Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barringer High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 269 students

We are best known for Aerospace Flight & Technology.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

Barringer high has changed a lot!. Now Barringer is slipt into two schools. There are new principals for each school and also staff. The top floor is Barringer of the arts and humumites(BAAH) and down stairs is S.T.E.A.M. With u go to this school I perfur picking BAAH because they will help u succeed instead of STEAM. There are fights here and there in the schools but wat school doesn't fight?


Posted September 15, 2011

I want, to know who I give complaint about security police, they always makes fun about my daughters or taking about them, they just there to do their job ok im sick and tired already. They just there ti make hispanic people fell bad, and thats not fear. You need to works with that. Because the only reason that my daughters dont want to go to school its because them. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

I am a student at Barringer High School, And took 12 months studying there, I have observed many problems among students, that if you have a solution and if they can solve. I think that more regulations should establish and enforce discipline. There are many problems that need more understanding and suspension harsh back home, and have proven that school stafff is good (enough) and if it hurts the school and its failures, but need to look a little more in depthschool and more sacrifice. Trying to understand but most students give lectures and make them understand that if they can achieve their goals and they have to sacrifice his youth but now in order to be somebody in life, trying to make him understand that everything that is around is momentary fashion, cigarette among others. Being a school family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2010

this school is so good for my children and they love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

Barringer is a Tough school but also a Great School it's not easy tryin to manage 1,100 student after all Barringer High School is the largest High school in Newark. I know that Barringer is not rated number 1 but if the Principal would ask for more help from the District i think the school would improve acedemically. We need our children to succeed. We got to keep them away from the streets and into the schools where they belong to contintue there education. (We) as Parents can do this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I think is the principal responsibility to establish tough rules for student that are not respecting the school system as well as teacher. I you are tough with them they will be better students and student will not be afraid to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

I attended Barringer High for the first 3 years of my high-school career,and I thought the school has potential,but the students just don't put forth enough effort to even begin to succeed. There are a lot of smart students there that aren't trying hard enough to make something of themselves just because of the school they go to. Just because Barringer has a bad reputation doesn't mean that they shouldn't try to become something despite their environment. I think the teachers that were there when I was a student did their best to ensure we had a good curriculum and got a good education. -Class of 2006
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2006

Teachers at Barringer needs to participate with the children- how do they expect for them to have good grades if teachers are not teaching at all?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

This is a special school. The first H.S. in the state of NJ yet the state has neglected the legacy of this school. This school is dire need of attention and help from the state & city. There hard working people there with little assistance. There are also giftef students that start and then leave because of the chaos. There are too many doors for negativity to come in. It would take more than one principal to do a viable job. This school has promise yet it will never carry the legacy forward until the higher ups stop buying us band aids when what's need is chemotherapy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 23, 2004

I only want evreybody to know that Barringer High School is a very interesting school to attend. It has become a source of mocking by other High Schools but it is not the fault of the teachers. It is the fault of the students that go there. Many of the students there are disrespectful and have no interest in getting a well rounded education. These students refuse to allow other students the chance to become educated. In plain and simple terms, the teachers in Barringer High School are very talented if they were not they would have already left the school system a lont time ago! If you want our student to get a well rounded education show them respect and pride for themselves, teachers and fellow classmates. -Class of 96
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

The fact that Barringer High has three times as more students as Science High, plays an important factor when computing its average Literacy and Mathematics scores versus the states average. However having attended Barringer High from 91-93 I know first hand of the education offered in comparison to other schools. The education needs to be overhauled to mimic those of the states more successful schools like Science High. Barringer needs to become more Science and Math oriented to give the kids a better chance to succeed. Teachers have to become more involved and not just worry about collecting a paycheck, but to remember their oath as teachers, make them accountable. Everyday I see kids coming into college after graduating and needing to take preparatory courses. Why can't they all start at college level, why don't we make the high school curriculum as intense as colleges? Why not create programs that offer these students mentors in fields that they might be interested in pursuing? Why not create system thats more dynamic and fits these fields?
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

I really think this school needs help. I use to attend Barringer High school until I noticed how many things it lacked. Poor security, teaching ability, and leadership. If your planning on sending your child here, think twice. Arts High and Science High have way more to offer.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students59%
Female66%
Male53%
Black57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Special education30%
General education80%
English language learners35%
Not migrant59%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former35%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students34%
Female37%
Male31%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Special education13%
General education42%
English language learners53%
Not migrant34%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former53%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Not migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

95%

SAT college ready

1%

Graduation rate

49%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 22%
Black 32% 16%
White 1% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10am
School end time
  • 2:40pm
School Leader's name
  • Ms Shonda Davis
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (973) 268-5322

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
  • bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • bowling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

90 Parker St
Newark, NJ 07104
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 268-5125

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT