the school. some of the classes are way too big - heading toward 30 kids in one small room. I find the academics very good, and the teachers do extra help sessions for advanced students after hours.

St. Cassian Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2009
- a student
This school is great. It is a very welcoming environment. I have been a student here for nine years and literally have a school family. Everyone knows each other and helps one another. The teachers and principals have great techniques and are very approachable. The parents are involved and the kids look forward to annual school activities. The sports and extra-curricular activities are eye opening. About once a month we go to Church and the whole school gets together every morning for a prayer service. I'm in eighth grade and I think the class privileges are evenly distributed. This school would be a perfect pick for your young child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Cassian Elementary School
190 Lorraine Avenue, Montclair, NJ  07043
(973) 746-1636
Last modified St. Cassian Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Cassian Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top