Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Science High School

Public | 7-12 | 761 students

We are best known for Sci.Res Prog/Debate/AP Courses.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2011

Very PROUD alumni (Class of '96)... I am VERY grateful that once I received my acceptance letter that my Grandma insisted that I attend Science High. Although I must admit I initially had my heart set on attending MX Shabazz to be a member of the Lady Bulldogs Bball team. And not only did i received an excellent education, many valuable life lessons, was exposed to an extensive amount of versatility,...and countless others, had I attended MX Shabazz I would have never had the opportunity to be Science High 1ST EVER 1000+ point scorer (Male/Female). I am glad that the students currently have the luxury of enjoying a wonderful building, although yall are getting the enjoyment that us alumni was promised b4 a lot of you were even born. It's cool though because our future truly needs ALL the POSITIVE exposure they can be given. So I thank you again Grandma (R.I.P.) for your insistence and I thank ALL of my teachers, counselors, coaches, administration, office ladies, and I def can't 4get Ms. White (School Nurse).


Posted August 14, 2011

I am proud to be a Science High Alumni (Class of 95). I can only pray that this school continues to maintain its excellent rep. May the students continue to excel and not fulfill the stereotypes that comes along with the city of Newark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

Newark children need all the exposure to science that we can provide.


Posted October 9, 2010

it's great! especially the math department!


Posted April 10, 2010

Science Park High School is a great, well-rounded institution. As stated by its mission statement, it's purpose is to introduce students to different ways of thinking and a plethora of courses, necessary for success in the real world. Currently, I am a senior at Science. Though the administration needs a little more work (for instance, they need to expel all those incompetent students that are making our school look bad), Science Park is the best thing that has happened to me. Extremely diverse, academically rigorous, comprised of bright and innovative students; Science Park shines the most out of all schools in the City.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2010

I am currently a Freshman at Science Park and i have been attending that school since 7th grade. I would have to say that it is one of the best schools academically, but just because the school does well with the grades does not mean the students are the greatest. You would be suprised at how many of the staff call us rude and disrespectful. Yea there are a few of us (i can count them on my hands) who will never get in trouble but trust me when I say we get into alot of petty drama. You wouldnt belive it. So dont be fooled by the smarts because we get into just as much trouble as the non-magnet school students. We just get our work done as well !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Science Park High School is a great High School because of the education you get there. It is highly strict therefore you get exactly what you deserve. There are many activities to join so it's not all about academic achievements but also about enjoy the time spent at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I would say SPHS. I currently attend there and it is wonderful! This coming September I will be a Junior andall I can say is that SPHS is the best and will be the best. We might be given vast amounts of homework, but overall we have the best scores in the city.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

SPHS is the best, great teachers determined kids and surrounded by a cluster of universities
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2008

SPHS is the best high school in Newark and i know because i attended there. It was the best before they moved, imagine now! I recoment the best students to attend there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2008

Currently, I attend SPHS. I strongly believe that is one of the best schools out there. Despite the fact that it is in Newark, Science makes sure that the ill-fated things that occur in the streets do not interfere with our educational environment. This school has a lot to offer and the students that attend it, sure do take advantage of it. They may give vast amounts of homework, and acquire extremely rigorous work (test/courses), however that is the reason why the students become prepared for college and the real World.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

It could be a little better staff coud care a little more. But of all it an okay school I know because i attend it as well
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

SPHS is a great school and i should know because i attend it. Its the best hs in Newark and one of the best in NJ. I love SPHS...
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

I graduated from Science in 04' before they moved. To tell you the truth I think that this is a great school. Despite all of the outdated things he needed and our lack of actual school facilities (like a gym) we got the best education in Newark. there is no doubt in my mind that Science High prepared me very well for college. I will be graduating college in May 08' and I owe a lot of it to Science High!


Posted December 13, 2007

I Love this school so much. I love being a student there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2007

We have a new building. We are the best high school in the city of newark. Take a look at our standardized test scores. I attend there, and I am loving it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

Science is not the best school in the state, but without a doubt the best high school in newark. With the new building, now called Science Park High School, there's the security we've never had before and a clean environment. As a student there, I've noticed an increase in courses available including a few AP classes and a better gym experience. At the old building, we had to go over to the YMCA for gym and its availability was limited. Now, we're able to have regular gym class in the gym or outdoors in the soccer field and swimming in our Olympic size pool. I couldn't have asked for a better high school experience or teachers. They are incrediable. I haven't met many with such passions for teaching in the same building before coming here. Come for a tour and sit in, you'll see =)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

The school is O.K. overall. The administration always lacked from the Principal on down. And as for the students I would say that the majority, when I was on my way out, acted like a bunch of thugs. Personally, I would never enroll my kids there at that time I attended and I doubt much has been done to change that. However, on a good note, the teachers made the school what it is. Mr. Khichi, Ms.Bopp, Mr.Rippey, Mr.O'Neill, Ms. Flores, Mr.Bristol, Ms.Stawsky are but a few of the fine teachers that should be commended for their fine work in educating Newark's Youth


Posted August 21, 2006

Science High School is an excellent high School. I graduated from Science HS in the Class of '06,and now I attend Princeton Univeristy.I owe it all to Science High School, and the amazing teachers that work there. Science High School is, and forever will be the best school in Essex County, and one of the best in the state! It is not long before it will become one of the best in the country!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 13, 2006

Excellent teachers, but horrible administrators. When I was there, the building was filthy and no one followed any rules. If you got caught doing something wrong you could just talk your way out of it. We NEVER even had fire drills.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students98%
Female100%
Male93%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male93%
Black94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant100%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic99%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant99%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic99%
Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant99%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students87%
Female88%
Male85%
Black89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education87%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 16%
Hispanic 37% 22%
White 21% 52%
Asian 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Japanese
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • NCLB Blue Ribbon School (2009)
  • NJ Chemistry Olympics (2009)
  • #50 Top Ranked Schools in NJ (2008)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr Lamont Thomas
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (973) 733-8236

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Ptso, parent liason position & parent eboard
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

260 Norfolk Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 733-8689

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Mary School
Newark, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT