Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Peshine Avenue Preparatory School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 24 students

We are best known for nurturing and academic envior.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted October 13, 2009

Dear Parents: As I begin my third year as the Principal of Peshine Avenue Preparatory School, I would like to thank you for your support. Together we have maintained a spirit of enthusiasm and pride and continue to move forward in our collective dream of making Peshine Avenue Preparatory School a Blue Ribbon School! Please contact me often, as your input is critical fodder for making mid-course corrections, to ensure our children and stakeholders receive the excellence of services they deserve! I look forward to hearing from you! Wanda Brooks-Long, Principal

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2012

Peshine Avenue can be a great school. Parents should be more involved in their student's academics and reinforce good behavior. There are some wonderful teachers/staff members that go above and beyond the politics to ensure that our children become educated members of society. It starts at home. Don't wait til something is wrong to come visit the school. Join the parent Academy, the PTA, Parent Book Club, and so many other programs for parents that have been created that should be utilized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

Against many odds, I have to say that the school spirit amongst the students are uplifting. Peshine has that "family" atmosphere. Kudos to the teaching staff for their efforts in building the Peshine community and providing as much support for academic achievement as they can. We have crossed many puddles and mountains, but the greatest lift is that we don't give up on the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2012

Peshine Avenue has a great staff that works hard. They are very dedicated and go beyond the call of duty
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2012

This is my son's first year here and I must say honestly there is some good and some bad expericences with this school as there would be with any school. The good: If your a very involed parent come to this school become a volunteer I have had nothing but the best experience with it thier parent liasion goes all out for us parents. Majority of the teachers are wonderful and are actully here for your child's(dren) to learn not just here for a pay check. They offer a lot of classes/programs for the parents (ie) microsoft word, fitness, book club, esl french and spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

The staff really care about the students and are continuously improving themselves professionally to better serve students and their parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2012

The staff is friendly and supportive. I love the way the students represent school pride.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 7, 2011

This school does not deserve any starts. My daughter moved from a school rated 9 to a school rated 1. When she moved here, everything she learned in Kindergarten and preschool they were teaching again in First Grade. Her 1st grade teacher tested her and said she was reading at a 3rd grade level. My daughter is in 3rd grade now and I am teaching her fractions and long division. Without my dedication to her education she would be in bad shape. My niece is in 5th grade and while I was helping her with her homework I realized that she was developing gaps in her math. She did not learn long-division yet, even though they are teaching her to adding/subtracting negative numbers now. How does that happen, they are glazing over this material not really teaching it to the kids. This school has many other problems too numerous to speak of here - similar to other urban environments. This school is constantly on the verge of a lawsuit. As an informed parent I know better. The principal is the best they have had in years, but she has a lot of unfavorable qualities that I am not too pleased with. She is very much a dictator. The teachers have the worst attitudes I have ever seen, no compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

Peshine has the potential to be a good school. The problem is that the administration for the last several years has been inconsitent to say the least. There is no sense of support from administration for the staff which leaves the staff on a dead end when dealing with the students.


Posted May 9, 2007

The administration does not support the teachers and they sure dont support the students. Everyday my child tells me about a fight where there were no consequences, that their teacher told the office and nothing happend, and that their class was disrupted by outside students (from the hallway, next door).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

The most impressive thing about Peshine Avenue University Prep. is the name of the school. The academics can be described as mediocre at best. The school is fine for uninvolved parents who do not stress academic excellence. My daughter is a third grade honor roll student, who has been on the principal's list every year. Although, I am proud of her accomplishment, it must be taken with a grain of salt. The level of difficulty of her assignments is 1st grade. I have been forced to home school my daughter, and involve her in outside academic programs. Peshine is wonderful if slightly below average is what you are seeking. I even have to send my child to school with toilet paper since it is rare to find it in the bathroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
20%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
23%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
14%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
21%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
23%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
21%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 16%
Hispanic 6% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Peshine
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20am
School end time
  • 3:05pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (973) 705-3898

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Peshine Avenue Preparatory School is a Pre-Kindergarten through 8th grade school located at 433 Peshine Avenue, Newark, New Jersey. The Stakeholders (Administration, Teachers, Staff, Students, Parents and Community Partners) of Peshine Avenue Preparatory School believe that every student will succeed by practicing, Excellence Everyday in Every Way. Stakeholders work partnership to ensure our children are academically, socially, emotionally and technologically prepared to become intrinsically motivated life long leaders, learners and citizens of the global community. We are extremely proud that our work has produced students that have scored a perfect 300 in NJASK math and that we have begun to develop cohorts of students in both general and special needs populations who are scoring at the advance proficient range. Peshine Avenue Preparatory School is extremely proud of our School Uniform Policy. Students exhibit pride and a sense of belonging as the school uniform symbolizes our unity and team spirit! The student population at Peshine Avenue Preparatory School is over six hundred. The school has a reputation for being one that is truly child-centered. The instructional program includes a rigorous course of study in all content areas with a minimum of 90 minutes of daily instruction in Literacy, Mathematics, and Science. Our Middle School interdisciplinary courses of study infuse our content area programs with our Humanities Academy (Art, Music, etc.), Math Academy, Science & Technology Academy, Social Justice Academy, Accel Academy (Special Needs Students) and our Excel Academy (Gifted & Talented); in order to provide extended learning experiences that enrich and broaden the students understanding of core concepts and skills. Peshine Avenue Preparatory School values the need to differentiate the instructional programs to meet the learning styles of our diverse population. Professional development seminars that focus on Learning Centers, Rigorous and Relevant instructional strategies are a major point of emphasis for the Peshine Ave. Preparatory teaching and learning protocols for 2008-2009. Authentic learning environments that are Culturally Relevant and centered on the Higher Order Thinking skills outlined by Blooms Taxonomy, have become the foundation by which we are trying to build a High Performing 21st Century Academic Learning Center. We have implemented a fully inclusive Special Education program that provides individualized Resource-Room and In- Class Support instruction. Our Bilingual program provides both Native Language and English as a Second Language services. Our school based Tutors assist our students in meeting reading proficiency targets. Our Extended Day programs for students in all grades include After School programs which provide academic and enrichment activities to enhance the social and moral growth of our children. Peshine Avenue Preparatory School stakeholders believe in educating the entire student. Our students are provided opportunities to participate in leadership opportunities through our Peer to Peer Programs such as Best Men, Best Friends, Student Council, The League, Safety Patrol and Extended Day Programming. Our students also participate in many extra-curricular activities including, but not limited to, Robotics, Baseball, Basketball Girls and Boys, Track, Debate, Cheerleading, and Yearbook! Peshine Avenue Preparatory School's goal of meeting the needs of the entire child includes parental support targets. The Family Support Team provides a hub for the coordination of services and benefits for our parents and students. Our Family Support Team consists of the Guidance Counselor, Parent Liaison, Substance Abuse Coordinator, Drug Resource Committee, Attendance Counselor and Child Study Team. This team provides health and social services programs for our community via both in school and out sourced programs, with the continued support of all stakeholders, we know and our children will be ready to face the challenges of the new millennia! Wanda Brooks-Long, Principal 973-705-3891
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Peshine

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Comprehsive
Magnet
Private
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

433 Peshine Ave
Newark, NJ 07112
Phone: (973) 705-3890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT