Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Newark, NJ
Students enrolled: 831

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Malcolm X Shabazz High School 1

Posted October 28, 2013
- a community member
This school like every other school in Newark has a very low educational value the new principal might've calmed the school down and slightly changed its students demeanor but if you think you're gonna send your kid in here to get quality education you're not the truth is this school is very disorganized and I feel I have been robbed of my education attending this school yea sure some of the teachers will work with you and what not but this school is so focused on its athletics that it seems to the point where education is the second priority it's also focused on building a narcissistic reputation based on I would say "imaginary" statistics that I find very hard to believe I don't think education is on this schools agenda based on the relentless focus on its sports/athletics some of the teachers don't even seem qualified if you ask me and the only reason this school seems more under control is because of the decrease in student body everyone knows a smaller population is more controllable i really believe this school has a lot of work to do and I still wouldn't send my children to this school (if I had any) despite any the changes made the school is still no good

Malcolm X Shabazz High School 5

Posted April 23, 2012
- a student
Well Malcolm X. Shabazz Is a school That has allot of pride and school Spirit . The time i've spent there i left with memories for a lifetime .my teachers all were so caring . Your teachers were like you second parents in that building. I strived to be a bulldog scholor like many other but people cant see past the rift raft that walks in and get kicked out . Malcom X. Shabazz is Moving foward I love my Bulldogs


Malcolm X Shabazz High School 1

Posted December 21, 2010
- a parent
This school SUCKS!! It is a ZOO, the principle has no control over the kids, my daughter can't go to school because she keeps getting into fights and jumped by a bunch of other girls....my child will not be attending this school anymore. They should have kepy trhe old principle on board.....DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!!!

Malcolm X Shabazz High School 1

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
I recently transfered my daughter to Shabazz and it is in one word: HORRIFIC!!! There is no learning and its pretty much a zoo. I wouldn't advise to send their child there. I regret moving because of this school. Any parent who is ok with this school is either not involved in their education or is a parent of an athlete. yes they have a great band and sports program....but you arent safe and none of those programs mean anything if you are uneducated. they are ranked 296 out of 314 schools in nj...so you know they arent learning. the behavior ive seen 1st hand. avoid this school ....please

Malcolm X Shabazz High School 5

Posted August 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Malcolm X Shabazz High School 1

Posted May 07, 2009
- a student
This school is horrible like no one ever wants to come here no teachers are qualitied and this school is not safe so don't ever send your children like ever!

Malcolm X Shabazz High School 3

Posted August 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Malcolm X Shabazz High School 4

Posted June 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Malcolm X Shabazz High School 5

Posted May 13, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Malcolm X Shabazz High School 0
no rating

Posted March 10, 2008
- a parent
My son attends Malcolm X Shabazz and I find the school to be very positive in many aspects. The teachers really care about the students, If there were ever a problem with my child, I would get a personal phone call from his teacher right away. All schools have their problems, but Shabazz is like a second home for my son.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Malcolm X Shabazz High School
80 Johnson Ave, Newark, NJ  07108
(973) 733-6760
Last modified Malcolm X Shabazz High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Malcolm X Shabazz High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top