Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12 & Ungraded
Public
Newark, NJ
Students enrolled: 546
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


University High School 5

Posted January 26, 2012
- a community member
My experience at uhs was the greatest! Like honestly the teachers care about you can the principal maybe strict but at least we are controlled. Im currently in all honor class, and they are very challeging! I believe that this school is one of the best in newark!

University High School 3

Posted January 09, 2011
- a community member
My experience at this school these past two years have been honestly hard to believe. While I applied, i was told that UHS was a "terrific" high school and that I would be challenged to out-perform others. Turns out, intellectual competition is saddening for a "GREAT" school and not many care about what grades they recieve. We are "the best" and yet the rest of the students do not seem to make the effort to become the best. -A current sophomore


University High School 2

Posted February 09, 2010
- a student
I've been a student at University High School for two years, and it's honestly a sub par excuse for 'acclaimed' learning institution. Our students may out-perform other Newark schools but we have very little intellectual competition. University will get you through to your senior year, and maybe you'll get into a satisfactory college. What other aspirations could a Newark student have? Not the best that New Jersey has to offer.

University High School 5

Posted October 25, 2009
- a parent
My daughter goes here and she love it. Everyday she comes home with good news.

University High School 5

Posted April 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


University High School 0
no rating

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
My child graduated as an excellent student from University High School and turned out to be an amazing, well-rounded, community-minded and responsible person. I would recommend University to any parent.

University High School 5

Posted March 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

University High School 4

Posted February 05, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


University High School 5

Posted January 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

University High School 5

Posted October 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University High School
55 Clinton Pl, Newark, NJ  07108
(973) 374-3190
Last modified University High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
University High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top