Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public
Newark, NJ
Students enrolled: 1,085
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lafayette Street Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
I am a 7th grade student attending Lafayette street school i am very proud to be called a falcon . I believe that the school is very advanced and organized my only concern is that we are lacking a library and art teacher also that the school lunch is very unhealthy the food is never in good conditions but other than that the administration and technology i pretty good!

Lafayette Street Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 01, 2010
- a parent
this school is a very good school academical . I'm impressed that with the teachers, and students performance even with the small resources they have they deserve this money so they can buy more computers for their students and help with the lunch the lunch unfortunately is very crappy ( words of the kids ) that the principal should do something about it . but they are working hard to address all the problems A+++++ 5 STARS


Lafayette Street Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a community member
I love Lafayette St. School. I have had the privilege of attending this marvelous school for the past 10 years. I am an 8th grader and i have to say that I would never want to leave this wonderful school. We have great activities actually. We have boys & girls soccer, softball, volleyball (sometimes), chorus, debate, National Junior Honor Society, the newspaper comity, Yearbook comity, & Student Council. I would never want to change anything about this wonderful school :D

Lafayette Street Elementary School 3

Posted April 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lafayette Street Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lafayette Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lafayette Street Elementary School 3

Posted June 23, 2009
- a parent
I am a Lafayette St. School Alumni and my children have been attending since Kindergarten. Information is very unorganized and/or sent in an untimely fashion. Most of the teachers seem to care about student progress, which is a plus. The majority of the staff I consider to be courteous and friendly. Administration would benefit from a more hands-on approach to bullying, since I had first-hand experience with that as early on as grade K. But I feel that the bigger problem is NOT the school, but rather the parents. Too many of the parents are not involved and do not seem to have regard for rules. It's definitely a different culture from when I was a student. I will never forget one night when students were invited to the Liberty Science Center with their parents, and many who had RSVP'd to go never showed up. Waste of our tax $!

Lafayette Street Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
There's no diversity in this school. It's overcrowded and extremely unorganized. Security officers are distracted. Bullying is a huge issue that is simply not addressed by administration. It's lacking in extra activities and good teachers with a command of the English language. It feels like a school you would find in a third world country.


Lafayette Street Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lafayette Street Elementary School 5

Posted December 27, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lafayette Street Elementary School
205 Lafayette St, Newark, NJ  07105
(973) 465-4860
Last modified Lafayette Street Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lafayette Street Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top