Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Newark, NJ
Students enrolled: 796
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Wilson Avenue Elementary School 4

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
I am so very happy that my kids have gone to this school. Their staff and teachers are great! They really make the kids happy and make them work hard for their futures. I highly recommend Wilson Avenue to all the moms out there.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
I agree .. this school is wonderful. My kids have been coming here for years now and they love it.. the teachers, the school, the staff.. everyone is great. Definitely a school to rave about!


Wilson Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a community member
This school is an excellent school because students are able to learn and feel safe at the same time & be able to get the vibe from teachers that they truely are there to help.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
They need more sport programs,arts more activitis.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 27, 2009
- a parent
Great Staff and administrators. The building is so old. The Ironbound is in need of new modern facilities.


Wilson Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2008
- a parent
Great school and wonderful caring staff from the office to the the aides

Wilson Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
Great School!Many activities for the children. Soccer, Chorus,Band, Basketball, Tennis, and much more.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 26, 2007
- a parent
along with Ann Street, this is an excellent school with great staff and teachers. I have at parent night met with Ms. Ruela and she is a top-notch educator.


Wilson Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted June 13, 2006
- a parent
My child went there for Kindergarten. Out of the local school choices I felt comfortable choosing this one. They had plenty of activities and my daughter's teacher, Mr. Texiera, really motivated the kids and challenged the students based on thier personal abilities. He was readily available for conferences and gave tips/suggestions when asked. For Kindergarten it was fine. I can't say how well it fares for grade school levels. We relocated to another state after Kindergarten.

Wilson Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
My children have attended Wilson Ave School for 4 years now. I have had very good and positive experiences there. The teachers and staff have always been very supportive and involved. The guidence and nurcing staff are awsome. They have free after school programs and a school band that they are developing. The staff are interested in developing strong ties to children and families. I have three children and they are recognized as a family and if one is acting up the teachers have always taken the time to inform a sibling so it gets to me or they call me personally.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilson Avenue Elementary School
19 Wilson Ave, Newark, NJ  07108
(973) 465-4910
Last modified Wilson Avenue Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilson Avenue Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top