Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
472 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Michael School 1

Posted April 30, 2016
- a community member
The second grade teacher would send home a extra help notice and would not tutor your child. She would insult the child who is not on level.

St Michael School
Grateful to: Student

Posted April 30, 2016
- a community member
No one because everyone is in there own groups. The principal discrimate on some students.


St Michael School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 30, 2016
- a community member
My daughter stated that her second grade teacher insults the students. Especially her and few her classmates

St Michael School 4

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
My sons have attended SMS for 2 years now. I haven't dealt with rudeness of staff (sorry to those who have). I miss the intimacy of my son's previous school when I could call/text the teacher, but hey, the positives outweigh the negatives. My oldest son who had reading issues has made great improvement at this school. So for me, SMS gets a thumbs up.

St Michael School 3

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
As a parent my experience of St Michael is a mixed view, the last straw which broke the camels back was the distasteful rudeness I experienced with administrative staff. I must say there are some good teachers who are committed to the children and to what they do, but the supporting staff and the principle are the bottleneck which will bring the school down if something is not done about their attitude. I would advise the Principle who is the head to take a very good look at her attitude and really consider making some changes which will filter to the rest of her staff. i intend to inform the Newark Archdiocese of this matter as I'm very concern that a few bad apples will ruin it for the rest which is unfair for the dedicated ones amongst them.


St Michael School 1

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
The Principal, Administrative staff and teachers are so rude, it's unbelievable. They have no respect whatsoever for parents. If they allowed parents to get involved and bring in fresh ideas, the school will truly benefit. Their drop off and pick up procedure is so poor and such a waste of time that I am considering taking my child out as a result. The Principal should get off her high horse to allow some fresh ideas to take this school forward or just ship off.

St Michael School 5

Posted December 30, 2012
- a parent
I went to St. Michael's and now my daughter goes to kindergarten. Since September (4months ago) her reading has improved dramatically. I was skeptical about the school since in her kindergarten class there are 27 students, a teacher and an aide. Class size truly doesn't matter, her reading and math are advance, homework is about 45 min-1 hour long every day. During Sandy the school did not have power for a week, but they sent the parents a message that they will be opened for halloween, the school did NOT want the kids to lose their day to dress up and have fun. Dr. Cerino was principal when I went to St. Michael's and now she's my daughter's principal.... I could not feel more comfortable in having her manage my child's education. I love the school, the teachers and the students. Kindergarten and 8th graders are paired with a"buddy". The kindergarteners get to spend time with their buddy in 8th grade, they mentor them, have field trips together, eat lunch. These activities is what makes the students great and the school. Their location in Newark isn't the best, BUT they are safe, the students are polite, good kids who truly get along with absolutely everyone. No bullying at all.

St Michael School 5

Posted November 06, 2010
- a parent
I have a child in Kindergarten and find this school to be very organized, challenging and well staffed. I can honestly say, that this school has been an awesome start for my little girl. She has learned awesome manners and respect for religion. I am so pleased with St Michael's and am looking forward on enrolling my son when he's of age.


St Michael School 5

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
I'm sorry that that parent feels that way of the comment of March 2010, but St. Michael School is a fabulous school. I am a graduate of SMS and now my son is there. Unfortunately, due to the economy classroom size has dropped dramatically, but I have found that the size of the classroom does not matter - it's the teacher's managementthat counts. St. Michael has good strong teachers, my son is happy and his preparation for adulthood is fantastic. I strongly recommend this to all. Principal is strict, but fair and that is what makes this school special.

St Michael School
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
Once a strong school, strong community focal point, Saint Michael's has begun to fall on hard times. Lots more activities on paper than in reality. Great 1960's style Catholic school discipline still reigns supreme. ZERO parent involvement-parents are highly discouraged from the 'inner sanctum'. Something has changed in the last 3-4 years-outdated teaching methods and curriculum, overcrowded classrooms (30+ in kindergarten? Who's learning anything?) are beginning to reveal the school as a thing of the past. Safe ,though. May work for some but very harsh, bitter personal criticisms for my two boys made forego the $$$ for public. Oh, well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Michael School
27 Crittenden St, Newark, NJ  07104
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (973) 482-7400
Last modified St Michael School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top