Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High Tech High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1 student

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2012

My child has had a successful career and future because of this school. It has been her favorite and top schools she wanted to get into.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

I currently attend High Tech, and it's really the best high school you could possibly attend. If you get in, then go. You won't regret it. One of the greatest things about this school is the level of trust given to students. You have freedom to do whatever you like (within reason, of course). Teachers aren't constantly breathing down your neck. In fact, both students and the staff are really laid back, and it's a very chill environment. No matter what, you will make friends here. There is no great social hierarchy, and everyone pretty much does their own thing. The teachers are more than willing to help you out during free time. There are tons of extra curricular activities, and you'll probably find yourself staying after school every day. Even if there isn't a club at HT that's right for you, it is so easy to make your own, and it's guaranteed that people will join. (We even have a Harry Potter club!) If you want a school that takes excellent academics, a welcoming atmosphere, and great extra curriculars, then High Tech really is the school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2012

My daughter is a Freshman at this school. She didnt want to apply at first but I made her, after all we know best..right? During the first month of school, all I heard from her after school was "mom I love my school thank you for making me apply'!! It is now the second half of the year and I still hear that statement. She tells me how comfortable everyone feels with the teachers, friends. The freedom that they have to be themselves, and her grades are A's. Most of all, she is doing what she loves,,Performing Arts and enjoying her whole High School experience. i SAW her performing and couldnt stop crying! It was like watching her at Bradway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

What an amazing school. Couldn't have picked a better learning environment for my daughter. This school and staff are really top notch and the students are certainly the real focus here. I am very happy my daughter goes here and have no complaints except for one of the guidance counselers - Mr Dodge. He is not the most helpful by any means.. 99% of the teachers she has had have really brought alot to the table and have extraordinary ways to keep the kids focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

This school is really worth attending if you get chosen. It stresses the fact that it IS a school of choice and being there is privilege so you have to keep trying after you get in, to stay in! Everyone is so nice and easy to get along with because no boundaries are made by any stupid "stereotypes." Anyone who got in is pretty much automatically labeled as a nerd! :) Mostly everyone is friendly and the Staff is absolutely Top-Notch. For some teachers, there is no doubt in anyone's mind that they actually WANT US to pass. Teachers here worked with us not against us, and everything this school has to offer is one of a kind. If you got accepted, going here is a must!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2010

This school has turned my child's attitude around 360 degrees, we both suffered greatly in North Bergen High School with their ridiculous rules , uncaring rude and incompetent staff , a big thanks go to the Guidance counselor though for telling us about programs in High Tech. Since the transfer both our lives have greatly improved. The teachers and staff and High Tech are truly exceptional and many have interesting and artistic backgrounds, there is a choice of varied courses available too. Truly a Shining Example !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

Hi, my daughter goes to this school, and I would say this one of the top 5% schools in NJ. Academics are extra ordinary, staff is well educated, and very approchable. They guide students in every part of their lilfe, not just on academics but also various programs help students to develop their personality over all. Community servide is also a major thing. I am glad my duaghter was able to get admission as it is difficult to get in to, but once you are in yoiu know you are competing with smart crowd which encourage students to even work harder. My daughter goes to AACT which is part of High tech and is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

One of the top three High Schools in NJ: magnet school that accepts from all Hudson County based on admissions exam competition, so they get the cream of the public school students from the State's most populous borough. Unparalleled Science, Math, Music, Arts and foreign Language programs/teachers. The best Biology teacher in the region. Unparalleled in class and extracurricula opportunities for students with good parental support, but the grading is often as bruising as the workload. Any student that thrives here will find Ivy League college relatively easy. Compares well with Stuyvesant and Bronx High School of Science in NYC. Only two other high schools in New Jersey can compete statistically (public or private.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

High Tech High is a magnificent school. It is providing not only with an extraordinary education, but also with an opportunity to grow productibly as an individual. My daughter was so privileged to be accepted into this prestigious institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

I am a graduate of high tech high school. Of all schools in the area, private/catholic and public, I would rank high tech the best. Although it is fairly selective, it's the student's responsibility to take advantage of the opportunities given. Its arts and drama department receive a lot of hype; but many fail to also recognize the skill of its science and math department. I currently attend an ivy league institution [in fact 10% of my graduating class ended up in ivy league/highly selective colleges] and my successes in math and science can only be attributed to the superb faculty at high tech. (Namely, my AP Bio and AP Calc teachers) The faculty offers a lot of freedom, but in a school of choice this works well. For a fun, motivating, and curious high school experience, I definitely recommend HTHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2009

This school is the best! You need to work very hard to get it because they only choose a few of the children. My mom made me go through a lot to get in this school and now I thank her for it. This is the best school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

Excellent school. My son is a freshman at High Tech and he loves the school so much. At first he wasn't sure about attending because he was going to leave some friends but now that he is at High Tech he doesn't want to be any place else! Its a great school and has great programs for all students. The Drama and Musical Theater programs are awesome and they both have excellent teachers that are mentors to these kids! Overall its an awesome school and if you live in Hudson County then your child belongs at High Tech. If you apply and you aren't accepted don't be discouraged and believe the school doesn't want you because they do, and its up to you to fight your way in. I seen too many students and parents pass up on high tech because their child didn't get in! Fight 4 It!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

This school is like the best school you could possibly !
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2008

I go to this school and its like your in college you have more focus and concentration becasue of smaller class sizes, you learn alott and have fun at the same time out of every 14 that apply 1 gets in very hard school to get into but while your at it have the most fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2008

I am a student in High Tech High School and I must say that this is the best school I have ever been in. The reason why is because of the small size of the school. Everyone knows each other. There are only about 500 students who attend High Tech. Whereas in local schools, the student population can be over 1000. Furthermore, this school offers excellent courses in a variety of fields. the teachers in the school are compassionate about their students and what they learn. Overall, High Tech is a great school and I recommend people who want to do great in life to attend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2008

This is an absolutely wonderful school. I as a parent enjoy everything from it. The faculty and everything is excellent. Whoever doesn' t like ...Well there won't be so don't regret or doubt any thing about this school. It is wonderful and marvelous school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2007

High Tech High School is one of the best opportunities for students living in Hudson county. Because student applications are filtered by academic requirements, everyone is not just going to this school. Like it or not, students with better grades have better behavior. Everyone really is comfortable here, and the students will love the extracurricular activities offered. They will often find themselves staying after school twice, or even three times, a week. The teachers are excellent, especially when compared to other teachers around the region. The parents don't get very involved because they know their children and the faculty have things under control. In conclusion, going to this school is the first step toward a great future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2007

The music department is rather small and therefore lacks a full band or orchestra, but has great potential for growth and has amazing faculty. The sciences are very strong,with the acception of one teacher who shall remain nameless, with students placing with top honors and county, state, and regional science symposiums, and knowlege competitions. The school does lack a good college counselor and may offer too much freedom, but is perfect for self-motivated, multi-talented, and overall curious students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 23, 2005

High Tech is a great option for hudson county residents who cannot afford private school. It's safe and it provides a positive environment for students, unlike other public hudson county schools. Academically, programs are weak compared to private schools. Many teachers are there for political reasons. Some teachers are knowledgable, passionate, and effective. ,The arts (minus music) department is strong. Some foreign languages are weak. Math is strong, while science (although variety in classes) is weak. Students generally motivated academically, which in my opinion is biggest benefit. Extracurriculars popular, but many groups inactive. Student involvement determine club's success. Sports for boys are a joke; decent for girls. Though little school spirit, participation in the school activities is high. Perfect size. Generally, loved by students. Large amount of freedom good for most. Not enough college prep. But best in the area, and definitely recommended!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2003

This school is the best thing that ever happened to our family. It is an outragous oppertunity for my daughter to learn and grow and get prepared for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male90%
Black83%
Asian93%
Hispanic95%
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
General education95%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students94%
Female90%
Male98%
Black73%
Asian96%
Hispanic92%
Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant94%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

89%

SAT college ready

65%

Graduation rate

100%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 22%
White 33% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 9%
Black 9% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Joseph Giammarella
Fax number
  • (201) 854-2149

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 85th Street
N Bergen, NJ 07047
Website: Click here
Phone: (201) 662-6801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Knowledge Advanced Skills
North Bergen, NJ



Cliffside Park High School
Cliffside Park, NJ




Memorial High School
West New York, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT