Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8 & Ungraded|Public district
796 students|Newark School District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wilson Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
I am so very happy that my kids have gone to this school. Their staff and teachers are great! They really make the kids happy and make them work hard for their futures. I highly recommend Wilson Avenue to all the moms out there.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
I agree .. this school is wonderful. My kids have been coming here for years now and they love it.. the teachers, the school, the staff.. everyone is great. Definitely a school to rave about!


Wilson Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a community member
This school is an excellent school because students are able to learn and feel safe at the same time & be able to get the vibe from teachers that they truely are there to help.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
They need more sport programs,arts more activitis.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 27, 2009
- a parent
Great Staff and administrators. The building is so old. The Ironbound is in need of new modern facilities.


Wilson Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2008
- a parent
Great school and wonderful caring staff from the office to the the aides

Wilson Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
Great School!Many activities for the children. Soccer, Chorus,Band, Basketball, Tennis, and much more.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 26, 2007
- a parent
along with Ann Street, this is an excellent school with great staff and teachers. I have at parent night met with Ms. Ruela and she is a top-notch educator.


Wilson Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted June 13, 2006
- a parent
My child went there for Kindergarten. Out of the local school choices I felt comfortable choosing this one. They had plenty of activities and my daughter's teacher, Mr. Texiera, really motivated the kids and challenged the students based on thier personal abilities. He was readily available for conferences and gave tips/suggestions when asked. For Kindergarten it was fine. I can't say how well it fares for grade school levels. We relocated to another state after Kindergarten.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
My children have attended Wilson Ave School for 4 years now. I have had very good and positive experiences there. The teachers and staff have always been very supportive and involved. The guidence and nurcing staff are awsome. They have free after school programs and a school band that they are developing. The staff are interested in developing strong ties to children and families. I have three children and they are recognized as a family and if one is acting up the teachers have always taken the time to inform a sibling so it gets to me or they call me personally.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilson Avenue Elementary School
19 Wilson Ave, Newark, NJ  07108
(973) 465-4910
Last modified Wilson Avenue Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilson Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top