Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Michael School 4

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
My sons have attended SMS for 2 years now. I haven't dealt with rudeness of staff (sorry to those who have). I miss the intimacy of my son's previous school when I could call/text the teacher, but hey, the positives outweigh the negatives. My oldest son who had reading issues has made great improvement at this school. So for me, SMS gets a thumbs up.

St Michael School 3

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
As a parent my experience of St Michael is a mixed view, the last straw which broke the camels back was the distasteful rudeness I experienced with administrative staff. I must say there are some good teachers who are committed to the children and to what they do, but the supporting staff and the principle are the bottleneck which will bring the school down if something is not done about their attitude. I would advise the Principle who is the head to take a very good look at her attitude and really consider making some changes which will filter to the rest of her staff. i intend to inform the Newark Archdiocese of this matter as I'm very concern that a few bad apples will ruin it for the rest which is unfair for the dedicated ones amongst them.


St Michael School 1

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
The Principal, Administrative staff and teachers are so rude, it's unbelievable. They have no respect whatsoever for parents. If they allowed parents to get involved and bring in fresh ideas, the school will truly benefit. Their drop off and pick up procedure is so poor and such a waste of time that I am considering taking my child out as a result. The Principal should get off her high horse to allow some fresh ideas to take this school forward or just ship off.

St Michael School 5

Posted December 30, 2012
- a parent
I went to St. Michael's and now my daughter goes to kindergarten. Since September (4months ago) her reading has improved dramatically. I was skeptical about the school since in her kindergarten class there are 27 students, a teacher and an aide. Class size truly doesn't matter, her reading and math are advance, homework is about 45 min-1 hour long every day. During Sandy the school did not have power for a week, but they sent the parents a message that they will be opened for halloween, the school did NOT want the kids to lose their day to dress up and have fun. Dr. Cerino was principal when I went to St. Michael's and now she's my daughter's principal.... I could not feel more comfortable in having her manage my child's education. I love the school, the teachers and the students. Kindergarten and 8th graders are paired with a"buddy". The kindergarteners get to spend time with their buddy in 8th grade, they mentor them, have field trips together, eat lunch. These activities is what makes the students great and the school. Their location in Newark isn't the best, BUT they are safe, the students are polite, good kids who truly get along with absolutely everyone. No bullying at all.

St Michael School 5

Posted November 06, 2010
- a parent
I have a child in Kindergarten and find this school to be very organized, challenging and well staffed. I can honestly say, that this school has been an awesome start for my little girl. She has learned awesome manners and respect for religion. I am so pleased with St Michael's and am looking forward on enrolling my son when he's of age.


St Michael School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
I'm sorry that that parent feels that way of the comment of March 2010, but St. Michael School is a fabulous school. I am a graduate of SMS and now my son is there. Unfortunately, due to the economy classroom size has dropped dramatically, but I have found that the size of the classroom does not matter - it's the teacher's managementthat counts. St. Michael has good strong teachers, my son is happy and his preparation for adulthood is fantastic. I strongly recommend this to all. Principal is strict, but fair and that is what makes this school special.

St Michael School 0
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
Once a strong school, strong community focal point, Saint Michael's has begun to fall on hard times. Lots more activities on paper than in reality. Great 1960's style Catholic school discipline still reigns supreme. ZERO parent involvement-parents are highly discouraged from the 'inner sanctum'. Something has changed in the last 3-4 years-outdated teaching methods and curriculum, overcrowded classrooms (30+ in kindergarten? Who's learning anything?) are beginning to reveal the school as a thing of the past. Safe ,though. May work for some but very harsh, bitter personal criticisms for my two boys made forego the $$$ for public. Oh, well.

St Michael School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
I am a proud mother of two, who attend St. Michael's School. Both of my children have been honor students and average an A grade in their studies. I support this school 100%!!!


St Michael School 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St Michael School 0
no rating

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
This school is by far what children need to prepare them for the demanding future that lies ahead. The no nonsense guidelines provides the structure that a lot of kids unfortunately are not used to receiving at home. The curriculum forces parents to assume an active role in their child s educational development or watch them struggle and fail. The children of this school where God is still recognized are blessed to have a real Principal and Staff that live up to the statement we care about your kids. Keep up the good work

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Michael School
27 Crittenden St, Newark, NJ  07104
(973) 482-7400
Last modified St Michael School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St Michael School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top