Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
3-8 & Ungraded
Public
Mountainside, NJ
Students enrolled: 519

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Deerfield Elementary School 3

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
Poor preparation for high school. Class sizes are 24+. They stop teaching right after NJASK. They have a medley of school class trips, field days, many movies and "historical videos", board games, dodge ball games and generalized baby sitting until the end of June. The teachers are absent very frequently at the end of the school year. What a waste of time! Then, to cap off the year there is a popularity awards event. Just what we need another pat on the back for supposed humility!! The three stars is an act of generosity to keep up my property value.

Deerfield Elementary School 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Deerfield Elementary School 1

Posted November 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Deerfield Elementary School 2

Posted July 01, 2007
- a parent
We had two children at Deerfield. The older (daughter) did well despite the mediocre level of teachers and staff at Deerfield. The principal did little to offer advanced courses comparable to those in Berkeley Heights. Our son was more typical of the average level student at Deerfield. Every effort we made to get him into a more challenging class, particularly math, was blocked by the principal. The school failed him and many other boys. There is now some pressure from the Berkeley Heights school district to improve the preparation that Deerfield offers - since they do not want BH students to suffer from the lack of preparation their Mountainside peers have .


Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2007
- a parent
The school , town and people are wonderful. We have opened a new school. we now have two schools (k-2) and (3-8). Our test scores have soared over the past year and new programs have been set to make the school that much better. They keep the parents involved as well. Its a great place to be and is just getting bigger and better.

Deerfield Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2005
- a parent
Good school with alot of parental involvement. Has a great bafore and after aschool daycare program right in the school for working parents.

Deerfield Elementary School 2

Posted May 05, 2004
- a parent
Deerfield, because it is only K-8, is lacking in a lot of services that larger schools have. For example, my daugther does chorus and band, which meets before school starts and is not considered part of the curriculum (there is no music room). Sports are very limited - no football field, or track. We have to provide all the supplies for science labs, and the labs are not real labs, just classrooms. The library is tiny and very limited in terms of resources. The after-school program consists of kids sitting in the cafeteria and coloring while TV is played at very high volume.-no music room


Deerfield Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
Wonderful teachers,principal and helpers.Parents and teachers communications is contantatly. Friendly people, well behaved children. My children love this school and their peers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deerfield Elementary School
302 Central Avenue, Mountainside, NJ  07092
(908) 232-8828
Last modified Deerfield Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deerfield Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top