Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montclair Cooperative School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Montclair

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $428,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

We sent our daughter to the COOP and became disenchanted but are proud to call ourselves alumni. The school's greatest asset and biggest weakness is its teachers. They are very dedicated and some of their practices are solid but as a group they are against being held accountable and some of the teachers are ineffective. In addition, a select group of the teachers collectively work against the best interests of the school unfortunately. Understanding the curriculum can be difficult. The greatest asset is the passion of both the teachers and the members. The school is a cooperative and the members are the key to making it all work, although some parents do much of the work. Overall, great community of parents. Hopefully the school can find its footing and take off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

The Co-op is a great little school, especially for the nursery-K grades. The early ages teachers are some of the best teachers I've ever seen. They are warm, creative, and nurturing. Unfortunately the Co-op lags in the later grades. There is no curriculum, every teacher has a different agenda and there is no accountability for what the children are learning. The Co-op lacks qualified teachers for their foreign language program and there is no organized sports program or theater/arts program. Unfortunately the school seems to hire a lot of relatives or friends rather than more qualified candidates. In theory, parent involvement is encouraged because it is a "cooperative", but there is a very small clique that runs the school and makes it difficult and uncomfortable for new parents to really get involved. We knew our kids would go to public school and so weren't too invested, but there are parents who are there that are very disappointed by this dynamic. On a positive note, the Co-op is a warm, progressive environment for children with mild special needs/ADHD/etc.


Posted June 18, 2013

As a past parent of children at the Montclair Co-Op School, I wanted to share how wonderfully open and creative this school was for my 2 children that are now in their 30's. The thought process, and ability to question and navigate, math, social studies and english courses was individually based and also used team co-operation. The basis of this eduation helped many children to become THINKERS and DOERS as they went on to colleges and life. As a former parent, even I learned many Co-operative ways and used them in life. Thank you Montclair Co-Op for all that you have given to the children who enter your gates.


Posted February 5, 2013

Our family moved to Montclair for the proximity to the city and the strong reputation of the public schools. Our children started in the public schools, and we switched to the Co-op for smaller class sizes, a warmer, more progressive environment, and a more challenging academic program. The public schools are good, but the lack of resources and large class sizes are a detriment. The Co-op teachers are incredibly gifted. They work to reach and push each child to their fullest potential. The small ratio of teachers to children allows for enhanced, leveled learning within the classrooms - we get individualized learning that works hand in hand with the cooperative approach brilliantly. The Head of Schools is a deep, critical thinker who is working to push the Co-op to become even stronger and to ensure the children are being successfully launched into the world as critical, creative thinkers themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

Montclair has pretty good public schools which is why we moved here from New York City. But after a semester in a class of 25 kids, my happy, social, curious kindergartener had become quiet and disengaged. And he just wasn't enjoying school - a terrible thing for such a young kid who should love seeing his friends and discovering new things every day! By chance we found the Coop. My son is thriving - academically, socially and emotionally. Project based learning supervised by gifted committed teachers. My daughter will go next year and I can't wait. over and above what the kids get out of the experience the parents are suddenly part of a community of diverse and hugely interesting people frmk investment bankers to writers to farmers! My husband and I are agreed. If we had to, we would sell our house, forego expensive vacations, work multiple jobs - anything, to keep our kids in this school. They simply won't get a better start in their educational career and in their development as people, than here at the Coop. But all that sacrifice will be unnecessary as, because it is a cooperative, the school fees are half those of the other local independent schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

The Co-op is an amazing place, a genuine community of learners. The teachers are beautiful role models and they care deeply about each child. Community service is a given and students are encouraged to connect across the grades. Progressive education is a global education. No rote learning here, critical thinking, creativity and cooperation through project based investigations. The expectations are very high for children to be independent and responsible, in many ways it has more "real life" rigor than any prep school. Everywhere we go my children stand out as capable and confident, they are socially fearless, believing that they have something to offer or gain in every situation. I am so glad we found the Co-op!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

MCS (the Coop) is a wonderful little school. The teachers could not be more dedicated to providing kids with the best thematic learning experiences. Our child went from being a kid who HATED school, until we were lucky enough to find the Coop. He is now entering the sixth grade and he has never asked to skip school since entering the school in the middle of second grade. His test scores are great but most importantly he wants to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

The Co-Op is the most wondeful GIFT you could ever present your child. The gift of expanded thought processes, exploration of their very own environment, encouragement of individual expression -- These gifts allowed my two children to become strong minded young adults. They face the same challenges as other teenages after leaving The Mtc Co-op yet with a sense of self confidence and respect for others. I'm proud to have sacrificed a few of life's luxuries to have given this experience to my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

This school is great for families who have children with learning disabilities and/or social emotional issues. No labels, just a warm caring environment. Th
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

This school offers a warm, magical environment in which children learn to be creative, critical thinkers. The new 7th/8th grade is working out quite well. It's academically demanding but the kids are truly engaged and excited about learning. And - here's the best part - these are middle-schoolers in an emotionally safe (but not unrealistically so) environment. The school is not perfect - especially because it is a true co-op and parents are so involved that political issues pop up at times. However, those problems exist everywhere and at the Co-op they are offset by the fact that, overall, it is a warm, supportive, very special community. Sending our daughter to the Co-op has been one of the greatest gifts we could ever give her.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 52%
Black 12% 19%
Two or more races 11% 1%
Hispanic 8% 20%
Asian 6% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

65 Chestnut St
Montclair, NJ 07042
Phone: (973) 783-4955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Deron School Ii
Montclair, NJ





Trinity Academy
Montclair, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT