Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rafael Hernandez Elementary School 3

Posted May 08, 2014
- a community member
rafael hernandez school is changing me has a student do not agree with the changes.we have a new principal and vice principal and they want us to sit with our class in lunch.teachers say lunch is the time to talk with our friends but we cant even do that.i also think the kids that got restricted and got the trip took out should have another chance to change themselves.

Rafael Hernandez Elementary School 2

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Academically this school is terrible. The children's education is not priority. My nephew had a teacher who was always negative on him, On a report card day he walked ahead of his mom and his mother heard the teacher saying a smart remark to her son upon entering the room. Thankfully she moved to a better neighborhood, and he is doing excellent on all subjects at his new school. When i attended the school a student used to hit the teacher and caused her to quite, for the following 3 semesters of the school we had a substitute teacher on the subject of math, This affected everyone in the subject of math that graduated on that class. I also know some teachers who left the school for the poor leadership and conduct. My younger sister used to be bullied there. Over the years there has been had little improvement. Very disappointing.


Rafael Hernandez Elementary School 1

Posted July 19, 2011
- a parent
Apparently the parents whose children attend this shool are not accustomed to 'better.' We found better, following many incidents of biased behavior toward our child who is NOT Hispanic and for whom the school provided no protection from its predominantly Hispanic staff and student body. Lucky for us, our child is now homeschooled where he has excelled to 12 grade levels on his CAT scores -- something unheard of at Rafael Hernandez.

Rafael Hernandez Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
In our school the teachers are the best at working together.

Rafael Hernandez Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
I love Rafael Hernandez school because when I started here as a new teacher, I was embraced by the faculty, staff, students and parents. I didn't find out until August that I was being transferred and so I was a little nervous. I showed up at RHS with a car full of belongings and right away the Parent Liason lent me a hand cart and key to the elevator to allow me to move my stuff in. As the school year went on, many staff members stopped by my room to offer a kind word, welcome and even to ask if there was anything I needed. THe energy at Rafael Hernandez is one of support. Everyone is on the same wavelength as far as what our goal is, which is to ensure that our students succeed. I am a proud member of the Rafael Hernandez family.


Rafael Hernandez Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a teacher
Rafael Hernandez School is a nice school to work at considering the students are great and the staff is very nice and friendly. When I started working here a couple of yrs ago, everyone was very helpful and understanding.

Rafael Hernandez Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Our School is great we have a great debate team, cheerleaders, basketball team and great kids, parents, teachers, and administration and a great music department I give them a 10

Rafael Hernandez Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
Rafael Hernandez how gone thru alot this year 2007 & 2008 has made a big change to the better i've seen this school go threw alot from ok principals to the worst especially in 2006 to 2007 but this September a new principal came in and wow what a change he has brought into the school keep up the great work Mr. Ruiz Rafael hernandez school has been waiting for someone like you.


Rafael Hernandez Elementary School 1

Posted July 14, 2006
- a parent
RAfael Hernandez is not the best school in Newark some teachers are very disrespectful and there helpers are worst.

Rafael Hernandez Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2005
- a student
This shchool here is the best school in Newark because it schows your kids the passion of arts as in drama class,art class,vocal class,instrumental class, and much more putting your child in this school will give your child a chance to become a superstar.How you ask this school has a special class which is called Arts Academy. once your child has a goo recomendation they can go to Arts High and continue their dreams to be a superstr in any way

Nearby schools

Rafael Hernandez Elementary School
345 Broadway, Newark, NJ  07104
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (973) 481-5004
Last modified Rafael Hernandez Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top