Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roberto Clemente Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 589 students

We are best known for Staff Development and Data.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2010

i think this school is great. the teachers and support staff shows much dedication to each student. yes some of the classrooms are overcrowded but so are most in the city. keep up the great work teachers and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

im a parent at roberto clemente and all my kids went to this school and love it and my oldes son is 21 and my young one is 6
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

I have read the negativeity in the other reviews posted and while I wish I could say each was incorrect, sadly I can not. First, students and teachers being the heart and soul Roberto Clemente definitely has heart but it's soul is NOT what it should be. However, the first reviewer was right. If you demand a certain type of treatment and you stay committed and involved in the learning process, you and you child should come out on top at this school. Second, RC is overcrowded but so are several other school throughout Newark. Lastly, the office staff (one in particular) can be mean and abrasive. All that aside, RC has made incredible improvement in their NJASK scores and that means they must be doing something right. I credit it to strong school leadership, deeply involved parents and a lot of hard work by the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

My son started at this school in grade 2 and wasnt really impressed, he is now in grade 4 and I have seen improvement in his work. A lot depends on the individual teachers, who will make the effort and who will encourage the students to work hard to succeed. The leadership has improved and I think the latest scores has also inspired the kids there. I wish they had a grade 5 so my son could continue there. I hope they continue to lead these kids well. Some of the office staff are prejudice and impolite, but I demand my rights, so I get the service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

This is one of the best improved schools in the City of Newark, NJ. NJ ASK scores went from 45 to 60 % passing in 2004 to high 80s and 90s passing in 2006. They repeated the scores in 2007. The administration and staff have done an excellent job in spite of adverse conditions and poor support from the district, including dumping of kids from nearby schools to this school. Why is it okay for our kids to have overcrowded conditions and not others? In spite of all this, they've consistently produced over the last three years. Congrats Folks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I first posted a comment in May 2004 and am I glad I sent my boys to Roberto Clemente School. Back then, they were passing in the 50s and 60s on the NJASK test. This year the 4th graders passed at 96%-language and 97%-Math. Go figure. This school continues to be the best kept secret in the City of Newark. They have the best Administrators and Teachers. The Parents Council is the best around. They are a bunch of very involved parents and support the administration all the way. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2004

I visited the school in March to ask about kindergarten registration. I was told to come back in the third week of May and not to bring my child with me when I return to register in May. At no time was I made to feel comfortable or welcome. It disheartened me because my child has to go to the school that he is zoned for. If I had a choice as to which school he should go to, this one would not be it. Simply because of my initial impression when I first went to inquire about when Kindergarten registration would take place. What kind of school does not want to meet thier potential students? Why wasn't a tour extended to me? I asked pleanty of questions and recieved polite brush-off responces. Hopefully I can retract this initial experience with a better school year experience come September.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students47%
Female49%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education19%
General education63%
English language learners31%
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former31%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students51%
Female46%
Male56%
Black73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education25%
General education66%
English language learners33%
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former33%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students31%
Female31%
Male31%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education43%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant31%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students41%
Female35%
Male46%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General education55%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant41%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students71%
Female68%
Male73%
Black82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education41%
General education82%
English language learners50%
Non-migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former50%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 22%
Black 16% 16%
White 2% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25
School end time
  • 2:55
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Yolanda Mendez
Fax number
  • (973) 483-5524

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Rafael Hernandez
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

257 Summer Ave
Newark, NJ 07104
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 268-5290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT