Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barringer High School 4

Posted December 13, 2015
- a community member
I like Barringer (BAAH) because the teachers are so good teaching (except for Mr. Doiny).

Barringer High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
The teachers were always teaching the best.To there students and,it was all enjoyable.I became a good file clerk because of it,also a great gym teacher.Learned to run faster.


Barringer High School 4

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
I used to go here when i was 13 and it was a wonderful experience.I became a great file clerk.

Barringer High School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a community member
Barringer high has changed a lot!. Now Barringer is slipt into two schools. There are new principals for each school and also staff. The top floor is Barringer of the arts and humumites(BAAH) and down stairs is S.T.E.A.M. With u go to this school I perfur picking BAAH because they will help u succeed instead of STEAM. There are fights here and there in the schools but wat school doesn't fight?

Barringer High School 1

Posted September 15, 2011
- a parent
I want, to know who I give complaint about security police, they always makes fun about my daughters or taking about them, they just there to do their job ok im sick and tired already. They just there ti make hispanic people fell bad, and thats not fear. You need to works with that. Because the only reason that my daughters dont want to go to school its because them. Thank you


Barringer High School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a student
I am a student at Barringer High School, And took 12 months studying there, I have observed many problems among students, that if you have a solution and if they can solve. I think that more regulations should establish and enforce discipline. There are many problems that need more understanding and suspension harsh back home, and have proven that school stafff is good (enough) and if it hurts the school and its failures, but need to look a little more in depthschool and more sacrifice. Trying to understand but most students give lectures and make them understand that if they can achieve their goals and they have to sacrifice his youth but now in order to be somebody in life, trying to make him understand that everything that is around is momentary fashion, cigarette among others. Being a school family.

Barringer High School
no rating

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
this school is so good for my children and they love it!

Barringer High School 1

Posted September 06, 2009
- a parent
Barringer is a Tough school but also a Great School it's not easy tryin to manage 1,100 student after all Barringer High School is the largest High school in Newark. I know that Barringer is not rated number 1 but if the Principal would ask for more help from the District i think the school would improve acedemically. We need our children to succeed. We got to keep them away from the streets and into the schools where they belong to contintue there education. (We) as Parents can do this.


Barringer High School
no rating

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
I think is the principal responsibility to establish tough rules for student that are not respecting the school system as well as teacher. I you are tough with them they will be better students and student will not be afraid to go to school.

Barringer High School
no rating

Posted July 01, 2009
- a student
I attended Barringer High for the first 3 years of my high-school career,and I thought the school has potential,but the students just don't put forth enough effort to even begin to succeed. There are a lot of smart students there that aren't trying hard enough to make something of themselves just because of the school they go to. Just because Barringer has a bad reputation doesn't mean that they shouldn't try to become something despite their environment. I think the teachers that were there when I was a student did their best to ensure we had a good curriculum and got a good education. -Class of 2006

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barringer High School
90 Parker St, Newark, NJ  07104
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (973) 268-5125
Last modified Barringer High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top