Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
N Bergen, NJ
Students enrolled: 2,618

3 stars
Based on 59 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


65 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Bergen High School 1

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
This school is a great high school itself. The teachers and students that come here are horrendous. Not even the bullying administrator cares if you're crying in the hallway. They look at you and walk away because they don't want to have to deal with your problems too. They've had this school for maybe 60-80 years and they just put up cameras. You never see the principal walking around and the VP's only care if you're wearing the uniform. They don't care about you only if you're a senior or a freshman.

North Bergen High School 1

Posted September 19, 2014
- a teacher
000 this school is disgusting and if you don't belive me look up the complains they have against them. Rats in the lunch room that has been dead for how long yet they want act like nothing is going on and quick to try to fail the students ask any student there what is in there food what did they find. Worse teachers I would never allow any of my neices go to this disgrace


North Bergen High School 2

Posted January 28, 2014
- a community member
Please North Bergen, build another high school! North Bergen High School can no longer contain its massive amount of students. Parents, this school isn't that bad if your child makes something out of their high school career. But, I must say that many of the students are neglected because a lot of North Bergen educators don't care! Why must this town be so political? Why must the scores be SO LOW? It's because teachers are hired not by their qualifications but whom he/she knows. Hire REAL educators. Hire people who care. And enough with the favoritism, it's disgusting. Clean up the place at least, it's unacceptable.

North Bergen High School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
i agree with a prior remark regarding once in high school the child/parent should already be have an idea/focused on what the child may be interrested in and seek what is required start working on that/select classes in high school/ poss leap pgm and free prep for sats. work with the school/ make it work for your child.

North Bergen High School 1

Posted March 21, 2012
- a community member
I can agree with all the bad reviews here. I went here back in 1996 to 2000 and sadly it was the same. What is more depressing is that 11 years later it is still ranked so low. OBVIOUSLY it is due to bad LEADERSHIP and TEACHERS. Principal TENARO needs to be relieved of his duties, but it is sad because it is all about politics. MAJOR SACCO is a DUSCH as well. I am glad I was able to join the NAVY and get an education through community colleges and finally University of Cincinnati but this high school did not help much, Invest in private school for your kids even if you have to get a second job they will forever be grateful!


North Bergen High School 1

Posted March 19, 2012
- a student
I would first like to say that in my four years in North Bergen High School, I have never been so disgusted by the way the education system is handled in North Bergen. The saving grace of this school is that it does have a dedicated and powerful faculty that do indeed try to ATTEMPT to teach us. They place strict rules on everything unnecessary and amongst them, my greatest issue is with the ID rule. Who made it so these people have the GALL to dare deprive you of your education because you're not wearing a piece of plastic as a necklace! To err is human, we sometimes forget but that doesn't give you the right to force us to stare at a wall for six hours when we could be doing something productive! The bathrooms are riddled with this stench and is not kept at hygienically acceptable levels at any time. Their sinks are broken down, i can hardly get enough water out to clean my own hands! Entire sections of the ceiling are missing in some areas. Lockers are not well kept and often I would be assigned a locker that is sticking out of the wall from cracks made years ago. Overall, North Bergen is barely a high school. Somebody address this PLEASE for the sake of future students

North Bergen High School 1

Posted June 12, 2011
- a parent
It's just unbelievable that North Bergen High School which ranks so poorly in the state is recognized as a "benchmark public high school for academic achievement." This makes no sense. In addition, what the school seems to be doing in assigning mediocre work in order to pass the students along to the next grade --this is NOT a school that is preparing students for a college career - let alone a challenging college career. The proof is in state testing scores, SAT, ACTs, etc. While we know there are many challenges like overcrowding, the educators, some of who hold multiple jobs on the taxpayers dime, are way overpaid. Those who hold high positions in the district earn way too much -- and they need to figure out how to dramatically improve the students' overall achievement. It is just wrong that the district continues to operate in failure mode, while the taxpayer, students, parents pay the price. Get some TRUE educators who hold PhD's, dedicated, and have vast experience in turning around failing schools - these are the people who should be rewarded with hefty paychecks.

North Bergen High School 1

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
I don't know where They are getting this top ranking because they are actually on the bottom rank . The school was the 296th-ranked public high school in New Jersey out of 322 schools statewide, in New Jersey Monthly magazine's September 2010 cover story on the state's "Top Public High Schools", after being ranked 294th in 2008 out of 316 schools.[4] The school was ranked 285th in the magazine's September 2006 issue, which surveyed 316 schools across the state.


North Bergen High School 2

Posted May 18, 2011
- a parent
My child attends NB HS, and they truly do not care about the needs of their students. There motto is based on keeping faces, as long as it looks like they are working to better the education of the kids then that's where it ends! There is no incentive for creativity, or involvement for either the kids or the parents. Just give them the passing grades needed so they can boast about being among the top ranking high schools in the county. The teachers and staff are so unprofessional. Lead by an arrogant principal that will convince anyone that his or her child should feel priviledged in receiving a metiocre education. There is no guidance for the students that work to do better, and go above following the crowd of other students that treat it like a hang out. And if you are a parent that cares and asks to many questions you are treated with the same lack of enthusiasm as any of the students. Very disappointing.

North Bergen High School 4

Posted July 21, 2010
- a community member
I am a '73 Graduate of NBHS and am very proud of the education I received there. As with the previous posting, I could list many excellent, involved teachers I had who really cared about us as students. If, indeed, what the other postings say is true, I am very sad to hear that the quality of teachers and education has fallen so low.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Bergen High School
7417 Kennedy Blvd, N Bergen, NJ  07047
(201) 295-2783
Last modified North Bergen High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Bergen High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. Top