Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public
Newark, NJ
Students enrolled: 369
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Madison Elementary School 3

Posted July 16, 2012
- a community member
I was thinking about when I lived in Newark. That was back1957 to1964. I really loved that school. I remember in kindergarten my classroom had A big sliding board. I often wonder how it looks now. I remember alot of my teachers names. from back then still.

Madison Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
I think that Madison Elementary school needs to be town down and rebuild. It structure is terrible, disgusting and shamefully nasty,especially in the bathrooms. The breakfast that are given to the children are of no nutrition possible. the parents are not involved. the don't care what the children eat . The first three month that school reopen they were served apple jacks or fruit loops cereals, with apple juice, and a pop tart. this is over (80) eighty percent of sugar in their diet when they should be given a healthy protein breakfast. You could actually see that when some of the children eat they starts jumping . How can a teacher teach a few of these children who is in this state of mind. It will take a few minutes to tel that child calm down before teaching.


Madison Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
I have been a parent for three years and am transfering to another school. The pricipal is more interested in how students dress then what they learn. The VP is excellent as is one of th kindergarten and one of the 1st grade teachers. Some of the other are just there for the money. I had to pick up my prek child half an hour before the other childern got out of school. Why? The bathrooms are a disgrace!

Madison Elementary School 1

Posted March 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Madison Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 25, 2009
- a parent
I have been aparent in madison for five years and i have always fhound the staff to be helpful. There are always 2-3 different afterschool programs in madison. Usually the programs don't begin until october. the programs all run until may. (this seems to be the district policy.) I'm sorry that someone felt unwelcomed andat madison. the administration and staff work hard along with a steady group of parent volunteers to make madison the best school possible.


Madison Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 10, 2008
- a parent
Madison Ave does not have any afterschool programs. Its as if all of the parents Dont work or they get off early enough (2:45) to pick up their child. Helloooo we do have working mothers it would be good to get the support we need. The staff is not helpful when I told them my dilema they had the Its not my problem attitude. For heaven sakes nobody could tell me the first day of school when I called in August I got two answers. Wake Up Madison its 08

Madison Elementary School 3

Posted July 09, 2005
- a parent
Madison is a school of caring individuals. The staff and administration is concerned about the well being and education of all its students. However, the administration seems to be ineffective in creating a climate of academic success. The school overall seems to lack vision and some of the teachers have goals for student achievement but lack the strategies that will guarantee the attainment of those goals. I believe with more effective leadership, Madison will meet and in some cases exceed the golas that have been set.

Madison Elementary School 3

Posted June 30, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Madison Elementary School 4

Posted January 29, 2005
- a teacher
Madison Elementary school ahs a dedicated staff. This staff along withit's administration is concerned about the educational welfare of it's students. the school administratio is concern about the community,they provide attiquit information to help those parents who's children attend it school district. the teachers are highly qualified to provide an efficient education to thier students. The staff gose far beyond the call of duty. This is a qualified school to educate it's students and prepare them for the future. Madison Elementary school's principal understands the need of the newark students, she is a former student of Madison herself and a former teacher. Her heart is in helping the students and the community that surrounds Madison school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison Elementary School
823 S 16th St, Newark, NJ  07108
(973) 374-2890
Last modified Madison Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Madison Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top