Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
181 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montclair Cooperative School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Think he school has a unique and sometime effective model that often is held to close to see other more effective models. School not committed to impact in same way new educational models are

Montclair Cooperative School 2

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
A school clearly at a crossroads. New Head of School that is promising but here are entrenched long-time faculty who hold he school back. Financially in trouble, declining enrollment and a challenging culture make the school a risky bet. Also, I would be wary of the last 5 reviews done by a teacher all on the same date.


Montclair Cooperative School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 05, 2015
- a teacher
I want to thank the teachers for sustaining and supporting our schools mission statement in assuring children receive the best progressive education possible, which supports and nourishes individual strengths and Needs. They exemplify dedication in progressive education to the whole child.

Montclair Cooperative School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 05, 2015
- a teacher
The best of the best. Every single teacher is an example of dedication and commitment in progressive education.

Montclair Cooperative School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 05, 2015
- a teacher
There's time to reinforce at home what's been learned in school and our homework is intelligent and not worksheet driven. It allows time to learn and play an instrument, engage in art and sports outside of school. Homework does not sacrifice time for extracurricular activities.


Montclair Cooperative School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a teacher
Students are challenged and motivated to be the best they can be. Electives in robotics and in STEM and STEAM challenges students.

Montclair Cooperative School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a teacher
Throughout our school, students support each other. Our Reading Buddies program has older students reading to younger students each and every week, all year long. Their relationship has depth and a commitment of respect and friendship Outside the school day.

Montclair Cooperative School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 05, 2015
- a teacher
Our commitment to community and global efforts is unparalleled in other N-8 schools, beginning in our very youngest of learners, going all the way through to our oldest of learners.


Montclair Cooperative School 5

Posted December 05, 2015
- a teacher
The Montclair cooperative school is a treasure of a school that educates children both inside and outside the classroom. Our commitment to a stellar constructive education along with a genuine commitment to social justice educates children to become students and citizens of the world.

Montclair Cooperative School 2

Posted September 24, 2014
- a community member
this place is falling apart. they cant deal with people who have listning issues. i was there when a friend of mine got suspended for tipping over a chair. that should be enough info to say that there are problems there

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montclair Cooperative School
65 Chestnut St, Montclair, NJ  07042
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (973) 783-4955
Last modified Montclair Cooperative School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top