Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Francis Xavier School

Private | PK-8 | 207 students

We are best known for love and respect for one anoth.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newark

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $118,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2012

Excellent school. The staff are professional and the children learn in an environment that is safe and supportive. The teachers and Sr. Clare really work towards providing an environment that is conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

excellent school with quality education and great school environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

Excellent school with a reputation for a quality education as well as a loving environment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

St. Francis Xavier is a very good school because, I feel that it has a nurturing enviroment that is good for todays children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

this is a good school for grade pre k to 8th gradersss


Posted April 30, 2010

My daughter is in Pre-K and her excitment to go to school every morning is a reflection of the education received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

We love St.Francis Xavier School. St. Francis Xavier has given an excellent foundation to my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

we love saint francis because they give my kid a wonderful education to my son
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

i love saint francis my grandson is doing good and he learn very fast because the attention and the small classes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

St. Francis is an old-fashioned school with great values and educational methods. I am glad I sent both my children to this school who cares so much about its children. I can't imagine ever sending them anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

St. Francis Xavier is an excellent school. In my opinion, it is one of the most reputable grammar schools in the northern New Jersey area. The curriculum is challenging, the teachers are attentive and genuinely caring, the students are well behaved and well mannered and the faculty sets an extraordinary example for the student body. I am proud to say my daughter is a student at St. Francis. I do not have a negative thing to say about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

They are a great school! my daughter has very good grades and she loves the school and the teachers are great! at St. Francis you get a great education and you also are taught respect and that everyone has the same goal to learn and to respect one another, and the principal is an excellent principal! all of the children love her. thank god for sister Clare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My niece, Diana, has attended St. Francis sice kindergarten. She loves it! I know that her parents feel that she is getting a quality education and being taught good values and respect. A good education is very important and St. Francis provides this and more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Wonderful School. Caring, dedicated and qualified teachers


Posted April 27, 2010

Great qualified teachers who love the kids and because of the small ratio are able to dedicate more time. The great spiritual guidance of Sister Clare and the rest of the staff ensures that these children will grow up with the upmost confidence in the future and their ability to succeed in any given field. Also the school is very safe and the children are very protected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I feel confident that my daughter is getting the best education possible. The principal, teachers and staff really care about the kids. they have everything needed to learn, great computers, safe environment and qualified teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I love St Francis Xavier School because I feel that my daughters are getting a great education. The classes are small and there is more attention given to a child that needs the help. The principal Sr Clare is great with all the students. I also like the environment they are in and also that they have prayers every morning. The children have an understanding of the Catholic faith. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers are outstanding.The small classes give more attention to the students.There are many different exciting programs that get the students involved.The students not only are taught academically but also spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

SFX is an excellent school. Not only do the children get a good education, but are supported in a 'family-faith' based atmosphere. Both my children started in pre-K with my oldest preparing to graduate now from a prestigious secondary prep school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I highly recommend that parents send their child to this school. The teachers know what they are doing and they take their time to explain what you don't understand.The school offers piano lessons and they provide art projects for you to do.It actually depends what grade you are in because when I was in the seventh grade we never did art. Probably art is from grades pre-k through sixth grade.The level for parent involment is getting higher and higher every year.The school to me thinks about the boys more than the girls because the boys will have more teacher attention than the girls. They provide no sports for the girls. The boys at least have baseball while the girls have nothing.When I was in the third grade the girls had cheerleading and girls basketball.I'm currently in the eighth grade and I've been here since the pre kindergarten.So I know a lot!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 22%
Black 23% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 9%
White 7% 51%
Two or more races 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Middle States Accreditation

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:30 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Sister Clare Ricciardelli, M.P.F.
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (973) 482-2466

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

594 North 7th Street
Newark, NJ 07107
Phone: (973) 482-9410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT